A Little Rambling

It’s Sunday night. I just finished watching the second disc of S5 of Big Bang Theory. I laughed a lot, but now I’m tired.

I also feel a little depressed. Maybe that damn daylight saving screwed me up more than I expected. I wish they’d stop messing with my biological clock twice a year. It takes me longer and longer to adjust when they move time around. The reason for doing this is long past. They keep trotting out “It’s to keep kids safe at the bus stop,” but I know it’s light enough without them jumping back and forth across that hour. I’ve checked.

I guess I’ll blame it on inertia; once something is set up, it’s too damn hard to change it. So they’ll just keep doing this stupid thing until the revolution, at which point, they’ll have other things to worry about.Β 

The wolf story is causing me problems. I’ve hit a wall and can’t figure out how to move past it. Suddenly, I want to play computer games rather than write because facing that blank Word doc is giving me fits.

And then there’s the world and all the horrible stupid things happening in it. I keep saying I have to stop reading the articles, but it’s sort of like a train wreck: I can’t look away. I have to know the latest idiotic thing that happened, and almost always, it has to do with the GOP or religious maniacs. I’m really tired of it, but if I stop and the world ends, I won’t know why. I sort of have to know why.

I’ve made jokes about moving to an island with my friends, but there are days I really need to be there, away from all media and insanity, because it all seems insane to me now. I wonder, did someone put something in the water? Are we part of some gigantic lab test to see how far humans can be pushed before a society explodes? Because I’d say we’re getting close now.

I read today Paul Ryan has begun the impeachment process against Obama. I believe several Republicans have. And then there’s those in the south who fly the Confederate flag and scream secession. The men who have done everything they can to try to force women back into the kitchen, barefoot and pregnant. The Christians who insist everyone believe as they do and live their way even as they push hate and bigotry.

For all the good our species is capable of, the opposite is also true. We kill each other for some reason or none, beat on each other, think nothing of kicking someone’s ass, don’t seem to care if others go hungry or are homeless, and our prisons are filled with people, some of whom need to be there, but a lot who don’t but we keep sticking them there because hey, we made it a business. Prisons for profit can’t flourish if we don’t keep them filled.

That island sounds mighty damn good to me tonight. First law I’m passing? No TV, internet, or radios allowed.

I’ll write, walk the beach, wade in the shallows, and take pictures. Like this one.

Small Yellow

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in RL and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to A Little Rambling

  1. laneswift says:

    Can I come for a holiday, to your island? I’ll bring Pimms.

  2. Allison says:

    Is that one of yours? It’s gorgeous, it makes me feel like it’s a warm summer day walking on a trail in the part near us. Unfortunately, although it’s warmer today it is also overcast and ugly.

    I try to take the news in small doses or to get it from The Daily Show or The Colbert Report because at least when they present it as absurd as it often is I can laugh while I cringe. It’s not as though most “real news” programs are anything but infotainment anyhow.

    I hope that you have a good week and that the wolf story starts working for you again.

    • Allison says:

      *park

    • Yup, one of mine. Unless otherwise stated, or it’s obviously a meme, all photos published here will be ones I took. I remember chasing that little yellow butterfly around on a back road. It kept moving, going from flower to flower along the edge of the ditch. It was hot, the sun was high, but I didn’t realize how sweaty I was getting until I finally got “the shot.” πŸ™‚ I love how photography totally absorbs me to the point where my surroundings vanish except for what I’m trying to capture.

      • Allison says:

        I wish there was an easy way for you to sell your photography. I am constantly blown away by it, such gorgeous imagery. You produce photographs like you write place descriptions in your books, I am always instantly whevever you intend me to be.

        I need to get out and shoot on my own, I’m always too aware of the people that are with me when I am out and it makes me rush.

        • One of my exes was a real problem in that regard. He was constantly destroying my photo setups by barging in or banging around. Photography requires aloneness and mental quiet. Which is maybe why I never tire of it!

  3. Sometimes I’m glad that my kids monopolize the TV with Nickelodeon and other cartoons. I try to keep up with current events like a good human and whatnot. Honestly though? I can’t listen or read it anymore. I don’t want to fall into that clump of people who don’t care what happens to our nation or our world, but I feel less and less like caring. Many days I want to run away and hide… So many days! I can’t though because there will just be other problems, or the past will follow me.

    As for your block, have you thought about sound boarding off someone? I find that helps SO MUCH! Don’t rule it out, think about it.

    I hope you have a better week πŸ™‚

  4. Oh sweetie, you need to get out of your apartment more (stupid ice age). Winter is having a detrimental effect on your psyche. *hugs*

    I am all for moving to an Island without media, as long as I can have my kindle.

  5. Oh and gorgeous photo. That is exactly the type of stuff I like to shoot.

  6. Lindsaysf says:

    Wow. Just wow. The photo. Wow.
    I got one of those little light panels. Mine can be like an alarm clock, waking up to gradually increasing light and bird twitters. But often it just irritates me. Admittedly the sky is a lovely blue and the sun shining. We got just a bit of snow, could use more of any moisture. Spring here is the season of wind – the trees are dancing and the juniper pollen ejaculating.

    • “Ejaculating.” LOL Yeah, we get a lot of wind here in April and May, too. I admit it gets tiresome after a while. Suki and I just returned from a longish walk, dodging puddles and small lakes from melting snow. She hates getting her feet wet, trots through the water really fast, but it’s so nice, she didn’t mind much. Tomorrow, temps fall back to around freezing, so today we party!

  7. Carole says:

    There has to be a healthy balance for how much to watch & pay attention to with regards to the problems of our country & the world. A little self preservation is important. I’m probably a bit on the other side maintaining an ignorant attitude of yes, things suck in some places but I can only deal with so much. I don’t read the paper, watch the news & I figure someone will let me know if I need to cover my head & duck. I do vote & help others when I can. All this business going on now makes me sick & I believe one day we will have another civil war but what can I do about it now besides put people in office that are like minded like me. You can only do what you can do & that’s it. To me it’s like calling the hospital or humane society & telling them to call me everytime someone dies a horrible death or they have to put down a dog cause no one has adopted it. Certain things I just can’t & don’t want to know about. Enough about that, just hate hearing you getting down about it.
    Was thrilled to hear you were going out & planned to be out LATE the other day & very happy that you & Suki got to venture out of your home even if briefly. Beautiful pic as always! Another amazing talent of yours.
    Have a great week & good luck w pushing pass the block.

    • Suki and I have thoroughly enjoyed today. It remains sunny and warm, and I can barely stand to be inside. I was tempted to throw the battery in the scooter and take it for a short ride, but 50 is too cold yet. Damn! That would have been cool. πŸ™‚

  8. diannegray says:

    I absolutely love that picture, Theo.

    Is there room on your island for me? The world is going insane and the only good thing about that is we’re noticing it (if we didn’t I’d be worried) πŸ˜€

  9. Judy says:

    Okay, I’m gonna be the one who’s selfish : you need internet on your island !! That’s not negotiable, how else am I supposed to follow you? Once again I got to agree with Allison : you should really do something with your pictures, they are amazing.
    Not getting into politics, I don’t know enough about your strange system over there, from good old Germany it just looks like you have complete and utter nut-jobs at every corner and live on a different planet altogether. I made the mistake to post something about the bill they tried to pass in Arizona in a German forum – people did not believe it was real, they honestly thought it was made up, a media hoax. But they already thought I lost my mind after I’d linked an article about parents trying to get creationism taught in schools ….

    • Yes, there is definitely an insane element at large in the country right now. The balance of America is NOT crazy. We are desperately trying to save our country from the nutjobs. The election this November will hopefully change things, but it’s not certain. A lot of those nutjobs are uneducated idiots, the very same twits who are pushing creationism in schools over science.

      I swear, if there was some country still to be discovered, I’d be out there with a bunch of like-minded folk, trying to find it.

  10. A.M.B. says:

    This long winter has definitely taken its toll on many of us. The darkness bothers me more than the cold, and bigots (at any time of the year) bother me more than the darkness and the cold combined. I hope you feel better soon!

Leave a Reply

