Last Minute Scramble

I went to bed early last night, around 10:30, and woke up at five to let Suki out. Then I tossed and turned for a couple hours before falling back to sleep.

Since moving south, I’ve slept better. Remember when I used to wake up in the middle of the night and have to go online for a few hours? That rarely happens to me anymore. It’s great!

And my half-asleep muse is back. I woke slowly just after eight. The sun was well up. The heat was starting to come inside. And the next big part of the plot to my abandoned YA story was laid out in my head in full. 

I saw the wrong turn I’d taken, the one that had forced me to put it aside, and I realized exactly where the story would go next. I leaped out of bed and into my shorts, and sat down at the laptop, where I quickly typed in Evernote while the images were still fresh in my mind.

I’m dusting off this book and finishing it before everything else. The mainstream story is not abandoned. It is only set aside, and I may keep adding to it now and again as I finish the YA book. I feel like a ping-pong ball lately, caroming between one WIP and the next, but maybe this is how I have to write at the moment in order to get past this rough patch in the road.

And my muse, that bitch, is still with me, and she pops up whenever I need a kick in the pants.

So… onward! I have writing to do. 🙂

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in publishing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Last Minute Scramble

  1. Helena Stone says:

    What a difference a weekend makes.
    It’s wonderful to ‘hear’ you so upbeat about life and writing again. I’m incredibly curious about both the YA and the mainstream story. Finding out where you’ll take me next is going to be exciting.

  2. Allison says:

    I have been hoping for the YA for so long now! This is fantastic news! So happy to hear that your muse is talking to you again.

    *happy dancing and ready to shout from the rooftops about the new book (or at least post on social media, heh)*

  3. Linda Jude says:

    So glad to see a smiley and writing in the same sentence! I love YA stories and I love your stories so I’m pretty sure I’ll love Tucker. 🙂 It’s amazing what good sleep can do for you! Happy Monday Theo!

  4. Jaycee Edward says:

    Grinning ear to ear. Maybe your muse just needed a break too. ((HUGS))

  5. bevsutherland says:

    I obviously need somewhere different to live Fen, my sleep patterns are completely up the shoot…of course, it would help if I liked where I live 🙂 Great to hear there’s another book in the works 🙂

  6. suze294 says:

    I’d been pondering what to say after Friday’s post, not being a writer makes it tricky for me to feel meaningful (But 4000+ miles made my options of a big hug or a bootup the backside {or in AmEng, a kick in the pants!} a bit impossible) but glad the muse has kicked this stories pants, hopefully the creative juices will start flowing now. Get out on the scooter too!

Leave a Reply

