The Writing Meme

I got tagged for a writing meme. These are the questions. Let’s see what answers I can come up with. 🙂

What am I working on?

writingWrapping up Wolf Bound for publication by the end of the month. I’ve also picked up a story I set aside a few months ago. Re-reading it convinces me to finish it. The start is promising, and the story is engaging and often funny.

Sage and Percy meet in a most unusual way (no hints yet!), and things only get more interesting from there. Sage owns an IT company. Percy is rolling in money. What do they have in common? More than they think. 

How does my work differ from others in the genre?

imagesAs the writer, I don’t know that I can answer that. I get an idea, I write the first sentence or paragraph, and then I keep going until the end. Is it different from what other authors in the genre offer? I hope so, but there’s never any guarantee. I write what I like to read.

My characters are, I hope, interesting, and the situations I put them in, compelling. I have an easy, clean style which draws people into the story. I make sure to release a quality product; no reader should have to force their way past bad editing and plot inconsistencies in order to enjoy a book.

I make every attempt to deliver an entertaining story, and I’m not afraid to flout convention or turn the genre on its ear. Transgression steps outside the m/m box by introducing characters with different orientations and kinks. In the Precog series, one main character suffers from IBS, and yes, it becomes instrumental to the plot.

I’m always happiest when I’m breaking rules, thumbing my nose at tradition, and pushing boundaries. I want to be braver as a writer.

Why do I write what I do?

I write m/m for several reasons, not the least of which it’s close to my heart. Exploration of that connection between people in love is always exciting, but that’s never enough for me. I always have to throw other elements in to stir the pot. If I’m bored, I figure the reader is bored. My stories rarely bore. 😉

As marriage equality and LGBT rights gain ground in this country, the m/m genre is instrumental in showing we are just like everyone else. We have the same needs and wants and desires. We fall in love just like straight people do, and our hearts break like theirs when things don’t work out. Some of us want children, others of us want to buy a house or travel or start a business.

M/M books show who we are and what we want. We are all just people, making our way in the world, struggling to survive and be happy.

How does my writing process work?

I know how it’s supposed to work.the-writing-process-chart-n21814_xl

But in my case, I start out with a general plot overview. I may even write some of it down in Evernote. I knock out some character snapshots, and while I write, I add to them because I get most of my refinements while actually writing.

I don’t like to know the whole story when I begin. I would be dreadfully bored by the end. Like the reader, I want to be surprised along the way, so if a twist occurs to me mid-scene, I’ll go with it, see where it takes me, and often I am surprised at how well things work out.

images (1)I wrote Precog in three books over a period of six months. I was collecting unemployment then, so I could write full time. Let me tell you, it makes all the difference! A day job definitely gets in the way and disrupts flow.

I never had an outline with Precog. I started with Gray and Cooper and their houseboat, and it took off from there. I made notes as I went in order to keep track of some things, but otherwise, it flowed straight from my brain without benefit of a road map. I had no idea where it was going to end up, and guess what? It worked beautifully. Everything fit, foreshadowing was fortuitous, and I’m very happy with how it turned out.

Transgression was different. I roughed out an outline for that one and had fairly complete characterizations before I began. I knew who and what I wanted to write, and I was more careful to follow the original idea to remain true to my vision.

But guess what? Liza didn’t exist at first, and neither did crazy Ethan. They popped up later. And Ricky was a complete surprise. He showed up in his lavender lace panties and demanded I put him in the book. How could I refuse?

Outlines are good. They show you where you need to go. But never adhere to them so rigidly you miss a lot of fun along the way.

I’m tagging Will Parkinson for this meme. He’s an fun and interesting person, and I’m betting his responses will be pretty good. Check his blog on 5/26.

 

 

 

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in publishing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The Writing Meme

  1. Jaycee Edward says:

    Not sure how I missed this, but I did. I’m very glad Ricky showed up in his ” lavender lace panties”. He’s one of my favorite characters of yours.

  2. I am fascinated by other writers processes, so thanks for sharing yours. I have to agree with Jaycee, I loved Ricky too.

  3. Allison says:

    I don’t want to think about not having met Ricky! I’m glad he showed up. Liza is pretty wonderful as well actually.

    • I always love my secondary characters almost as much as the main ones. 🙂 If I wasn’t so darn busy, I’d consider giving Ricky his own story.

      • Allison says:

        Oh! You know I asked for that back when you released Transgression. You are such a tease! I’ll hope that someday I get to read more of Ricky’s story.

  4. Jinai says:

    Hey thank you for another good book to read! I really loved precog and I am patiently waiting for Wolf Bound, this will help.
    What is a writing meme?

  5. shortandsweet213 says:

    I’m glad I found your writing meme and the tips. I really enjoyed Transgression. (review on Amazon) I loved Ricky. When you have some time, please write his story. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

