Recollections

I’ve been in Florida almost a week now. What do I think?

I LOVE IT. Yes, it’s hot. Yes, it’s humid, but I adapted to the different lifestyle immediately, though I sweated a lot the first few days. I came down from MN with winter-thick blood, and already, I’m changing to survive in my new environment. This happened to me the last time I came down here, so I knew what to expect.

The first few days, I stayed at R’s house. For those of you who don’t know, R is an old lover of mine, and a close friend. He’s been helping me every step of the way. He found my condo, he helped facilitate my rental of it, and he charmed the shit out of the owners. They love him, despite his very long hair and hippie air. πŸ™‚ I owe him a lot, because he also opened his house to me when I arrived.Β 

Let’s be honest here. We don’t click on every level. He watches TV way the fuck more than I do, which is almost never. But he likes movies, I like movies, and we get along in important ways. We both love plants and growing things and living as natural a lifestyle as we can. When I told him I had to write the last night I was there, he left me alone to do that. He gets a lot of brownie points for that.

He has a brother down here, and the brother’s wife. And nieces and nephews and various other assorted relatives. I lived here first, then they all moved down. Heh. I can’t blame them. So we all went out to dinner one night at this pretty terrific restaurant. The liquor was flowing, the grounds were incredibly beautiful, and the food was excellent. It was a wonderful dinner. I had the Chilean blackenedΒ salmon. OMG, so good.

This display was only a few feet from where we ate.

Palm fronds sm

Before we sat at a table and hisΒ relatives joined us, we wandered the extensive grounds and saw the following.

Hut pond smHut grounds smHut Gecko smHut Tree with moss sm

Totally gorgeous, and a beautiful evening. There is a huge pond on the premises, with waterfalls. I spied the gecko peeking over the rock and snapped a few pics. The last photo was of a massive tree hung with Spanish moss.

A good time was had by all. πŸ™‚

 

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography, RL and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to Recollections

  1. Oh wow Theo how could you not write in a place like that, it’s magical! Plus, being a photographer you must be in heaven! It sounds and looks wonderful and how lovely to have an ex who is such a good friend…that is quite an achievement πŸ˜‰

    • We’ll be friends until we die. That’s the kind of relationship it is. If he hadn’t been down here, I might have hesitated over the move. You need a support system when you go to a new state. He’s it right now.

  2. Ingrid says:

    That’s great that you have a friend so close you. Wonderful photos! The place should even be gorgeous! I wish that your new home with old friends and new friends around bring you much peace and happiness! And it works great result of all this, of course!
    Great week,
    Ingrid / Brazil

  3. kmac64 says:

    Incredible pictures!! I am thrilled for you, hearing everything fall into place, so well. Not only are you taking in different air, you are putting out different air, also. Your jubilation with your surroundings is very uplifting. You inspire all of us on so many different levels, and to see and hear about all the wonderful things you are experiencing……..”sigh” you so deserve this!! I’m thankful you share it with us. I long to see a picture of you, sitting in your lanai, surrounded by greenery, feet propped up (barefooted, of course) and writing. Now, that would be an amazing picture. I don’t expect one, however, but I vision you in that setting. You make me smile πŸ™‚ ((hugs))

    • I don’t move into the lanai until sundown. Otherwise, it’s too hot out there. But I can see it and the canal through the french doors. πŸ™‚ I look out there often, and when I take breaks, walk to the water with the camera.

  4. Brandilyn says:

    So glad you are loving your new home and got to connect with old friends.

    I hear you on the TV thing. Drives me up the wall, but I have my quiet place in my favorite chair in a room away from all TVs. Works for me.

    ❀ sweets. Enjoy unpacking and making the condo yours. I will say, I didn't get a hippy from his shorts and legs in the Dog pic πŸ˜‰

    As always, gorgeous pics.

  5. Louise says:

    Glad to hear you have settled into your new life so well Theo! Congrats. R sounds like a friend everyone could do with! πŸ‘

  6. Helle says:

    When can I come for an (very) extended visit ?

  7. Allison says:

    The photos are beautiful, so lush. They make me wish I had a computer screen to view them on instead of only my phone.

    I agree, having a support system when you move like this is incredibly important. I am so glad that you have R, a good friend like that is irreplaceable.

    I am beyond happy for you, sweetie. You deserve this. ❀

    • Thanks. Everyone deserves good things unless they’re assholes. I don’t think I know any of those. πŸ˜‰

      The last few years have been both easy and hard, so yeah, I think I deserve this too. I plan to take full advantage of it, too.

  8. Patricia says:

    Oh, yeah, Florida. But sometimes you want to see the puffy fat snow collecting on your windowsill.

    • Uh,nope. Can’t say I’ve ever wanted to see that. Seeing that means you have to shovel. And you have to drive in it. I got really tired of planning errands around forecast snowfalls.

  9. Jaycee Edward says:

    Give R a big hug for us, okay? I think we all love him for making this transition not only possible, but pretty seamless for you.

  10. Helena Stone says:

    Sure sounds like you landed on your feet, if not in your own little piece of paradise. I’m so glad it’s all working out so wonderfully well for you. Moving can be incredibly stressful but with a support system waiting for you, it’s a lot easier. Love the pictures. They make me even more determined to find a way to one day cross that big pond and visit your part of the universe. Stay happy.

  11. suze294 says:

    You sound so much happier! And with good friend too.
    Looking forward to lots of great photos like these

  12. Jinai says:

    You sound so happy πŸ™‚ Thank you for sharing. I’m not a tv fan either but some of that is the content, mostly it seems like a vacuum of time just sucked out of me when I’m in the livingroom and the tv is on. You capture such lovely pictures – it’s like the essence of what’s around you. Looking forward to more pictures! Can I be a little selfish and wish that your new environs inspire you-looking for more goodreads.
    I’m so glad you’re happy and I hope that more happiness comes your way.

  13. Patricia says:

    Glad you’re busy writing….Lots and lots of story ideas here in Florida, you will never run out. It is awfully different from ice and wind and furry animals. Soon your blood will thin like ours and you’ll think 60 degrees is a cold snap. enjoy!

    • I never run out of story ideas. Although they were sparse for a couple months over winter, generally I have more ideas on tap than I know what to do with. I should stick them all in one book and see how that works. πŸ™‚

      I have a fleece-lined hoodie here somewhere. I’ll keep that around for those cold days when the temp drops below the 70s. πŸ˜‰

  14. Yvonne says:

    Where would we be without our friends?! Love the pics, it’s a different world from MN.

    • It is, and I will miss the upper Midwest. There is a beauty there that can’t be found elsewhere. I hope to return often to enjoy that wooded landscape full of lakes and rivers. But in the meantime, I will explore nature in Florida and enjoy that, too.

  15. I’m delighted it’s all working out, Theo. The pics are fabulous and I look forward to more. Sounds like you’ll be very happy there.

  16. A.M.B. says:

    I’m looking forward to seeing more pictures from Florida! It’s such a beautiful place. I’m glad to hear things are going well!

  17. diannegray says:

    Sounds like you’re just loving it, Theo! Great to see πŸ˜€

    • I am. I don’t think I’ll ever return north except to visit. Just way too cold, and when I checked the weather in St Paul yesterday, I saw they had another week of rain. This follows the previous week of rain. Ugh. Too much.

Leave a Reply

