I Never Know What Day It Is

Since I started working at home, I rarely know if it’s Wednesday, Friday, or Sunday. For some odd reason, I almost always know when it’s Monday, though. That day has such a taint from years of working for The Man, I wonder if I’ll ever manage to shake it off.

My love affair with Florida continues. I spend almost every day in the lanai (it’s really called a Florida Room, but “lanai” is short and easier to say, so I’m gonna keep calling it that) with a fan pointed at me to ward off the worst of the day’s heat. Suki lays under the coffee table, dozing until I get up, at which time, she immediately awakes, ready to follow me anywhere.

The last two days, strong thunderstorms have moved through, accompanied by lightning. Most of you are aware Florida is the #1 state for lightning strikes and deaths caused by them. I don’t go out when there’s lightning. Why take the chance? More storms are expected today and tomorrow. We need the rain. It’s been a little dry here. The water in the canal has risen a couple inches and the wildlife is happy.

If you follow me on Facebook, you’ve seen the bird pics I’ve lately posted. Two were of the Anhinga, an interesting, large bird that swims and dives. This is how they look in the water. Doesn’t it remind you of the Loch Ness Monster? It pushes its head forward as it moves, in an undulating motion. They’re fun to watch.Swimming Anhinga 5.28.14 sm

 

Later that same day, I took a photo of a small, bright red dragonfly perched on a twig at the side of the canal. I generally like to get pics side-on or from the front, but I didn’t have an opportunity; Suki was with me. I’m going to try again in the next couple days. I think this is an Autumn Meadowhawk, but I’m not completely sure yet. More research is required. Click on it to see more detail.autumn meadowhawk 5.30.14 sm

 

On the canal there is a family of ducklings that number sixteen plus Mom. During the thunderstorm the other day, four of them got separated from the group and raised holy hell until Mom finally heard and ran over. I watched the happy reunion. 🙂 The white one in this photo is the only one of its color in the group. All the others are dark or mixed. Ducklings 5.29.14 sm

Have a great weekend! See you Monday.

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography, RL and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to I Never Know What Day It Is

  1. W. Lotus says:

    The thought of the duck reunion makes me happy. 🙂

    • Reunions happen a lot, there are so many of them. 😉 I can always tell when a few have broken off or fallen behind; lots of duckling chatter going on out there.

  2. Ginny Farnsworth says:

    Your dragonfly picture is beautiful, but honestly, Nessie looks nothing like your bird. And for once the sun is splitting the skies over Loch Ness today

  3. A.M.B. says:

    I don’t work from home and I still don’t know what day of the week it is! I’m constantly checking my calendar to remind myself.

    I’m glad to hear that you’re still in love with Florida! Great pictures.

  4. Allison says:

    I didn’t know that dragon flies had more than one color, that is beautiful.

    Enjoy the lanai and the thunderstorms. I hope you have an amazing weekend (even if it blends in with the other days.) 😀

  5. Brandilyn says:

    I spent the better part of yesterday having to remind myself that it was NOT Friday… One more week and summer starts for 6yo. Then I won’t have to care what day of the week it is anymore. It doesn’t help that with Memorial Day on Monday, my whole schedule is messed up. Of course hubby is still slave to the M-F grind, so I guess it can’t completely lose its significance.

    Have a good weekend, Fen.

  6. Jaycee Edward says:

    I never know what day it is either, since I quit working. Or the date. It’s a wonderful feeling. As long as you post on Mondays and Fridays, though, it helps me keep track. Gorgeous photo of the dragonfly. We get them flitting about over the surface of our pool, but have never seen a red one!

    • I have a pic of another red dragonfly, only this one is a damselfly. Very small, yet it is crisp and clear in the photo. It’s a particular favorite of mine.

      Definitely going to have to blog about dragonflies soon.

  7. kmac64 says:

    Your pictures are always outstanding. I think we all appreciate the little things, normally would never give a second thought about, with the beauty, you bring forth, in your pics. Taking a second look, at a black bird picture, is not something I would have done, till now.
    I feel so blessed sometimes that I do not have to keep up with days of the week. Originally, I struggled staying home, being out of the loop, but now, I embrace it.
    Have a good week-end. I’m off to the dentist with a belly full of nervous jitters. 🙂

  8. Loch Ness monster – yeah, I can kinda see it ;-D Gosh, your pictures are always so great! That red dragonfly was amazing. I mostly seem to see black ones around here in Ohio. Think I’ve seen them in green & blue years & years back when I was a kid in Florida, but red – never. Yeah, you definitely need to blog about them. The Monday thing, I’m not crazy about them but my poor husband has almost a phobia about them, goes all the way back to school days too. He even gets low on Mondays when on vacation 😦 Of course, he’s STILL working for The Man, & it’s blue collar work, which sucks even worse I think, so . . .

  9. diannegray says:

    That an amazing picture of a dragonfly! Gorgeous 😀

    I never know what day it is either, Theo – it’s a glorious feeling!

    • Every once in a while, I wake up not knowing and freak a little. Today, for instance. I had to stop and figure out it was Saturday. Old habit die hard! I’m sure I’ll get over this eventually.

Leave a Reply

