Open Your Eyes

The title for this blog post comes from a song I’m listening to as I write this, but it’s probably good advice. Put the phone down, open your eyes, and look around. Despite all the shit happening in the world right now, it’s still a beautiful planet.

A good thunderstorm moved through the area late this afternoon (Sunday), and tonight, I’m out on R’s lanai, listening to the frogs screaming (the sound isn’t at all pleasing to the ear) and music (no playlist tonight; I want to be surprised by every song that comes up).

I’ve been playing in Photoshop tonight, working on the cover for AJ Rose’s next book. I stumbled on something that is exciting me, and if he likes it, you may see it soon. Otherwise, it’s back to the drawing board. πŸ™‚Β 

Sunsets here are pretty. I took this tonight. Just moments before, the white was vivid red; I missed it! Still nice though. It might even be better with the streaks.Β Sunset 7.6.14 sm

And this one was from a couple days ago. This was reflected light; I was shooting in the east. I call this “cotton candy clouds.” πŸ™‚ I did not bump the color, either. That’s what it looked like.Β Cotton Candy Clouds 7.14  sm

Another Monday! Hope you enjoy it.

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography, RL and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Open Your Eyes

  1. valjo44 says:

    I’ve never seen clouds that pink! Usually it’s just a pretty tinge of color. Cotton candy is a good name for them.

    • The effect is common here. πŸ™‚ Clouds are always moving across south Florida, but the cool thing is, they move. It’s rare when we don’t see the sun each day.

  2. Helena Stone says:

    Great advice. We miss so much while we’re busy trying to keep up with our online lives. It’s a shame because the beauty is indeed out there for those with their eyes open and willing to see.

    As always your photos take my breath away. Part of it may be that your lucky enough to live where you find all those beautiful sights. A bigger part of it is that you’re recognise them, capture them and then share them with lucky us.

    I’m very excited about AJ’s next one and your talk about the cover has only made me more curious. I really hope he likes what you’ve come up with, if only because now I want to know what it is.

    • If he turns it down, it will probably never see the light of day, but I like it so far. Still have some work to do on it, and after AJ sees it, perhaps some tweaking. A cover is always a collaborative effort between artist and author.

  3. Jaycee Edward says:

    I started getting excited for the cover when he said he found a pic from the same guy. Can’t wait to see what you do with it.

  4. Carole says:

    Just deleted my post accidentally. Ugh!
    Anywho, just wanted to say that the pictures are absolutely breathtaking. It’s amazing what you can catch in a photo.
    Very nice, thanks for sharing.
    Your evening sounds lovely. I love putting my music on shuffle & letting it just play. Although I have some relaxation music in there which unless I’m in the mood is very boring.
    Have a wonderful week & take it easy.😘

  5. Allison says:

    The sky is gorgeous there, we sometimes get some pretty late afternoon sky here but I never have my camera with me when I see them (not going to risk my camera getting stolen from my desk or my car.) I love the first one, it’s beautiful but it has a certain edge to it.

    Good luck with the cover! I was so happy to see he was going to have you create it again, no one else would do it justice.

    I hope you have a great week.

  6. Lindsaysf says:

    Fascinating how different your sunsets are from ours. But then I’m at 7000 feet and you’re at 3 feet. πŸ™‚

  7. A.M.B. says:

    Beautiful sunsets! Have a great week, Theo.

  8. Yvonne says:

    I followed that advice and went to sit outside to watch the clouds (nowhere near as special as the ones in your pics, but really nice and soothing) and the traffic on the water. Living abroad I sometimes miss the flat Dutch landscape so I’d better enjoy it now that I can.
    Hope you’ll have a productive week, excited for that cover you’re working on.

  9. diannegray says:

    Your afternoon skies are very similar to the ones we have here – absolutely beautiful! πŸ˜€

  10. I love the cloud photos. I remember seeing pink clouds like that a lot when I was growing up. I remember my mom telling us that when she was a kid her mother said clouds like this meant Santa Claus was making cotton candy. I seldom see sunrises or sunsets now; the location of our house is such that there is no clear view of the horizon, which really sucks.

  11. JadeCrystal says:

    Those photos are so beautiful. I’m a nightowl so never up early enough to watch the sunrise, but I do love sunsets and all the pretty shapes and colors.

  12. Linda Jude says:

    Beautiful! Love those Cotton Candy clouds, pink is my favorite color. Excited AJ approved cover.. Can’t wait to see it! Those first 2 are gorgeous! Hope you have a great rest of the week. 😊

Leave a Reply

