In Process

The packing is about half finished. Boxes line three walls. My friends who are better at math than I am assured me it will all fit in the cube.

We’ll see.

I admit I still have my doubts, and Wednesday, I’ll be driving the scooter and several boxes of books to R’s place up north. He’s offered to bring my stuff down when he comes up for a visit in June.

Pretty much everything I need to do otherwise is complete.

My property manager job is starting to wind down as the owners take over my duties. Sunday, the first day we’re supposed to hit the 70s this year, I will be teaching them how to do stuff. Yes, again. It’s more complicated than they realize, and I expect to receive many frantic calls from them over the next several weeks. 

Last night, temps dropped below freezing again in St Paul. I think we got down to around 28 or maybe 26. This morning, it was 31. We’re supposed to climb into the 50s this afternoon. That is still below normal. 😦

I can’t begin to tell you how tired I am of being cold. The ancient heating system in my building can’t deal with fluctuating temps despite a new boiler, so I’m huddled under blankets most of the time, trying to keep warm.

Such will not be the case when I reach Florida! 🙂 I keep telling Suki, who is also cold, that soon she will be toasty warm all the time. One of the first places I intend to visit is Key West. The main form of transportation there is moped, and Suki already knows how to ride one. 🙂

Key West

Then we will stop for a meal at the Schooner Wharf Restaurant, which allows dogs at your table. At the bar, too. Heh.

postcard

I ate there last time I was visiting. Living in Key West might be problematic because of its size and the tourists, but spending a couple days there is wonderful. So much fun!

 

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in RL and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to In Process

  1. Jaycee Edward says:

    I’m happy for you. 🙂
    I may feel differently next winter when I’m freezing and you are posting “blue and green” pictures, but for now, I’m happy for you. ;O)

  2. Allison says:

    I would love to be sitting at that table in the water, that looks amazing!

    Good luck with the rest of the move. I’m looking forward to your shots of Key West and the joy you will be experiencing because you are finally there.

    • Me too! As I type this, I am thinking about pulling on a light jacket because it’s chilly next to the window where I’m sitting. The sun is out, but it still feels like February or March. 😦

      Gotta say, MN is making it easy for me to say goodbye!

  3. kmac64 says:

    I am smiling ear to ear as I vision the things you have planned. I could not be more excited for you than, if you were one of my friends, standing here in front of me, telling me about your dream. Only 10 days, Wooohooo!!!!

    • Woohoo indeed. 🙂 When I’m not stressing about shit, I’m definitely excited. R and I speak nearly every day. He has already moved a few pieces of furniture he is giving me to the condo. I’m coming down with bare essentials, giving everything else away. I appreciate his generosity.

      • Jaycee Edward says:

        R sounds like a great friend. Glad you have someone to help you. It definitely seems like he’s making this an almost seamless process for you!

        • It would be a lot rougher and more uncertain without his help, that’s for sure. Funny thing is, I introduced him and his family to Florida years ago when I lived there. And they have all since settled there in one place or another. 🙂 So they sort of owe me, though I’d never tell them that. Heh.

  4. Tina Marie says:

    I am so happy for you! It’s going to be a great new chapter in your life.

  5. I adore Key West and that place looks lovely. Hope the move goes smoothly and that you’ll be sipping a drink there in no time!

    • To make sure I have a drink when I get there, I’m packing a box of wine! Until then, however, I am doing without liquor. There is too much to do in too short a period of time to get all lazy and buzzed in the evening. That will have to wait until I get to R’s house.

      I see myself sitting poolside in his bird cage with a glass of wine, firepit burning, Suki staring at the pool, wondering if she should stick a paw in. She fell in a pool last time we were in FL. I wonder if she’ll remember?

  6. Isa says:

    I’m so happy for you! You’ve been wanting this for awhile. I can’t wait to see all the new photos you will be taking of your new home. I did find it interesting today to see all the snow at my place but none at my job and that is about 10 miles away and the grass is pretty green. I may also be moving next year as I have family moving to San Diego and they want me to come with them. So far the pros and cons are pretty balanced but I have a year to make a decision. I shudder at the thought of packing as I have been in the same place for to long.

    Isa

  7. suze294 says:

    I think you said you were driving down – pictures would be interesting to see, how it gets warmer and warmer! It’ll all fit, just takes a lot of squishing!

  8. Carole says:

    You got big balls Fen! Takes a lot of courage to pick up & start new. Many people take the easy road & never follow their dreams. So so happy for you! I hope you & Suki have a very safe & beautiful drive down. 😘

    • It is hard to start over in a new spot, but it’s also an opportunity. I’m going to miss a lot about St Paul and MN/WI. This is a beautiful area, even in winter, but it’s too damned cold and winter lasts far too long. I feel healthiest when I can go outside every day and get some sun. Not to tan, just to enjoy. So Florida is a good spot for me. I like to walk, I like to ride the scooter, I like it hot.

      Florida isn’t perfect–I’ll miss the bluffs and lakes and rivers up north–but it’s close. 🙂

  9. diannegray says:

    It doesn’t take long to get used to the warm weather, Theo (and it’s so much better for you!) Last night I was ‘cold’ and had to put on a wrap. I checked the temp and it was 23C (or 73F) – oh dear, I certain have acclimatized! 😉

  10. Patricia says:

    Spent a lot of time resisting a visit to Key West, and I live in Florida. Then went last year and found even in the rain, there’s something special about it. We will return.

  11. bevsutherland says:

    Can’t wait to visit Key West when we go to Florida next year!! Hubby has already been and says how laid back and quirky everything is…it should suit me I’ve been told 🙂 Hope the move goes well Fen and Suki loves living in the warm…like her owner!!

    • I’m getting a preview today in MN; it’s very humid and warm today, though not as hot as it’s gonna be down south. After a very long, very dry winter, it’s almost shocking to feel air this moist. I’m going to have to adapt FAST.

Leave a Reply

