Goodbye, MN!

I’m down to the final few days before leaving for my new home in Florida. Everything is packed except for the stuff I need until I depart.

It rained yesterday. It rained today. It’s supposed to rain tomorrow, and except for Saturday, for the next several days. This should have happened a few weeks ago. Instead, it’s going on now, delaying warm weather yet again. There’s still snow in the forecast, but I won’t be here if it falls.

Wolf Bound was put aside as I prepared for this move; it will have to wait until after I reach Florida. I’ve also been training in my boss and his wife to take over the books and apartment leasing. It all takes time I don’t have right now. My insomnia is as bad as ever; I wake up three-four hours after falling asleep, get up for about the same amount of time, then return to bed for another couple hours. I’m tired a lot.Β 

It’s said the biggest stresses in people’s lives are marriage/divorce, getting a new job, death, and moving. I’m hoping once I reach my destination, I can settle into regular sleep again. Not having the business phone will help; I handed it over yesterday, and my cellΒ rang only twice. So nice! And no one banging on my door for one reason or another.

I will miss MN and WI. I love the woods and trees and water everywhere, and the bluffs along the river. I will miss the space; there’s a lot of it, especially in Wisconsin. AndΒ the culture; though people hid inside half the year due to horrendously cold weather, they are warm and friendly and more liberal than not. I still remember the day marriage equality passed and the rainbow flags went up on the bridge over the Mississippi River. I was proud of my state that day, that week. I still am.

So why move to Florida? They don’t recognize marriage equality. They didn’t expand medicare under the ACA for the poor. They have that stupid “stand your ground” law that lets people get away with murder. Politically, it’s as far from MN as you can get. But I have friends there, and the weather is fine, and I’ve decided to fight for better conditions from the inside. I’ll do everything I can to help bring that state into the 21st century.

I depart Monday morning from my aunt and uncle’s place in Wisconsin. They are throwing a farewell dinner for me Sunday night after the cube is packed and locked. Suki and I will then retire for the night, and after breakfast in the morning, set off on our journey. I kind of wish Gandalf, Pippin, and Merry were coming along, too, but I’ll have to make due. πŸ™‚

My heart is filled with sadness… and with joy. Because I’m about to start a new phase of my life, and I can’t wait.

I took this pic of the St Paul skyline a couple weeks ago. Nothing much has changed since then. It’s still cold, the leaves haven’t budded, and I don’t recall seeing flowers anywhere yet, though the tulips are trying valiantly to bloom in the nearby park.

St Paul skyline 4.14 sm

You’ll notice a new building on the right; it’s blue and white and is an apartment complex overlooking the river, Harriet Island, and Raspberry Island. No doubt the rents are high.

This is my last post for a while. I won’t have time to write for the next ten days or so, and wi-fi will be intermittent at best. I’ll say hello when I have a chance, but don’t look for me until after I reach Florida.

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography, RL and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

43 Responses to Goodbye, MN!

  1. W. Lotus says:

    May your move go without a hitch.

    May the sun on your face make up for the sadness of what you leave behind.

    May the warmth in the air make up for the coldness of the lack of social justice.

    May positive change come more quickly than you ever imagined.

    xoxoxoxoxo

  2. Brandilyn says:

    Good luck with your move and your new home. It is always scary to leave what you know, but you have friends in FL who will help you ease the transition.

  3. nordicgirl_2013 says:

    Enjoy the last days in “the North”, then drive safely to your new life in Florida. Hopefully once you’ve gotten away from the cold and misery you’ll start sleeping well again. *sending a big hug*

  4. Lindsaysf says:

    Travel well!

  5. Ginny Farnsworth says:

    Safe journey

  6. Allison says:

    I hope that the weather decides to be good to you as a sweet kiss goodbye rather than the slap it’s currently providing. I hope that the rest of the packing goes smoothly. I hope that your goodbye dinner is full of happiness and best wishes. I hope that your drive is safe, smooth, and uneventful and that it seems quicker than it really is.

    Finally, I wish you all the happiness possible in your new home. Where you will sleep well, create with abandon, and be part of the change that needs to happen. All while basking in the sunshine and enjoying the water. πŸ˜€

    • That’s lovely. πŸ™‚ Thanks.

      The weather continues to fuck with me. Couple of days ago, the forecast called for sunny through Sunday. Now it says there’s a 50% chance of rain on Sunday. 😦 This will make it difficult and possibly messy to load the cube. I’m annoyed. It seems MN is gonna screw with me until I leave. In fact, rain is predicted as far as the forecast goes; I hope to break into sunshine not too long after starting south.

  7. Jaycee Edward says:

    Wow. That will be a long ten days for us! LOL! You may not have Gandalf, Pippin and Merry, but you have all of us traveling with you and Suki in spirit. Safe travels sweetie.

  8. kmac64 says:

    The time has come at last. I hope you have a safe journey and enjoy everything you and Suki will see along the way. They say, “the pastures are always greener on the other side”, and I feel certain Florida will be rolling in greenery. Although, that saying is usually implying cheating between lovers, I think it is appropriate in this context as well, lol. I hope you have impeccable weather for your journey as you drive towards the sunshine state. Kiss Jack Frost goodbye and flip him the bird as you leave him behind, hopefully, never crossing his path again. Nothing but best wishes and good fortune to you and for you. Happy trails πŸ˜‰

    • … which reminds me of when I owned horses. Now wouldn’t that have been an adventure? Traveling to Florida on horseback? Those early explorers were braver than we are, I suspect. πŸ™‚

      • Jaycee Edward says:

        Oh God…instantly makes me think of the Oregon Trail thread from yesterday. No. You don’t want to do it by horseback or covered wagon because… Dysentery. To quote Brigham, it’s not a sexy way to die.

  9. Safe travels to you! Watch where you’re going not where you’ve been. This is a wonderful adventure for you. Enjoy it πŸ™‚

  10. Sarah_Madison says:

    Good luck and be safe! And of course, we all want to see pictures of your new life/place once you get settled! πŸ™‚

  11. Patricia says:

    Florida: drop into any artists’ village or any Wal-Mart, you will be knee deep in liberals and good people. Some of us “conservatives” ain’t half bad either. Loving, open people who aren’t bigots, abound. Welcome to Florida!!

    • Glad to hear it! And thanks. πŸ™‚

      I know from previous experience Florida is full of very nice, progressive people. After all, most of ’em come from up north. πŸ˜‰

  12. Very best of luck Fen on your trip, and hope Florida is warm and welcoming to you. πŸ™‚

  13. Lol, I’m so glad the dysentary conversation carried over here too. πŸ˜› There is no sexy way to die, but there’s a scale and dysentary is probably pretty far toward awful.

    Safe travels and I hope it’s a smooth journey for you with plenty of sunshine when you make it to Florida!

  14. Carole says:

    It sounds like you will have a nice send off with loved ones around. It will be a long 10 days on this end & you will be missed! I like what Jaycee said…even though it’s only 2 of you in the car, you have others with you in spirit.
    Be safe & I will see ya on the flip side.

    • I’ll pop in if wi-fi lets me. But there won’t be any posts here until I’m settled.

      I could write and schedule ahead of time, but honestly? I’m too frazzled right now to think about it. So much to do, so little time. πŸ™‚

  15. Helena Stone says:

    Good luck with the move and safe travels. Try to enjoy the journey as well as arriving at your destination.

  16. suze294 says:

    Enjoy your last few days in the frozen, but oft beautiful north Fen.
    And roll on Florida! Driving down, you’ll be able to see and feel the warmth slowly seeping into your bones!
    See (or rather, hear from) you in 10!
    Safe travels to you and Suki

  17. diannegray says:

    Best of luck, Theo! I love this – “I’ll do everything I can to help bring that state into the 21st century”.
    I bet you will πŸ˜€

  18. Posy says:

    I hope all goes well on your move and beyond, Theo. I’m sorry we didn’t get to meet IRL first, but it was great bitching with you about this stupid winter. It helped me get through some of those days knowing I wasn’t alone in being pissed. πŸ˜€

    • I think everyone up here was pissed. And depressed. And wishing they were in the Bahamas. Next winter, I thoroughly plan to enjoy the warmth in FLorida. If I discover a way to send you some, consider yourself on the list.

  19. ameliabishop says:

    I will be expecting a post of your hand holding a tropical drink, with a sunny beach in the background. (omg please make that your next post!!)
    Wishing you a safe and uneventful journey to paradise πŸ™‚

  20. Jinai says:

    I will miss your cool pictures of the place that I grew up but I hope you find the sunshine state inspiring. The road goes ever on an on…. I hope you have safe and fun travels. Looking forward to your next post in your new home. πŸ™‚

  21. Karen H says:

    I came back from my own pre-move house hunting adventures to see this post and it made me smile for you. I know from your post here how much you have been looking forward to this move. I hope all goes well and Florida holds nothing but the best for you and Suki.

Leave a Reply

