FREE READ: The Housekeeper (Will Crawford #3), Chapter Two

Copyright 2011 Theo Fenraven

_________

Chapter 2

Oliver woke me up, walking across my legs.  I glanced at the clock; I had slept for almost three hours.  Feeling a bit foggy, I got to my feet.  The book I’d been reading and forgotten on my lap fell to the floor.  I located the last paragraph I remembered, replaced the bookmark, and put it on the nightstand.

I freshened up in the guest bathroom before going into the kitchen.  The water was running, and I knew Mr. Crawford was awake and showering.

Making myself a cheese sandwich, I sat at the table and assembled my grocery list.  Keeping the kitchen well-stocked was part of my job, and I enjoyed it.  He had given me a credit card when I first started, telling me to use that for all house purchases and give him the receipts.  I kept meticulous records, so he would never have cause to suspect me of any financial wrongdoing.

Kaz preceded Mr. Crawford, trotting into the kitchen with his tongue hanging out.  Giving me one of his special doggy looks, he laid his head on my leg and smiled at me.  I touched my hand to his head before gently pulling on one of his ears.  He likes that.  I gave him a piece of cheese from my sandwich; he took it gently from my hand.

“Caught you!” Mr. Crawford said, laughing.

I merely smiled.  We both give Kaz food from the table, and he doesn’t mind.  I knew he was teasing me.

He was wearing his casual clothes:  one of his T-shirts, jeans, and a multi-colored pair of sneakers.  Though he would not admit it aloud, his choices make people look at him, and he likes to be looked at.  Mr. Crawford is very handsome.  I try very hard not to stare at him all the time, keeping my eyes turned away as much as possible, but sometimes I cannot help it.

When he came closer, I smelled cologne.   I liked the scent very much.

“Do you have any special engagements planned for this next week?” I asked.  I try not to buy too much food, so there is little waste, but there must always be enough if guests are expected.  If there is uneaten food at the end of the week that will soon spoil, I take it home with me; he has told me to do this.

“David’s coming over Wednesday evening for dinner and a meeting.  Lizzie is stopping by Friday for lunch.”  He bent down to pick up Oliver, who was asking for attention.  Holding the cat in his arms, he petted him.  “I haven’t seen her in a while, and I’m looking forward to catching up with her life.”

I made a note on my list to purchase more wine.  Mr. Crawford entertains frequently.  He likes his friends and enjoys their company.

Still carrying the cat, he went into the living room and sat down at the computer.  I finished my list quickly and then secretly watched him as he made phone calls or did things on his laptop.  I could not help but sigh, though I did it very quietly so he would not hear.  He is such a beautiful man, I could watch him do nothing for days and never tire of it.  His body is very nice.  I’ve seen him doing the yoga poses, and then I would like to sit and stare at him but I do not.  It would make me excited, and I would not want to embarrass him.

Kaz asked me to let him out, so I took him into the backyard and watched him sniff the bushes.  It is a nice yard, but there is no pool.  I thought all movie people had swimming pools, but not Mr. Crawford.  He lives in a modest house, just big enough for him and his pets and an occasional guest.  He eats outside often, under the pergola, and when he is not home, I often do, too.  Trailing ivy plants and clematis cover it, hanging down like a curtain, making it a cool and inviting place when it is hot.  There is a small water fountain which makes soothing sounds.  He often exercises there.

Back inside, Mr. Crawford was preparing to leave.  He put Oliver down, and I saw he was covered in cat hair.  That would not do.

“Wait,” I said, and fetched the lint brush.  He stood patiently while I ran it over his chest and shoulders.  He was smiling at me and only after I started, did I think I should have given the brush to him.  Abruptly, flushing, I stopped, stepped back, and held it out to him.  “Please forgive me.”

Laughing very softly, he pulled me into his arms and hugged me.  “It’s okay.”

I was enveloped in his warmth, and under my hands, I felt hard muscle and smooth skin.  His smell filled my head, and I began to get hard.  I broke free before he became aware of my arousal.  When I stole a look at him, I saw he was still smiling, and so I relaxed a little; he was not upset with me.  I held the brush out to him again.

“Finish what you started,” he said.

I removed the remaining cat hair, my hand trembling slightly, hoping he did not notice.  Mr. Crawford hugs everyone, and I’m sure many respond to him in the way I did, but I liked him so very much, I did not want him to send me away for acting improperly.

Head bowed, I finished and stepped back.  And then I felt his lips against my cheek.  “Thank you,” he said, and then he was saying goodbye to the animals and the door was closing behind him as he left.

I raised a hand to my cheek and touched the place where he had kissed me.  He was so kind, so sweet, so gentle with me.  I was more in love with him than ever.

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in free read, publishing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to FREE READ: The Housekeeper (Will Crawford #3), Chapter Two

  1. Allison says:

    How many installments will there be for this story? I’m loving Jamie already, such a lovely person. I wouldn’t mind having someone like that to take care of me. 🙂

    I don’t want to wait for more (yeah, okay, so I have it on my Kindle and I don’t have to wait but the sweet torture of waiting is oddly enjoyable)!

    Have a great weekend!

  2. W. Lotus says:

    40 pages? *dies from anticipation*

  3. valjo44 says:

    Yes!! Two at a time…..please. 🙂

  4. Yvonne says:

    Yes please! Two at a time would be good. I was going through your free reads,didn’t look properly so didn’t see that this last Will Crawford hadn’t been posted in it’s entirety yet and got sucked in of course.

  5. Karen H. says:

    More is good and this was good. I really like the sweetness of the interaction between these two. Jamie is so timid and reserved, he’s just adorable. Will better not hurt him…please?

  6. Judy says:

    Yays for two chapters (thank you ladies 😉 ) Jamie is so sweet ❤ Have a wonderful weekend y'all!

  7. Helena Stone says:

    Thank God for internet in work or I don’t know when I would have been able to see this. Looking forward to the double helpings starting next week. With a bit of luck I’ll be back online at home again by then. If not it’s going to be a long and frustrating wait for me. Love the story, love the character and can’t wait to see where this is going.

  8. Allison says:

    Yay, you’re spoiling us! 🙂 Thank you.

Leave a Reply

