Hello From the Land of Eternal Sunshine

Turns out this phrase refers to several different countries and areas. Google it when you have some time.

I’m talking about Florida though. Although we had a rare couple of days waking up and going to sleep with clouds, that’s over! The sun is back, and the predicted high today will be 95.

I’m no glutton for punishment. That’s hot, and I plan to stay inside accordingly. Yesterday, I was over at R’s during the heat of the day. He was watering his many plants, and I tagged along. He was shirtless and perfectly comfortable. The sun beat on the top of my head and shoulders, and when I bent over, I felt it through my shirt. I quickly found the nearest patch of shade any time he stood in one place very long. He laughed at me, but acknowledged I hadn’t been here long enough to fully adapt.

I see something like this almost every afternoon. The clouds are sometimes puffy and all white, but often dark clouds filled with rain pass over as weather moves across south Florida from the gulf. Before the Storm 5.14 sm

 

I’ve been told the water in the canal is treated to keep lily pads down. Patches remain, however, though this is as close as they get to flowering, which is a shame. Lilypads on Canal 5.14 sm

R lives in a still-undeveloped area. There are houses, but all lots are one acre or more, and there are plenty of “wild” sections. One is right across the street. I took the camera over there and took a few pics. Bare land reveals what’s there: shells! Shell Road 6.2.14 sm

The first week I was here, R took me to his favorite nursery, which is owned and run by two people in their 80s. The man is hard of hearing and is starting to lose it, but she’s still sharp as a tack. It’s an amazing place, and I’ll post more pics from there soon, but I took this while we wandered the paths through huge stands of palms and plants. There are quite a few peacocks walking and flying about. It’s kind of amazing. They aren’t friendly in the sense they come over and say hello, but they don’t rush away, either. I captured a pair in this photo. Busy background, but that’s all I’ll ever get there. 🙂 It’s a jungle.Peacocks 5.14 sm

 

Have a great weekend!

 

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography, RL and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Hello From the Land of Eternal Sunshine

  1. Allison says:

    We saw some beautiful peacocks at the zoo a couple weekends ago, they were displaying, it was gorgeous. I got a couple shots but I haven’t had a chance to look at them yet.

    Have a great weekend!

  2. Brandilyn says:

    The cloud pic reminds me of here. Afternoon clouds/showers, but sun on either side. 95 isn’t all THAT hot… you will adapt.

  3. Lindsaysf says:

    I bet we get more sun than you do! Hmm, the stats don’t list Santa Fe. Well, you only get a paltry 74 clear days while Denver gets 115. On the other hand, there’s humidity. Ours is way up to 56% This morning, pretty high for us. Yours is down to — 69%! Low for there I bet. You may drip there, but my skin here desiccates into something resembling wrinkled tissue. Yuck.
    And we sure don’t have jungles. 😦 On the other hand, we don’t have lots of Big Bugs. 🙂

    • If by “clear” you mean no clouds, then I believe we only get 74 a year. However, we see the sun every day except for the rare two or three. The gulf winds push those clouds over us pretty fast. And yes, the humidity is great for skin and hair. It was much too dry in MN for me. I prefer it here. 🙂

      As far as bugs go, I’ve been bitten by mosquitoes maybe twice. I haven’t seen one bug in the condo. I’ve seen one spider at R’s house, outside in his web. People kept telling me this was a buggy place, and in the wild country and Everglades, I’m sure it is, but where the state is populated, the bugs are well under control. Far better, in fact, that any place I’ve been.

  4. Helena Stone says:

    Those photos are once again breathtaking and clearly show what a beautiful place you live in. One day I WILL have the opportunity to see Florida and other parts of the States with my own eyes.

    On a different note, I hope you realize that wild pig are far more likely to be aggressive when they have young. Just don’t get too close to an angry mammy in your quest for beautiful pictures.

  5. W. Lotus says:

    Magnificent! I smile every time I read a happy update from your new home.

  6. Jaycee Edward says:

    It’s fun to tag along virtually as you discover your new home. Thanks for sharing it with us.

  7. Wow, that sky in the first photo was truly breathtaking! I love the chiaroscuro effect of dark & light clouds against that blue, blue sky! I always think good old puffy white cumulus are my favorites, but something like this makes me think it’s even better when there’s a little dark mixed with the light, more dramatic & exciting. And it’s funny, you can tell they’re fast-moving clouds just by the way they look in the photo.

  8. Carole says:

    Beautiful pictures! Never heard of that about the lily pads. I totally get what you mean every time you mention the weather obviously. I’m just so relieved you’re happy because I have to tell you when you were getting ready to leave MN I was concerned you would hate it here. I mean I know you lived here before & you hated the winter so much up there but it can get pretty hot & the humidity can get suffocating at times. I personally love it & found I had to wear a jacket at night on my vaca. Living here for so long I get cold so easily.
    Also I was concerned you’d get bored but I guess with your job & interests you seem to be getting along nicely & the added bonus of a really great friend to hang with is pretty sweet.
    Anyway thanks for sharing as always! 😘

    • What does one do when one achieves a dream? ENJOY IT. 🙂 Yes, the heat and humidity are sometimes a bit much, but I stay inside then. In MN, I stayed inside ALL the damn time during winter. And I hate being cold.

      How could I get bored? Every day on the canal, I see something new. Love to watch the sky as the clouds roll across. The light is often fantastic! Last night, Suki and I sat outside on the water, watching the night move in. It was great. 🙂

  9. diannegray says:

    Your first photo of the clouds looks like an oil painting, Theo – beautiful capture!

    We used to have peacocks at the farm years ago, they’re absolutely beautiful birds 😀

    • I had them on the farm too. They are thrifty, beautiful birds, and when they drop their feathers in August (might be a different month where you are!), you pick them up and have a vase full of gorgeous feathers. I never minded their “calls.”

Leave a Reply

