Cover Reveal

The wolf book has a name. And as of last night, it has a cover.

Don’t get too excited yet. The story isn’t finished. I know how it ends, I only have to find time to write it.

Here’s what’s going on right now:

1. My boss needs me to instruct him in how to deal with his realty business. That’s a reasonable request, and so I spend some time each day showing him things.
2. The publisher gave me a long edit.
3. I have a freelance edit coming in any day now.
4. I am readying for my move to Florida.

As you can see, I’m a little overwhelmed and yes, there is some stress. Overall, it’s a good stress, but there are moments when I want to hide under the covers. I definitely wish I could take a day or two off. 

The good news? The story will be completed, though perhaps not as quickly as y’all would like. After all, “spring” in Minnesota often doesn’t happen until May. 😉

The bad news? Its completion may be delayed until after I move. Depends on how things work out the last couple weeks in April.

But here’s the cover. It may or may not change before publication, but it’s damn close to done.

 

Wolf Bound Cover

 

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in publishing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to Cover Reveal

  1. Brandilyn says:

    Nice cover. Striking, as always.

    As for the schedule, we may tease, but you know your health and welfare come first. Don’t stress yourself too much. You have a lot going on for the next few weeks.

    • I do, and if I wasn’t moving cross-country, I’d have finished this on time. But life has a funny way of throwing you an occasional curve ball. I will get it finished, though. I am determined. 🙂

  2. Allison says:

    Great name and I love the cover. There are a lot of eye catching elements. Did you do this yourself?

    Good luck with getting everything done, I hope you will have a little time to relax once you are in Florida. 🙂 We will gladly wait for however long the book takes even if we are all ready to read it now. 😉

    • I really want to finish this one so I can start the next one. Heh.

      Yeah, did it myself. Found the illustration and knew I wanted to do something with the eyes, make them stand out. This was a lot of fun to work on.

      • Allison says:

        They really do stand out, I keep looking back at them and then my eyes roam down to the teeth and then back up to the title and the statement. Outstanding as always! I’m glad it was enjoyable.

      • Allison says:

        I certainly wouldn’t complain if you could manage that! 😉

  3. Lindsaysf says:

    Glorious! I find that if I need a day or two off, it’s more efficient if I take it. Otherwise I make errors or even get sick – which costs me even more time. Yuck.

  4. Stunning cover! It’s amazing, truly! Can’t wait to read it.

  5. Jaycee Edward says:

    Gorgeous!! I love it! Can’t wait to read it! But I will… Wait, that is.

    • Heh. You sort of have to. But thanks, I know what you meant. 🙂

      • Jaycee Edward says:

        I don’t remember which of you wrote the rant – whether it was you or AJ, but it was totally eye-opening for me as a “fan”. I never once thought, before that, about what an effect the uber-excited posts of “I can’t wait!!! Hurrrrry!”, etc. have on the author. I think we all forget there are real people with real lives behind the words. Like I said then, in the end, if we have to wait, we will, and the wait will make it just that much better when we finally get our hands on it.

  6. Patricia says:

    Gorgeous cover and enticing title. I will add this to my “I want to read” list.

  7. Karen H. says:

    I love the cover and will look forward to it’s release. But you just need to deal with things in the order they need to be dealt with and take care of yourself. Things have a way of happening in the order you need them too. Good luck with that move and everything else.

  8. bevsutherland says:

    Never mind about the book Fen, get yourself and Suki down to that warm weather and chill. ;). Your readers will still be here, we’re not going anywhere. Best of luck. 🙂

  9. Yvonne says:

    Strong,short title and I like the cover. Try not to stress too much about finishing the book,it’s the one thing on your list that can wait even if you don’t like it. Suddenly your move-to-Florida-countdown has changed from months to days so it’s no wonder you’re a little overwhelmed and won’t be able to stick to the schedule you had in your head.

  10. kmac64 says:

    WOW!! What an eye-catching cover. I wish I had just an inkling of your talent, in this area. I would read it just from just the cover alone – even if I didn’t already know what an outstanding author you are. I can hardly wait to see what direction you take this. I don’t mind the wait, just knowing you have something coming is all I need. Don’t forget to keep adding and checking off your list, it always helps me to feel less overwhelmed and actually see each day, by marking off, that I have accomplished something, and things are getting completed. Each day will come and go, no matter what we do, just remember that warm sandy beaches await you and all of this “busy stuff” is just means to an end. I am so looking forward, as I know you are as well, to the day you land in Florida. I think we should have a HUGE cyber party!!!!

  11. Helle says:

    It’s an awesome cover!

  12. Helena Stone says:

    Love, love, love the cover, but then I do have a thing about wolves and this is a particularly gorgeous one. Looking forward to reading the story that goes with it but don’t actually mind the wait too much. It does give the imagination a wonderful opportunity to run riot.

    On a more serious note. Don’t forget to look after yourself while you’re running around trying to get your life organized and yourself moved to Florida. The last thing you wan to do is arrive there and find yourself collapsing because you’re exhausted.

  13. suze294 says:

    Great cover!
    The good thing about those stressors is that they get you closer to Florida – where you can collapse, exhausted……in the sun!!!

  14. Carole says:

    So sorry I’m just getting to this, been gone for a day or 2. This really is pretty great! Love the yellow in the eyes! Very excited to know what it’s about. We don’t know yet, right? I didn’t miss something? I just know it as the wolf story.
    Don’t stress, like someone already mentioned we’ll be here & have tons of patience.
    I’m also excited about those cross country photos that I’m sure will be taken, hopefully…what a trip that’s going to be.
    Anyway, take care, good night, sleep well. 😘

  15. diannegray says:

    This is a great cover, Theo. I always struggle with my covers – very envious (in a good way) 😉

    • Oh, I struggle too. But occasionally, everything comes together easily, like this one did. The cover for the Precog collection was another happy experience, as I’d taken a photo of a houseboat just a few months before. It’s a good thing I don’t write a book a month, or I’d be in trouble! 🙂

  16. valjo44 says:

    Excellent cover, especially the eyes!

Leave a Reply

