Bloglovin

If you are reading my WordPress blog through/on a site called Bloglovin, knock it off!

That site doesn’t have permission to repost/publish my blog. They pretty much stole it from me, and that ain’t cool. I read that another WP blogger made her site private and still her posts were showing up over there. Definitely NOT COOL.

If you like what I post, read it here, on WordPress, not at some third-party site.

Thanks! I appreciate it.

P.S. I’ve asked them to remove my blog from their site. Please don’t patronize me over there, ‘kay?

Note to other WordPress bloggers: you might want to run over and see if you are being used in a similar fashion.

Update: They’ve removed my blog from their site. I’ll be keeping an eye on them…

 

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in internet and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Bloglovin

  1. Karen H says:

    I have you bookmarked here. Keeps life simple and no need to look elsewhere.

  2. Luanne says:

    How does one run over there and check it out?

  3. diannegray says:

    They didn’t remove mine, just marked it as private (whatever that means). There’s got to be something in this for them because there’s certainly nothing in it for us…

  4. I don’t use bloglovin, but I’m curious, why are you opposed to it? My understanding was that it was sort of like an RSS feed, just a way to keep track of updates on blogs. What’s the downside?

    • If I have a post marked private, I intend it to stay that way. However, if it shows up on Bloglovin, it’s public and everyone can read it. Also, they make you “claim” your blog, which is ridiculous. You already own it. Additionally, I’m wondering what’s in it for them, because obviously, something is or why run a site like that? They get their own followers thanks to what I write, and I’m betting there’s money in it somewhere.

      So no, I don’t want people reading my site there. They can RSS it from WordPress, from ME. And that’s where I want to be followed. I don’t want people making money off me without my knowledge.

      • That makes sense and those are valid points. It’s more or less what I figured, although I didn’t know about the private/public post issue. Thanks for the explanation, I was curious!

  5. A.M.B. says:

    I’ve always read your blog on WP, but I do use Bloglovin & Feedly as my replacements for Googlereader. I’d never be able to read as many blogs as I do (particularly the non-WP ones) if it weren’t for these types of readers. I’ve never had a problem with it because they don’t post the entire feed or full posts. For me, it’s another way to reach potential readers. So, I don’t have a problem with it, but, for those who do, I think Bloglovin should make it easier for bloggers to prevent readers from accessing their blogs through them.

    • I’m probably making too big a deal about it, but having to claim my own blog bothers me. And it really is easy to read it at WP; they offer an RSS feed, too.

      I hadn’t thought of people using it as a Google reader substitute.

Leave a Reply

