The Move is ON!

Yesterday afternoon, my new landlords emailed me the lease and a form from the condo association, I filled in and signed both, scanned, and emailed back. This will be followed up by a check, which I’m sending today via the post office.

So it’s official! U-Pack has been contacted, and I’m awaiting confirmation. What doesn’t fit in one 6’x7’x8′ cube, doesn’t go to Florida. It’s called “moving on a budget” and I’ve become an expert at it. I only have three big items since AJ left: bed, couch, rocker. Everything else can be disposed of without concern or will fit in boxes.

The electronics, of course, go in the car with me, along with Miss Suki and a couple carry bags of clothes and personal stuff. Because of the timing around cube pickup and delivery, I will probably spend a couple nights at R’s house. As he’s only ten minutes from my new location, this is not a problem. Wouldn’t be one anyway. R is helping me every step of the way.

Hm, might this lead to renewed romance between us? We had a brief but torrid fling some years ago and liked each other enough to not only stay in touch after going our separate ways, but we’ve since become very good friends.

Okay, not going there right now. It’s enough to know I have one good friend in Florida. I know others there and hope to reconnect after I get settled.

My insomnia has been horrible the last few nights, mind racing like mad as I consider possibilities, arrangements, and details. I finally started making a list so I can check shit off as I do it. Cross-country moves are far more complicated than moving a few miles.

Spring in MN:

Downsville Creamery Backyard 2.112.05

 

Spring in Florida:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Need I say more?

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in RL and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

43 Responses to The Move is ON!

  1. Good luck with your move 🙂

  2. So happy this is all working out for you! Best of luck!

  3. Allison says:

    The lists will help and it feels SO good to mark things off as you get them done. But then I’m a list maker in general. 😀

    Once, again, so very happy for you! As much stress as this is causing you now I can’t wait to read all the happy once you’re down there and settled.

  4. Jaycee Edward says:

    It’s so nice to see you happy.

  5. Judy says:

    I’m just happy for you, and I’ll keep my fingers crossed that all will go smoothly 😉

  6. Helle says:

    Good luck 🙂

    Basically all you need is your creditcard, your medicin and your passport – and of course Suki. The rest is just nice-to-have 😉

    • No passport required. I’m moving to another state, not another country. Heh.

      • Helle says:

        That’s what we usually say here 🙂 But then, it’s as good as impossible to drive more than 4 hours without crossing a border in my part of the world – and I’m in the furthest part of the country..

        We alway remind each other to reember the the 3 Ps.. Penge (money), Pas (passport) and P-piller ( ehh contraception). I loosely translated the latter to “medicine” 😉

  7. Patricia says:

    Actually dreamed last night our un-heated pool was ready to swim in, but we’ll have to wait till MAY. = sniffs = There are lots of pools, beaches if you’re on either coast…have fun and be inspired.

  8. Helena Stone says:

    Good luck with the move. It’s a stressful adventure but judging by those pictures, well worth it. Mind you, if cross country moving is difficult, try moving countries three days after having been released from hospital (after a three weeks stay). My mother in law packed up the old house so EVERYTHING came along. And I really was too weak to do much of anything. I was lucky my MIL was flying with me and my (then 3 years old) daughter or I wouldn’t have made it. The husband drove the car from Amsterdam, through England, to Ireland. It was an adventure and one I hope to never repeat.

  9. Karen H. says:

    Very excited and happy for you. Moving sucks this I know first hand I have moved 8 times over the past 27 years and am about to face another move. Ironically halfway across the country. This doesn’t include any moves I made in the 27 year prior to getting married and yes there were a few. The one thing I know is that if you are moving to someplace that you really, really want to be. The move is better. I hope yours is easy and without complication. (They do happen I’ve had a couple of them so I know this firsthand. I’ve also gone through the moves from hell once or twice. Survived them all).

    • Well, I’ve been looking forward to this for a very long time, so hopefully, annoyances will roll off my back. It feels good though. Like it’ll happen just as I need it to. *fingers crossed*

  10. Good luck with moving AND should romance bloom for you? Good luck with that as well 🙂

  11. Yvonne says:

    Congrats! I can imagine how happy you are. I flew 600-700 miles south from my cold north this weekend and even though that didn’t get me anywhere near Florida temps, it still made a huge difference. And after spending more than twenty years hating our winters I know you’re doing the right thing to get away from your too severe MN ones. Like you say no place is perfect but when the climate gets you down, move if you have the chance to do so.

    • People often say you have to ignore the weather because there’s nothing one can do about it. Weather affects everything you do, every single day, and extreme winters make everything much more difficult. Something as simple as going to the post office becomes a major trek when the roads are icy or it’s snowing heavily.

      The one thing about Florida weather I noticed last time I lived there was downpours. I was on the freeway once and drove right into one. Trucks didn’t seem to care. They kept going, but I couldn’t see thanks to the sprays of water they added to the thick rain. However, if you can keep going, you drive right back out into sunshine. That was so cool! In MN, if it rains, the skies normally stay gray for days, sometimes weeks. Oy.

      • Yvonne says:

        Downpours on the motorway are so scary.
        Unfortunately I’m not one of those who can ignore the weather, grey skies almost year round where I live with some sunny days in between but not nearly enough. I’ll never get used to it. There’s a saying here in Norway: “There is no such thing as bad weather, only inappropriate clothing”. Needless to say I don’t agree with that one (no offence meant Nordic Girl).

      • Yvonne says:

        I know,this morning at 8 am I was sitting in my mum’s kitchen and the day was already bright and sunny. Just wonderful. And you have many bright and sunny mornings to look forward to:-)

  12. diannegray says:

    Brilliant, Theo – best of luck (with the move and maybe some romance along the way) 😉

  13. nordicgirl_2013 says:

    A good thing can’t be repeated too often, so CONGRATULATIONS on your upcoming move! As a fellow Winter “hater” I’m a little envious, but so very happy for you!

    Check-lists are good, and although they won’t remove the stress of moving I find that they do reduce the stress-levels some, and putting a big bright sun on your calendar marking your moving day will help you remember that the temporary stress now will have a wonderful result whenever you feel down between now and D-day! *hugs*

    Hanne 🙂

  14. suze294 says:

    Yay! Big countdown calendar required so those big red X’s move quickly to the sun!

  15. bevsutherland says:

    🙂 Happy Dancing for you Fen 🙂

  16. kmac64 says:

    I know how excited I am this is finally happening for you, I can’t even imagine the level you must be on. Way above cloud 9, i’m sure. 🙂 I haven’t really given this much thought, until now, reading everyone’s post before me, I have lived in the same state, same county, for my entire life. That’s kinda crazy. :-/ I It’s home though, and I’m okay with that. Take pictures, if you can, and I’ll see new things, through your eyes, that you capture. This is going to be an incredible journey for you and Suki. I can’t wait to hear the stories you will have on this 25hr road trip. 🙂 Make sure you add to your list, Have your car checked over really good for the long trip. You will do great, as you said, you’ve done it before, but it never hurts to double check everything.

    • Got new tires, new battery, oil change, and new belt last time I was in, so the car’s ready to go. Of course I’ll take pics! 🙂 I can’t imagine not doing that. Hard to do while driving, but once I get there, the camera will become my third arm. So to speak.

  17. A.M.B. says:

    Good luck! I love the two “spring” shots. Right now, spring in Philly looks a lot like spring in Minnesota.

    • As I type this, the all-day rain is turning into snow. Gonna make the evening commute sucky for people. (So glad I don’t do that anymore!)

      Last time I lived in Florida, my friend R, who still lived in MN then, said to me, “You will get bored waking up to sunny and warm everyday.”

      I told him he was wrong. I’d never get bored with that. In fact, I was looking forward to taking it for granted.

      Several years later, he moved to Florida. He comes up to MN a couple times a year and never during winter. He can’t stand it anymore. LOL

Leave a Reply

