Cover Reveal: Lavender Rose

Last night, I decided it was time to address the cover for the new release. I rather liked the old one (those of you who got a copy through the blog will probably remember it), but one beta said “I like the colors but what’s with the shark?” and the other simply suggested I go with something new.

I’m always up for working in Photoshop, so I visited my stock photography site and started looking.

Two hours later, I was starting to get a headache. Ever visit those sites? After a while, everything looks the same and nothing seems to be what you need.

And then I saw a photo that took my breath away. I showed a small version to the betas, and they agreed it was exactly right. 

I gave the site more money, downloaded it, and started work. Many hours later, long after midnight had struck, I had the beginnings of something I liked.

This morning, I added the final touches, and here it is:

LRose Antique Cover 600x932

 

 

 

 

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in publishing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Cover Reveal: Lavender Rose

  1. Lisa B. says:

    OMG! Theo, that is fantastic! And perfect for the story. Did you add the woven texture or was that already part of the photo?

  2. Jaycee Edward says:

    Cheering!!! And the tagline? Spot on! Gives you a giant high five.

  3. nordicgirl_2013 says:

    Love it, both the picture itself and the “sepia”-tone! Also like the clarity of the text, good contrast. ☺

    • That was a trick, let me tell you! I went through a lot of text treatments before coming up with something clear, classy, but unique. However, I’m not complaining. I love playing in Photoshop.

  4. Helena Stone says:

    Gorgeous. I love the picture but more than anything I love the way the background appears textured. Now all I need are the words to read. Good luck with the release

  5. suze294 says:

    Very nice, as the others have said, the textured look is great!
    The palm trees remind mea bit of Blue Paradise and give the Florida feel!

  6. Hannah B. says:

    Hi Theo, Congrats on the cover. As others have commented, I too love the sepia tone and texture. When will Lavender Rose be available for purchase?

  7. Carole says:

    I really really think it is spectacular! It would look great as a paperback although I know that’s not possible!
    Very excited for this! It seems you have many talents. 😃

  8. Gorgeous! I love the burlap texture and that’s a great tagline!

  9. A.M.B. says:

    The cover looks great! The texture is really interesting.

  10. diannegray says:

    Yes, Yes, YES! Fabulous 😀

  11. wendytaft says:

    The cover says “Read me now”…I am ready to read next weekend since it is a holiday. [Just in case that is a hint..]

  12. It’s a great cover! The texture really does do something special for it. Can’t wait for the book – well, I guess I have to 😉 But hopefully not for too long . . .

  13. Linda Jude says:

    Perfect!

  14. Karen H says:

    Agreed. Absolutely PERFECT!

  15. Yvonne says:

    Gorgeous cover,it suits the story (which I had to re-read of course)

Leave a Reply

