First Day in Florida

R and I stayed up late last night, drinking wine and catching up on Game of Thrones (he’d seen the eps, I was four behind on the new season). Then we spent some time in his “indoor outdoor area.” Those are his feet. 🙂

Ric's Feet 4.30.14 sm

 

I slept for ten hours; bet you’re not surprised! 

I took pics first thing in the pool area.

Pool corner 4.30.14 smOther Pool Corner 4.30.14 smPool Area 4.30.14 sm

To the right of the last shot is where we hung out enjoying the evening. There was a nice breeze, and the temp had dropped after a brief thunderstorm. Suki has not fallen in yet; we’re both keeping an eagle eye on her. She likes it here. Loves being out in the yard and R’s plant nursery off the pool.

I had to meet the condo owners at the water/sewer place to start my service. That took half an hour. Then they treated me to lunch out. Guess what? Perkins is down here too. 😉 I asked questions, they answered them. I even got the names of an honest car mechanic and a dentist. Heh.

This afternoon, catching up on stuff, then dinner out with R and his brother and sister-i-law.

So far, I’ve hardly had time to catch my breath. I’ve gotten word the cube is arriving on Monday (most likely); R and I will unload it. I’ve already met two of my neighbors; they are very nice, and one has a small dog.

My condo is gorgeous! Even empty, it looks great. I neglected to take the camera on my first trip over–R and I took over half a dozen plants he’s given me–but I’ll remember in the morning, when I return to water them. The lanai is definitely where I will be spending the bulk of my days. It overlooks the water and has windows on three sides, so there’s a nice cross-current of air. There is also a ceiling fan.

I love the place. I can’t wait to move in.

I heard it was 37 degrees in St Paul this morning. I do not miss that at ALL! 🙂

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in RL and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

61 Responses to First Day in Florida

  1. Jaycee Edward says:

    I’m just smiling so freaking big reading this. I’m so happy for you, Theo. It looks beautiful (and GREEN) and you sound almost giddy. “Those are his feet!” Haha! You’re so cute. 🙂

  2. A.M.B. says:

    I love the “indoor outdoor area”! Congratulations on the move. It’s time to change your “About” page!

  3. Ginny Farnsworth says:

    Glad you arrived safely. Those pictures are amazing, so beautiful, like something from another world.

  4. Allison says:

    It looks beautiful! I am so extremely happy for you, Fen. Enjoy the sunshine and good luck with the cube.

  5. Brandilyn says:

    So happy for you, darlin’. Looks like things will be good for you in Florida. Your friend has a gorgeous pool area!

    No clue what Perkins is, but I take it that is a good thing. (Yeah, I could google it, but its not that important. If you are happy, that is what matters). enjoy some downtime before the unpacking begins.

  6. Carole says:

    Wow! Just wow! Could it get any better?!? From the look of one of the pics R has thrown a mattress in the pool. Heehee, love those big floats!!! You can really have some fun on those. 😉

  7. Sarah_Madison says:

    Gorgeous photos. 🙂 I think you’re going to love it there!

    • I love it already. What’s not to like? Tropical everything is all around me. Lots of new stuff to take pics of. The condo owners tell me there is a gator in the canal; I wonder when I’ll see him? This morning, I saw a Muscovy duck and her babies (they won’t last long if the ‘gator is around).

      I’m gonna have to start carrying the camera with me everywhere again.

  8. Kimi says:

    What? Just feet? No hands? LOL Sounds great. Hope the cube arrives on time and everything is as it should be.

  9. Jaycee Edward says:

    The feet made me think of something. Did you ditch the cardinal socks?

  10. Judy says:

    You arrived! And everything sounds (and looks) great. How far from your condo to R’s pool? 😉

  11. Patricia says:

    Beautiful view. Nice plants too.

  12. kmac64 says:

    This is so exciting!! You cannot NOT smile reading this. His plant area is beyond awesome. Can’t wait to see the rest. I am so happy you finally are there and it sounds like it is even more fabulous than you already thought it was. Have fun and enjoy the stress free moment. You certainly have earned it. 🙂

  13. suze294 says:

    Lucky you – warmth, sun, blue skies, pool – Bet those bones have warmed up! Enjoy your time before the cube arrives!

  14. Linda Jude says:

    What beautiful pics Theo!! Soo happy you and Suki made it there safe and you left the cold weather behind!! Can’t wait to see more pics!! 🙂 soak up some sun for me pls! It’s good to “hear” you so happy!

  15. I looked out at the grey, dull rainy sky, then saw your pics. Our sky never gets that blue colour and the plants and pool….I even liked his feet (I think). Looks like you’ve landed on yours Theo 🙂 I have no idea what your cube is, but I’m glad you’re glad it’s coming soon :-/

    • The “cube” is where I put my belongings. A truck will bring it to me in Florida, and I will unload it. Considering the distance it has to come, I consider the cost of renting it well spent.

  16. Helena Stone says:

    You sound so happy I feel I should be saying ‘welcome home’. You sure seem to have found the right place to land. I tend to take it as a sign that things are meant to be when everything falls into place the way it has for you, and it sure sounds like it might be. Can’t wait for future posts and pictures. I expect to see a lot of sunshine and happiness in those.

    • I haven’t stopped smiling all day. And I’m sunburned on my face, arms, and back. Nothing serious, just a touch of color; something I haven’t experienced in quite a while.

      • Helena Stone says:

        I completely get that. Few things get a smile on my face like sunshine does. Rumour has it we’re in for wonderful weather next week. Of course that’s also the only week this year I’ll be working full time hours. Since this is Ireland, there’s also a good chance it will be the ONLY nice week we get this year. Fingers firmly crossed that won’t be the case. Enjoy all of it. I’ll live vicariously through your posts.

  17. diannegray says:

    Love, love, love the place! I’m so happy for you! 😀

    • YAY! I’m having one hell of a great time today. The breeze is up, and I stood outside with the camera taking photos of a bird I’d never seen before. My camera is going to get a workout!

  18. Isa says:

    I thought about you traveling all week with the crazy weather and am glad to hear you made it safely. Your pictures are beautiful and you sound very happy. It has rained most of the week in MN and the skies are still grey. It’s not cold to me but you would be freezing. Enjoy the sun and send some north.

  19. Yvonne says:

    I’m so happy for you! Glad you and Suki arrived safely and that the first impressions are so positive.

  20. Jinai says:

    Beautiful pictures and I’m glad that you have found such a nice place to be and explore. The best part is that you have a friend there to share with. Glad you and Suki made it safely to your new home. Trading small waters for a larger one 🙂 I can’t wait to see pictures!

  21. Fen, everything at R’s place is so green and beautiful!! Bet you can’t wait to move into your new place, happy days indeed!! 🙂

  22. Oh, glad you arrived safe & sound, was thinking of you traveling in all that crazy weather! Such gorgeous pictures, I’m officially jealous, but very happy for you 🙂 Oh, I love this: “Perkins is down here too” – by which I assume you are referring to awesome breakfast restaurant? I’m in Ohio, LOVE that place, esp. the pancakes ;-P -though there seem to be fewer & fewer of them around these days 😦 But nice you have one close by! Have fun in the sun & settling into your warm, bright, beautiful new home 😉

    • There are about a dozen Perkins in Florida. They’ve expanded their menu considerably since I was last there. It’s a good family restaurant, and you can always be sure to find something edible. I don’t eat meat, so that’s important.

  23. Loretta says:

    I hope you are very happy in your new home.

  24. Ingrid says:

    I was very happy with your post! The happiness that you give to your readers through his books actually exists in your life. Enjoy it and be very happy in droves.

    And yes, my friends and I here in Brazil we found the nice pictures – very cute photos of the “feet”. 😉

  25. Ingrid says:

    Yes , I live here . We always have a lot of heat here , only a few states further south are cold at certain times . When it snows in any of them , which is rare , it’s news in the whole country ! 😉

    The country looks more like a continent , then neither do we here, natives know it really well .

    If you like the beach needs to go to the Northeast ( there are several littoral states ) , if you prefer a wine in the cold is better to go south – with many descendants of Germans and Pomeranians that are famous cultural festivals .

    Speaking of books , here is expensive considering the value of the minimum wage ( in the whole country have a unified minimum wage , equivalent to $ 400 ) . Imagine an ordinary book , novel, cost $ 20 and have an overall population that reads little. Why the internet is so wonderful because we can buy books in English in Brazil without even speaking your language – thanks to google translator 😉 And the American books are much cheaper than here . Thank God for creating the Kindle .

    Perhaps you can take a vacation in my country and make a story set here ?

    • Is that how you read my books? On Kindle via a translator? This is fascinating. I’m so glad you left a comment. 🙂

      • Ingrid says:

        That’s it. I read with translation on Kindle, and the stories you post on the site I translate by google. I imagine that many people do the same. Speaking for my country believe I never saw homo literature, menage sale or something different, then just shopping online and in English.

        And congratulations on the site. I found it very cool that interaction with readers!

  26. Karen H says:

    So glad you’ve arrived at your new home and it becoming everything you need it to be and that Suki seems to be settling in happily as well. I look forward to seeing more pictures from you in your new Florida surroundings. Have fun unpacking.

Leave a Reply

