Suki Visits the Vet

Yesterday, I was up at 6:30 a.m., an hour I rarely see and with good reason. I’m more a night owl, and getting up at that time puts me off, mentally and physically, all day. But I had to take Suki to the vet for a shot and teeth cleaning. She hates anyone messing with her mouth (I feel the same way about the dentist), so they put her out for it.

This vet, who is very affordable and came highly recommended, is in Star Prairie, Wisconsin. That is one hell of a drive from St Paul. We left at eight. The day was overcast and gloomy.

In an attempt to kill two birds with one stone, I made a doctor’s appointment for me in River Falls, Wisconsin, half an hour’s drive away. The appointments were an hour apart. The vet would call when Suki was ready to go home.

I arrived twenty minutes early. The doctor was running late, so I ended up sitting there until nearly 10:30. Good thing I had my Kindle. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Just as I was leaving, the vet called. Suki was coming out of anesthesia and would be ready to go at one. The timing was perfect. That gave me a chanceย to grab lunch somewhere before visiting a stream in Star Prairie (the vet is located on a farm two miles outside that small town).

Every lake I’d seen was still frozen over, but I knew the river would be open. It had been raining off an on, but when I got there around noon,ย itย had become a mist. Not a great time of year to take pics, but I’ll be gone in a month and I wanted to get a few last photos.

River Island Park 3.31.14 sm

 

River Island Park 2 3.31.14 sm

Rvier Island Park 1 3.31.14 sm

I got lucky. The clouds broke up a little while I was there, and that hint of blue was reflected in the water.

After I picked up Suki, it started raining again. She slept all the way home. In fact, she slept the rest of the day, through the night, and this morning, she is still groggy. She’s had her teeth cleaned under anesthetic twice beforeย but never reacted this strongly. I’m not worried about her–I took her out twice to pee yesterday–but she hasn’t eaten or drunk anything yet. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

We are staying home today so she can fully recover. The weather continues to be crappy anyway, so that won’t be a hardship.

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in RL and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Suki Visits the Vet

  1. Brandilyn says:

    Gorgeous shots as always. The middle one is my favorite. Mesmerizing.

    I wouldn’t worry too much about Suki until 24 hours out from the treatment. You can always call the vet up, though, if you are worried.

  2. Poor Suki. Hope she recovers quickly. Love the river pics. Rivers in the spring are always so beautiful.

  3. Give her an ear rub from me.

  4. Allison says:

    The hint of blue in the water is wonderful, it makes me think Spring is on the way.

    Poor Suki. I hope she’s feeling better soon and that she drinks something. I’m glad you were able to get her taken care of before you left. We had an amazing vet in Atlanta and we haven’t found one as good since. I hope you find someone you like as much in Florida. Hugs and cuddles to the little one.

  5. Jaycee Edward says:

    You’re such a good doggie daddy!

  6. Patricia says:

    That winter scene looks so much like my old home in Maryland. Sigh. Miss the colors. Our raggedy dog just returned from the groomer, her spikey terrier ruff trimmed so she doesn’t look like a wild dingo any more. The Dalmation/Terrier mix makes for an odd looking mutt.

  7. suze294 says:

    Winter air always seems to give crisp pictures.
    Hope Suki drinking now – i actually prefer the dentists to doctors, less embarrasing topics available!!

  8. valjo44 says:

    I want your vet. All that for $182?! I have to take my oldest cat in for teeth cleaning and the quote was between $1,120-1300 depending on if they have to pull teeth. :/ ( then his brother goes in). Seriously time to leave California!!!!

    Love the way the water looks.

    • St Paul vets are outrageous too. This guy has an office and boarding facility on his farm. He’s also a large animal vet, seeing small animals in the morning or late afternoon. I love him. I’m gonna miss him. Not great with people, he excels with animals, which is what I want in a vet.

  9. Lindsaysf says:

    Water!! Gorgeous water!

    • Still dry in Santa Fe, eh? One thing MN and WI have is lots and lots of fresh water. That will become a premium in the years to come. Too bad I can’t stand the winters.

  10. Carole says:

    So beautiful! That water looks COLD though! Weird that you can be in the city & then be there within a few hours. Nice! I’ve never lived anywhere that I could go from one to the other. I take that back, lived in Atlanta for awhile but not the same.
    I was told that the real danger for small dogs is getting infections from poor hygiene. Cleanings are huge! So glad Suki is feeling better. My dogs sleep forever if they have to be knocked out. They also do it if they go to the groomer. Anything out of their routine causes them to need sleep.
    A good vet is such a great thing to have. I have a great one that is so reasonable. Helps because it can get pricey!!! Thank you for including the pictures!

    • The water is definitely freezing. There is still snow on the banks. I am less than one hour from country. Florida will be different, and I know it. Not much “country” left there. Too many people in the state and more coming all the time. Water will be a problem there one day. In the meantime, I plan to enjoy the heat and sun and beaches an hour away. Every place people live has something good to offer. ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. Carole says:

    The best thing here is the horizon. I love the sunsets. Never get tired of them. Use to think if I looked hard enough I could see Mexico. I’ve decided it’s not possible.

    • If you’re in Key West, you wonder if you can see Cuba. ๐Ÿ˜‰

      The sunsets are pretty damn good. I know I will miss hills and bluffs and mountains, but other things will make up for it.

  12. Judy says:

    Damn, american vets are expensive … I payed 380$ for two [big] dogs this year (and my vet is one of the more expensive ones around here) – that included anaesthesia x2, teeth cleaned x2, five lipoma removed on one and three warts cut out on the other, antibiotics for both, regular medicine for one and removing the sutures after ten days x2. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I suddenly appreciate my vet a whole lot more …

  13. Not long now Fen, and then these beautiful pics will become a thing of the past. We’ll have beaches, palm trees and men in speedo’s (hopefully ;)) ๐Ÿ™‚

  14. diannegray says:

    These are beautiful pics, Theo ๐Ÿ˜€

    I read in your comments that Suki is feeling a bit better now – great news ๐Ÿ˜‰

  15. Karen H. says:

    As always your pictures are gorgeous I really love the hint of blue from the water. Just the whole melting snow, water running it’s like a subtle promise that winters finally over. I’m so glad Suki is doing better.

    • Well, not quite over. Forecast is for 8-10″ of snow in the next 36 hours or so. It’s not going to be pretty. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

      Suki is pretty much back to normal today though, for which I’m glad.

Leave a Reply

