We Have Dragonflies

A few days ago, just before the thunderstorm rolled in, I walked down to the south end of the canal with Suki and the camera. The dragonflies like it on that end because of the exposed grass and reeds, plus there’s a narrow strip of sand on my side. This is important, because if they were on the other side, I’d have to walk a really long distance to get close enough to them to take photos.

Allison H, you are about to see COLOR. πŸ™‚ While some dragonflies are black, most of them are not. I managed to identify all but one; itΒ remains a mystery for now, but eventually, I’ll get a better photo of it and track it down.

This first one is an Eastern Amberwing. He’s very small. This is the best one I got of him, and it’s not great, but I plan to keep trying until I get a better one. It was also windy, and the breeze kept blowing him around, which blurs the photo. I love the gold bands on his tail. Btw, you can tell male from female by looking at the pincers at the end of the tail. In males, these are closer together.

Eastern Amberwing 5.31.14

Here’s our old friend, the Scarlet Skimmer. I love his deep, beautiful red color. Note: you can click on any of these and see them full-sized. If you’re interested in detail, I recommend it. Notice the delicate color at the tips of each wing. This is an important tool toward identification.

Male Scarlet Skimmer 5.31.14 sm

Our next dragonfly is the beautiful Halloween Pennant. There are several variations on this coloring, but this one is my favorite. I snapped a shot of one of these in Oakdale, MN a few years ago.Β Halloween Pennant 5.31.14 sm

Next is the one I have yet to identify. His wings are clear except for the slight brown “saddlebags” on his back wings. I looked it up but found nothing that matched perfectly. Next time, I need a pic from above so I can clearly see the wings and body. I love the sun sparkle on the wings. Β Unknown Dragonfly 5.31.14 sm

This is the Four-spotted Pennant. I love the delicate silver-blue shading under her tail.Β Four-Spotted Penant 5.31.14 female sm

Last, but not least, one of my favorites, the Eastern Pondhawk. The coloring is gorgeous. Who doesn’t like blue? This is a male.Β Eastern Pondhawk 5.31.14 sm

When I took most of these, I was between five and eight feet away. I prefer to get closer, but on my side of the canal, there is no easy way down to the water. As we proceed through the rainy season, the water levels will rise but then the reeds and grass will be covered. 😦 I may have to visit R’s canals. There are several in his neighborhood, all of which can be gotten to from the road.

I’m looking forward to a wonderful summer full of photo ops. πŸ™‚

 

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography, RL and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to We Have Dragonflies

  1. nordicgirl_2013 says:

    Stunning! Nothing beats nature’s colour palette.

  2. Gorgeous. The colors are incredible. What’s the zoom on your lens? They’re great shots from 5-8 feet away. Wonderful detail.

    • 40x optical. I love this camera, which is a Canon.

      • Nice. Yeah, I have a Canon too and love it.

        • I actually prefer Olympus as far as lenses go, but their proprietary battery turned me off badly. Isn’t it interesting that my current Canon has a proprietary battery? Heh. I may take another look at Olympus in the future.

          Before I buy a camera, I always, always read every review I can find and study sample shots. It’s a big investment for me, and I generally keep each camera two-three years before upgrading.

  3. Brandilyn says:

    The last one is my favorite. Not really a bug person, but dragonflies are pretty.

    Since you take such beautiful shots, I will forgive you for being a Canon person… I guess πŸ˜‰

  4. Jaycee Edward says:

    We have the blue green ones here. Bottle-somethingorother? I love the Halloween one!! And the amberwing.

    • Blue-green dragonflies are generally Darners or Dashers, and they’re hard to photograph because they don’t perch like some dragonflies. They, um, dash and dart. Heh. I do have a series of exceptional photos of two blue-green dragonflies mating on water afloat with cottonseed. That was a magical day. I must have taken 200 pics. I’ll include them the next time I do a dragonfly post.

  5. Judy says:

    I want windows in the style of the wings of this unidentified dragonfly – so beautiful!

  6. Allison says:

    I am absolutely in love with these, you made them come to life in these shots. I keep scrolling back up to look at them.

    I don’t think I can pick a favorite because they all have something different to offer. The gold bands on the amberwing look like finely spun gold bracelets, I love the ripples you caught in the Scarlet Skimmer shot, the angle of the Halloween Pennant is amazing (that eye), but of course blue always draws me in and makes the Pondhawk seem slightly more delicate regardless of the rather aggressive name. Okay, I’ll stop, I could be here all day looking at these. πŸ˜€

    Thank you for sharing, they are gorgeous.

  7. Helena Stone says:

    Those pictures and the creatures in them are stunning. I could happily sit here and look at them for the rest of the day.

  8. suze294 says:

    The blue Pondhawk is my favourite today, looking forward to a great summer of pics!

  9. Linda Jude says:

    Absolutely breathtaking!! The colors and the details… I have to say the unnamed one is my favorite… Those wings and the way the sun caught them… Gorgeous! Looking forward to more!

  10. Yvonne says:

    Gorgeous, the details on them are just amazing.

  11. diannegray says:

    I just love dragonflies, Theo and these are some the best shots I’ve seen in a long time πŸ˜€

  12. Wow, these are all so beautiful, thanks for sharing Theo!

  13. A.M.B. says:

    Wow! These pictures are amazing! I never realized how beautiful dragonflies are.

Leave a Reply

