A Holiday and Photos

Holiday weekends screw me up by throwing me off schedule, even though the holiday doesn’t matter to me anymore. I work pretty much every day, whether it’s editing or writing, and rarely take or get a day off. So much for being semi-retired, eh?

When you’re a writer, there’s no such thing, and if you have to pay bills, well… work happens. How many of you will be lucky enough to fully retire when you reach that age? Since the wealthy took over the running of this country and the 2008 crash, I think very few of us will be lucky enough to sit on our asses and do nothing, or travel the world like my folks did, or own two houses and move from one to the other with the seasons.

But I have no complaints, and in fact, I feel lucky I was able to realize my last dream of moving to Florida. Early retirement figured into that. Waiting would have made very little difference, so I took the leap and things worked out. Whether or not that holds true in a few years, I have no idea.

That’s the weird thing, at least for me. While I’ve never had “too much” money (there is no such thing, right? πŸ™‚ ), I have always had enough. No matter what my circumstances, I somehow got the job or stumbled across a source of money in time to prevent me from being homeless, and yes, there were a few times it was a near thing.Β 

This first pic was taken at Lake Camille. This is the lake at the end of my canal, but I scootered around the other side of it to get this vantage point. The two palms give it a nice Florida feel and add interest to the photo. I like the delicate sunset colors in the sky, too. This could be a postcard, right? πŸ™‚ I love living here.

Lake Camille 8.28.14 sm

 

And this was the sunset the other night. Again, great sunset colors!

 

Sunset 8.28.14 sm

 

Hope you enjoyed a great three-day weekend! See you Friday.

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography, RL and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to A Holiday and Photos

  1. Allison says:

    We’ve basically decided that by the time we reach retirement age there won’t be retirement available anymore. We’re still working toward it but really I’ve stopped believing in it.

    The colors in those shots are gorgeous! The pastels in the first are soothing and the depths of the oranges and pink/purple of the sunset feel so energetic plus I always reflections.

    • There is no reason whatsoever social security can’t be there when you’re ready. If the GOP would stop being assholes about lifting the cap, it would be solvent for generations to come. But of course, they are rich and don’t need it, so they don’t see why we need it, either. This attitude is so cruel, I don’t know how they live with themselves.

      • Allison says:

        I agree but the days of retirement being travel/spend/enjoy are basically gone unless a lot changes. Plus I want to enjoy the money we’re making now not wait for a time that may never come.

        • I totally get that. I feel the same way, which is why I didn’t wait until 66 to retire. I might be dead then, ya know? Might as well enjoy what I can while I can.

          I can’t believe the life my parents were able to enjoy. I admit to being green with envy. Things have certainly changed, and not in a good way.

  2. Jaycee Edward says:

    Gorgeous pics. I’m so glad you’re where you want to be. You need a NEW dream now!

  3. suze294 says:

    I wonder if there were atmospheric conditions dictating the really red/pinky/orange sunset that was a few days ago – we had one, not quite that intense but comment worthy anyway, all the way over the Atlantic

  4. Helena Stone says:

    Those pictures are breathtaking. We do get sunsets but they never look quite like that.

    As for retirement, I’ll believe it when I see it. They’ve already pushed it back so that by 2028 (when I’ll be 65) the state pension doesn’t start until you’re 68. I’m convinced I’ll probably end up working until I’m 70 at least, provided I live that long of course :).

    • Certain factions of the U.S. (read: GOP) also want to daley retirement age, all the way to 70. Unfortunately, unlike those assholes, who work a handful of days a year and don’t do anything more strenuous than walk up and down some stairs once in a while, a lot of employees work hard, physical jobs that wear them out. People in construction, restaurant servers, people on their feet all day long… not many civilian jobs are as cushy as the ones politicians have. Many can’t wait until they are 70 to retire. 😦

  5. Your pictures are typically gorgeous, Fen;-) My husband & I just are a few years younger than you. He loads trucks in a warehouse, lots of lifting, on his feet all day as you said, & it’s so hot in summer. Plus, he really hates it, not the work itself because he actually prefers hard, physical work, but hates the disrespect mgt. has toward blue-collar workers, plus the way they talk quality but really only care about speed. I have an office job I like fairly well, better pay, really nice people, so I’ve already told him he gets to retire early & I will continue working indefinitely. I’ve been with the same company for almost my whole career & I am lucky enough to get more than 30 paid days off annually, not counting Holidays. Hubs only gets 2 weeks & doesn’t want to use it all at once, so we never even get to take 2 weeks at a time. I look forward to doing that once he retires πŸ˜‰

  6. Jinai says:

    I love the pictures – it so wonderful that you can capture that to share. πŸ™‚ As for retirement, I think those that can retire now are the last to see and be able to live under social security. I am not planning on my social security funds supporting my own retirement. No complaints from me as I feel that we live in a great country but I am saving all that I can for the time that I can’t work any more. It’s the only respinsible thing to do at this point. Love my country, not so much into politics.

    • I’ve heard a lot of people say they don’t plan on SS, but the fact is, if you let the politicians steal your money–and remember, it is your money!–they will do it. Their greed has no bounds, and they think they are entitled to what you produce.

      I’ve worked many long years, and so have others I know. Retirement changes everything. You live better, you feel healthier without all the stress of commuting and being on the job, and you discover there are plenty of things you want to do or learn. You don’t have to be into politics to protect your retirement fund, because that’s what SS is. You paid into it, and it’s YOURS. Don’t let anyone tell you differently.

      You say you are saving for your retirement without regard to what happens to SS. How about the people who can’t afford to do that? Those living on minimum wage certainly can’t. They will depend on SS when they get too old to work. I was paid better than minimum wage, and I still couldn’t save money. I had to get a new car, go to the dentist, replace the roof on the house… Nope! SS is there for everyone, and everyone should be screaming their heads off to protect it.

  7. A.M.B. says:

    All of these photos should be postcards! Three day weekends mess me up too. Adding to the chaos is that it’s the first week of school for my kiddos, and I’m struggling to meet an enormously stressful work deadline (a two week extension only prolonged the agony). So, when it comes to the blogosphere, I’m just barely “here” right now.

    • But you’re still posting. πŸ™‚

      However, sometimes one has to reprioritize in order to get the most bang for the buck, as they say. πŸ˜‰ You’re raising three kids, work full time in a demanding field, blog, have a husband you no doubt want to spend time with, and you just published a book. I’d say you’re doing very well indeed!

Leave a Reply

