Suki Sticks Her Tongue Out and other Pics

I don’t even remember what I was doing, but I turned around and saw her lying on the back of the couch on her back, looking cute as hell. Grabbed the camera and took a shot. Love it when she sticks her tongue out. So cute!

Kicking Back 6.17.14 sm

 

Most of you know I’ve been going back and forth this week between my place and R’s. He’s up north for the next month and asked me to take care of his plants and pool and cats. I spend the night there, then return to my condo in the morning to check things out, water my plants, get the mail, etc., then go back to his sometime in the afternoon. He has a zillion plants that also need watering if there isn’t enough rain that day. Beware the fire ants! I inadvertently stepped on a nest near R’s hose faucet and got bit several times. Nasty creatures.

Remember the Eastern Amberwing? It came back with two of its buddies. These dragonflies are small, their bodies about an inch long. I finally got a pretty good shot of one of them. Love those gold bands on the tail. This one is a male. Eastern Amberwing 6.16.14

 

Got another pic of the four-spotted skimmer, too. Notice the blue bands at the top of its tail? Dragonflies endlessly fascinate me, the variety is so wide. Four Spotted Skimmer 6.16.14 sm

Here’s something that mystifies me. Someone told me this behavior is related to breeding. The fish sticks its head in the weeds, ass-end up, and stays there for a while. I’m not even sure what kind of fish it is. I thought spotted bass, but someone else suggested a gar, and the color pattern and fins do match. I shot through water to get this photo. Freshwater Spotted Bass 6.16.14 sm

 

I’ve been working on the WIP this week, too, lest you think I’ve only been screwing around. 🙂

Have a good weekend! I intend to.

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography, RL and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Suki Sticks Her Tongue Out and other Pics

  1. Aww, Suki is adorable, as always. Why is it so cute when dogs stick their tongues out? But it so is :-). One I used to have would do it in her sleep sometimes ;-D Your pictures are great, also as always: Ever think of nature photography as a sideline, in some way? The fish is so funny. Sticking your ass in the air & waving it around, uh, yeah I guess that would tend to encourage acts of “breeding”. Though, not quite sure how it works with fish . . . 😉

    • She knows it too, ’cause I tell her how cute it is. So when she wants me to gush and carry on, she sticks it out a little. 🙂

      No idea what’s going on with the fish. This is the second time I’ve seen this phenomena.

  2. Allison says:

    As always Suki is adorable. Who could resist all that cute?

    The Amberwing is gorgeous, the gold bands look metallic, nature is amazing!

    Have a great weekend!

    • Thanks. I plan to write, actually. I’m finishing up an edit and will have some time to really get into it. No monster writing weekend for me though. Just as much as I can manage each day. 🙂

  3. Jaycee Edward says:

    You sound like a completely different person than a few months ago. Bet Suki can tell a difference too. Dogs read people really well. She’s probably happier too.

  4. Valerie says:

    Young gar have an adhesive area on their snouts that holds them to vegetation while they mature. Maybe it’s a baby gar not ready to swim free…….although having your ass stick up like that I would think would be like ringing the dinner bell for predators.:/ The pic turned out great even through the water…so clear.
    I love when dogs stick their tongues out like that especially when they sleep, it seems like they’re dreaming about when they were puppies with mom.

    • Then it must be a gar. I haven’t yet walked down that way today, but I’ll look for it when I do. We just had our daily rain shower; it watered all the outdoor plants.

  5. suze294 says:

    The Amberwing is a great shot!
    The kids have been watching lots of programs this week about pythons in Florida, and I must admit to thinking of you and Suki, hoping they stay well clear of where you are!

  6. Karen H says:

    The pic of Suki made me smile. Our little guy perpetually has his tongue poking out and it’s just really cute, especially when he’s standing beside you on his hind legs he looks like an ewok (seriously a little furry ewok). Dogs and cats it takes them no effort to be adorable. Love the dragonfly pictures as well they truly are a fascinating species.

  7. diannegray says:

    I love seeing pics of Suki – she’s so adorable!

    I sat on a chair one day that had a fire-ants nest in it. I won’t be doing that again in a hurry!

  8. Carole says:

    I will never ever get tired of looking @ Suki! She is so precious! Have you taken her to the beach yet?
    Say it as many times as you want. Go on & on about your happy life! I will never tire of that either.
    While R is away will you venture out to see more of your new surroundings or stay close to home due to plants & responsibilities there?
    Have a good one! Loved the guest spot earlier BTW. I think I understand the def a lot better now.

    • She hasn’t gone to the beach yet. It’s an hour away and I haven’t had a chance to get there yet. I plan to do a little exploring while R is up north, but nothing extensive at this time. Have to regain my financial equilibrium first.

  9. A.M.B. says:

    Suki is adorable. Great pictures!

Leave a Reply

