Three Photos

This was not a big week for pics, as up until Sunday, I was still going back and forth between my place and R’s. The temperatures and dew points were higher than usual, too, keeping me out of the lanai, which is my window on the canal and its visitors.

The big news is the rest of my stuff arrived from up north on R’s trailer. I spent last night unpacking books and rearranging the shelves. I have fewer of them these days, but they proved to be adequate. Instead of reading off Kindle, I chose one of my paperbacks. Sometimes it’s nice to hold paper instead of machine.ย 

I was driving home from R’s one morning and spied this rainbow. There was no good place to pull over, given the plethora of phone and electric wires across the sky (hey, Florida! they bury these now, ya know), so I kept driving ’til I hit the highway. To avoid the man-made crap, I had to walk across a sandy berm. I got the pic, but at the expense of my feet and legs; there were fire ants, and they swarmed me kind of bad though I didn’t notice at the time (eye on the prize, as it were).ย Rainbow 7.18.14 sm

A dramatic backdrop made this rainbow different from the usual.

These two geckos are probably engaged in a mating dance. I was in the pool area, they were on the outside wall of the bird cage, and I got an interesting enough picture to post it.ย Two Lizards 7.18.14 sm

They are everywhere in Florida, and no one minds because they eat insects. They’re also harmless and cute as hell. ๐Ÿ™‚ Even if they come inside, we love them. There are a lot of babies around right now. Gah! The cute is overwhelming.

This last shot was taken on the canal Saturday morning. It’s a Great Egret. You can tell the difference between this and a Snowy Egret by the beautiful plumage on the latter. I’m looking forward to seeing that one some day.ย Great Egret 7.20.14 sm

He had his neck stuck out because I stepped outside to take his pic and made him a little nervous. Yes, he is eyeing me. ๐Ÿ™‚

I never know what’s coming down the canal next. I’m hoping to see the island ‘gator soon.

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography, RL and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Three Photos

  1. Jaycee Edward says:

    Thanks for sharing. I enjoy your ‘everyday’ life posts as you re-discover Florida and all it’s offerings.

    • I must admit I still feel like a foreigner in this part of the state. Before, I lived near Clearwater and Tampa, and I really like that area. There was so much to do there, places to go. Where I live now, it isn’t the same at all. It’s mostly families and seniors, and because I’m an hour from the ocean, there are a lot less tourists, which means less fun things to do. R moved here because he has family in the area. I moved here so I’d have a support system. But given my ‘druthers, I’d have moved to my former area. Really, really liked it there.

      • Jaycee Edward says:

        It looks like a peaceful paradise to me!

        • It is, except for the fire ants. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I commonly walked around barefoot up north with no worries. Down here? Those damn ants are everywhere and nothing much kills ’em either. Really have to get in the habit of wearing socks with the sandals (yes, I know it’s uncool!) or proper shoes.

  2. Helena Stone says:

    As always those pictures are breathtaking. I’m really looking forward to your bi-weekly posts. They give me a wonderful idea about a world I hope to discover in person in the not too distant future.

    I agree about the books. I do most of my reading on the Kindle, if only because that’s how I receive most of the books I get for review, but it is wonderful to occasionally hold a ‘real’ book in my hands. And I can’t imagine living in a house were the walls aren’t full of shelves and books.

    I love how happy you sound these days. Discovering where you belong in the world and being able to live there is a close second to finding that special someone you want to spend your life with. I know that having found both makes me an incredibly lucky girl.

    • One cannot underestimate the importance of living in a place one enjoys. We are deep in hot, humid summer right now, but I still love being here. Love seeing the sun each morning and the sunset every evening. And I haven’t been cold once since getting here. Last winter, I was cold all the time, every day. My bones are finally warm all the way to the center.

  3. Beautiful pictures. That sky & rainbow! Sorry about the fire ants, though – Ugh! I wonder if there are issues burying wires in Florida, because sand & sea level? Also, the gecko’s were pretty adorable. When I lived in Fla. years ago we saw chameleons a lot, but I don’t remember geckos. Baby geckos <3!

    • The babies are very tiny and very cute. ๐Ÿ™‚ But even the adults are cute, and some are quite colorful, like these pretty brown ones with the spots. There are also skinks at R’s house. They are also cute, especially the blue one.

  4. Brandilyn says:

    Beautiful as always ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Allison says:

    The rainbow is gorgeous, I love how the sky is still unsettled. But I think my favorite this time is the shot of the geckos. I miss the geckos we had in our yard in Georgia, they always made me smile. I was heartbroken when a black widow caught the baby.

    I think burying the wires is a Midwest thing because they don’t have the buried up here either. It’s maddening because storms are always taking them down. Plus all the Europeans that visit or work here tell us it looks like we’re a third world country because of them.

    Have a wonderful week.

    • LOL Well, we are a third-world country lately, so I guess it’s fitting we look like one. And yeah, there is a mess of wires everywhere here. Maybe they can’t be buried, but I think that’s crap. They just don’t want to spend the money.

      Storm took out my power for twenty seconds last night. The new UPS kept my dekstop computer and printer up and running. YAY!

  6. kmac64 says:

    Amazing pictures as always. So many incredible things to see but most of us never really open our eyes enough to take it in. I appreciate the smaller things more because your pictures have opened my eyes to look around more frequently. Have a good week ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. suze294 says:

    Like the gecko one, the cage gives it a nice fuzzy vibe!
    Years ago, stayed at Mad Beach up near Clearwater/St Petersburg, it was lovely – great sunsets

  8. Karen H. says:

    Your pictures are lovely as always. Especially the rainbow. I’m glad you got the rest of your stuff finally. I know I’d go crazy without my books. I love my e-reader but sometimes I just need to be able to hold a real book and to actually turn the pages it’s just comforting for me.

  9. diannegray says:

    Gorgeous photos, Theo! You know how much I love those cute geckos ๐Ÿ˜€

  10. W. Lotus says:

    May you and Suki only see the island gator from a safe, far distance!

Leave a Reply

