Moving Soon?

If you follow me on Facebook, you know I’m in the midst of negotiating a rental in Florida. It offers nearly everything I am looking for: two bedrooms, quiet, on the water. Everyone in Florida lives on water, or so it seems.

FloridaMy friend, R, sent me a picture of a “for sale” sign he saw and I called the owner, who seemed amenable to me and Suki. It seems he has four properties in the area, and he does not want to sell this unit because he’d lose money in this market. It’s a long-term rental, which is exactly what I’m looking for. Packing and moving is such a pain in the butt. I’ve done it three times in the last three years, and this will be #4. Ugh.

The owner says there are lots of birds in the area; his wife encouraged their presence. It’s a condo, so there is only so much one can do given their bylaws, but there is a lanai (look it up) overlooking the canal and a private courtyard (where I can do container gardening, etc.). And because it is a condo, they do all the maintenance. I sit, write, edit, drink, and enjoy the views. ๐Ÿ™‚

Is it perfect? No, but few places are, and Florida also has a rep for being one of the crazy states. There’s no equality there, which makes me sad. Their politicians are mostly GOP fruitcakes except for Grayson. On the plus side, there is no state income tax. ๐Ÿ™‚

Prices in Florida are still depressed thanks to the 2008 housing bubbleย crash. It hasn’t recovered yet, and that is to my benefit. There are lots of low-priced properties available.ย And renting this, if I’m lucky, will give me a breathing space to look around, study the area, and decide where I want to buy if/when I’m ready.

As I type this, I’m very excited about living there, but I’m also a realist and know there’s a chance I may not get the place. Perhaps someone will come along who sounds more attractive as a tenant. I’m looking long distance from MN, which may put off some owners. I can only do my best, be who I am, and keep my fingers crossed.

On the other hand, he may send photos that dissuade me from wanting it. He may make demands I’m unwilling to fulfill. This is part of the game, and while it sometimes makes me crazy, it’s also part of the fun.

One way or another, Iย will be in Florida come September or October, latest. No way will I go through another shit winter. This last one nearly killed me. ย Not literally, but you know what I mean. ๐Ÿ™‚

As I type this, another “polar vortex” is about to descend on the region. Temps are expected to be 20-30 degrees below normal. It may be worse in areas east of me. They have my deepest sympathy.

I’m doing the best I can to get the hell out of here. Minnesota is a beautiful state, and I’ve learned to love St Paul. There is equality here, it’s traditionally Democrat, and wages and jobs are good, but their long cold winters are a huge detraction. Like bears, people hibernate for half the year. You know how much I love being outdoors. That’s just too high a price to pay for all the rest.

Can I afford this? Yeah… barely. But I’ll make it work, because when you’re following a dream and working toward a goal, you will do anything to make it happen. “Leap and the net will appear.” <–That has been my mantra for many years, and it has never let me down.

_________

Thursday, 3/19, was wonderful. Sunny and warm, with a breeze from the south for a change. Even though there was plenty of snow on the ground, I went out without a jacket. Suki and I took a walk after lunch. The birds were chirping, the squirrels were playing. I took photos and got these shots.

Spring squirrel 3.20.14 sm

Mourning Dove 3.20.14 smIn case you don’t recognize the bird, that’s a mourning dove, I believe.

This weekend, temps plummet once again, sending us back below freezing. I amย not looking forward to it.

Iย am looking forward to my move to Florida. ๐Ÿ™‚

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography, RL and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

40 Responses to Moving Soon?

  1. I hope this one works out. I have my fingers crossed for you, of course. If it doesn’t work out, however, another will come along.

    I love the squirrel shot.

  2. Good luck! I hope it all goes smoothly for you. Love the photo of the squirrel!

  3. nordicgirl_2013 says:

    Looks and sounds fabulous. I will keep my fingers (and toes) crossed for you that you get what you want and need sooner rather than later. *hugs*

    Hanne

  4. Just keep Suki away from the alligators. My dad had an 8-ft fence around his backyard to protect his dog.

    • I know about the ‘gators. They can be scary. When I visited friends in Florida in 2006, neighborhood kids pointed out the young ‘gator who liked to sleep just off the road in a drainage ditch. He was five or six feet long and didn’t even blink when the kids went by. I watched for him every time I took a walk; he was there a lot.

  5. Allison says:

    If this one doesn’t work out I know you’ll find something you like just as much. Still crossing fingers and toes that it’s what you want and that you get it of course!

    As everyone else has said so far, the squirrel shot is wonderful! It almost looks like (s)he posed just for you making sure you got their best side!

    Stay warm with thoughts of Florida this weekend. ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Mika says:

    Florida sounds nice right about now. I could do with warm weather. Crossing my fingers on the Florida move. ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Lindsaysf says:

    Yippeeeeeeee! This is the year for following those dreams!!!
    I miss squirrels.

  8. Sarah_Madison says:

    Hope it works out for you, Theo. I sympathize with your current bitter living conditions, but I have family in FL and the only time I can stand visiting them is a few weeks in March. Watch the canals for gators, too. I’m sure you’re more than ready to exchange weather systems, though!!

    • Gators only live in fresh water, so if this canal is not salt, yup, I’ll have to watch for them. They tend to like swamp water best of all.

      One doe have to acclimate to the humidity and heat, and that sun is awful bright down there. First year I was back, the gentler northern sun was soothing to my eyes. Gonna have to get sunglasses and stop losing them all the time.

  9. wulfginn says:

    that looks so nice don’t know about the heat I prefer colder places like Iceland

    • I prefer northern MN, to be honest. But only in summer and fall. I’m going to miss the rivers and lakes and bluff country. Heck, there’s a lot I’ll miss, but it’s time to switch things up again. I like seeing new things and different places. If I had the money, I’d be traveling the world.

  10. All the very best Fen, let’s hope this is THE one!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. Patricia says:

    Relocated here from Maryland twenty-two years ago. The flat land takes getting used to, as well as the year-long greenery….miss the rolling hills. We will always miss the changing leaves and spring blossoms but NOT the snow. Florida is beautiful in its own special way, and some Republicans, like me, are not so awful. Sarasota and Gulfport (St. Pete) are LGBT friendly. You can love Florida’s weirdness and the many people who’ve moved here from other places. Welcome! (by the way, I read Precog in Peril and loved it)

    • Thanks! Glad you enjoyed the series.

      While I often make sweeping generalizations in general discussion, when it comes to people, I approach each one as an individual. There are good and bad in every “group” and culture.

      Love Sarasota and St Pete. I’m sure I’ll achieve balance after I’ve been there a while and had a chance to look around.

  12. Helena Stone says:

    I hope it all works out for you. Moving is bad enough. Having to arrange it all over such a distance sounds like a nightmare to me. Then again, if I never move again it will be too soon. I like to say that the only way I’ll ever leave this house is in a box.

    • I’ve said the same thing. But I want this bad enough to deal with the distance.

      • Helena Stone says:

        (I hope this reply actually shows up underneath your reply and you know what I’m revering to)

        Yes, but I’ve been living here now for 11 years now and we almost have it all. A charming cottage on a hill, overlooking a lake in the middle of nowhere and a relatively mild (if at times wet) climate. The setting would be perfect if we could have guaranteed nice/warm summers but I’m happy to settle for what we have. Every few summers (like last one) it gets warm enough for long enough that we can actually swim in our lake and summers like that make up for all the cooler/wetter ones.

  13. suze294 says:

    Hope the thoughts of all that lovely warmth keeps you going through the next icy dip.
    Fingers crossed that the house goes through – it looks great! Stick that picture on your window so you cant see the snow!

  14. W. Lotus says:

    The polar vortex is getting significant side eye from me. I’m glad you are seriously working towards that move, though. You were absolutely MISERABLE this winter, and I don’t want you to go through that again, if you don’t have to.

  15. diannegray says:

    It’s great to move to a warmer climate. I did it about 14 months ago and have no regrets whatsoever. The cold is awful and depressing. Best of luck and I really hope this place is right for you! ๐Ÿ˜€

    • Thanks. Are you anywhere near the drought area? I’m not familiar with Australia.

      Pretty soon, I hope to be posting my own pics of weird bugs and insects. Florida is full of ’em.

  16. Good luck, Theo. I hope it all works out.

  17. A.M.B. says:

    There’s no way I can handle another winter like the one we just had either (it’s still lingering!). I hope everything works out for you!

Leave a Reply

