Florida Bird Round-Up

I’ve been taking photos of birds on the canal the last few days. There are small black birds with iridescent wings I haven’t quite managed to capture yet, but I will.

In the meantime, take a look at these. We’ll start with the ibis. You can see these birds all over Florida. They wade along the shore, poking that long beak into the watery weeds, searching for food. Though omnivorous, it prefers insects, frogs, small fish, etc.

Ibis 5.13.14 sm

These are some of the ducks on my canal. Ducks from South America mated with native Florida stock and produced this. They remind me of Muscovy ducks, and that’s what I call them. Not pretty, but hearty and have a varied color pattern.

Canal Ducks 5.14.14 sm

I thought at first this last bird was a blue heron, but I looked it up and it doesn’t carry the distinctive dark eye band. So what is it? A tri-color heron. Look at that interesting pattern down the front of its neck.

Tri-color Heron 2 5.14.14

And here’s another photo of the same bird.

Tri-color Heron 5.14.14

He was walking along the shore next to the ducks, who were swimming parallel to him. I’m guessing the ducks’ paddling scared up something to eat and the heron pounced on it. 🙂

I had to take my friend, R, to the car dealer this morning, so I was up very early (for me!). I spotted this out the back windows, grabbed the camera, and took some photos.

Sunrise 5.15.14 sm

And in case you missed it on Facebook, here’s the pic I got of the double rainbow Thursday night.

Rainbow 5.15.14 sm

Have a great weekend!

 

 

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography, RL and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Florida Bird Round-Up

  1. Allison says:

    All the ibis I’ve seen have been pure white. I wasn’t even aware they had different color variations. Or is it young? The ducks are interesting.

    The sunrise is beautiful, I love the reflection on the water. I love pictures like that although I don’t like getting up to take them. 😉

  2. Gorgeous! You have great view.

    • It’s not bad. 🙂 I get to see the sunrise if I wake in time. If I want to see the sunset, I go to R’s house. I gaze at the canal all day long. It’s generally pretty quiet in the neighborhood. There’s nothing to complain about.

  3. Kate Aaron says:

    The Audubon Society informs me your ibis was a juvenile 🙂 Nice to know they’re breeding around there! Great pics.

  4. Jaycee Edward says:

    Great pics! I’d like to think that double rainbow has special significance for you.

    • It’s something not normally seen, for one thing. I’ve observed a lot of partials, both of rainbows and the double, but never a complete arc like this for both of them. Good omen? I’d like to think so.

  5. Great photos, as always: You are so multi-talented 🙂 That sunrise was gorgeous! Your canal looks lovely. I lived in FL for a while as a kid, near Melbourne, there was a canal behind our house but it was just for drainage & you could never see any water – nothing nice to look at like this! “Small black birds with iridescent wings” sounds pretty, can’t wait to see those pix when you capture them – the pix, not the birds ;-D

  6. Helena Stone says:

    Wonderful pictures, all of them, although right now the perfect arc rainbow is extra special to me. Thank you for sharing.

  7. suze294 says:

    Love the sunrise!

  8. diannegray says:

    Fantastic shots, Theo. That double rainbow is a classic! 😀

  9. Brandilyn says:

    Love that second to last shot! Absolutely gorgeous. I forgot my Nikon… I am so pissed I didn’t have it to photograph all the fantastic architecture in NOLA 😦

Leave a Reply

