GIVEAWAY Precog in Peril: The Complete Series

Precog in Peril Volume Cover 600x368I thought it was about time to make this available. I can’t believe it’s been over a year since I released Three of Swords. That came out on September 1, 2012. Knight of Wands was released November 1, and The Lightning Struck Tower two months after that because, hey, I was mean: I ended each book on a cliffhanger that drove some reviewers (and readers) crazy.

Well, no more cliffhangers! When you reach the end of one book, you can leap straight into the next. 🙂

The cover is a photo I took last summer while scootering next to the Mississippi River. I spotted the houseboat through the trees and had to take pictures of it. It was moving so fast, I only got this one shot before it was out of range, but that was enough. This boat looks very much like Gray and Cooper’s, being of a similar age and size.

I’m proud of this series, and I do have an another book waiting to be written for it, but I hit some kind of wall this winter. I would start a story, write ten or fifteen or twenty thousand words, and stop, unable to continue. 

I’m not sure what was going on, but I suspect the onset of winter, tension between me and AJ (since resolved when we decided to go our separate ways romantically), and being buried in work that soon left me feeling burned out. Also, I’ve been writing steadily, with no discernible breaks, for several years.

So I took a giant step back, removed all pressure to get something done right now, and decided to write something I swore I never would: a shifter book. If you follow me on Facebook, you’ve seen the new header with the snarling wolf. But I’m making no demands on myself for this one. I’m writing for the fun of it again, and not because I feel I have to produce something.

I’ve edited enough shifter books to know I don’t like them, so why did I choose to write in this genre? Hell if I know. 🙂 Maybe it’s because it’s outside my usual interests, something different, something that will challenge me. If I’m going to write this, I want it to be special, not like everything else out there, but what do I know? It could end up being entirely ordinary and similar to the shifter books already available. I won’t know until I reach the end. 🙂 I do know it will be grounded in reality, not some free-flying fantasy that requires a reader suspend all disbelief.

The Precog collection will be offered for sale at Amazon only, and might be available when you read this blog. If you haven’t purchased the separate volumes yet, buying this will save you a couple bucks. Ain’t nothing wrong with that. 🙂

But if you’re feeling lucky, comment on this post. I’ll pull a number at random Monday morning and give that person a free copy.

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography, publishing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

74 Responses to GIVEAWAY Precog in Peril: The Complete Series

  1. bevsutherland says:

    Even though I have all three books, it is one of my fave series so I’ve just bought the collection from Amazon UK to go on my new kindle 🙂 Shifter books…meh, but as it’s you, I’ll give it a try when available. Thanks Fen and have a great weekend. 🙂

  2. Linda says:

    I already have the books. I just wanted to let you know that I love Gray and Coopers story. I also love the new cover. Thanks Theo for writing and sharing them.

  3. Lindsaysf says:

    All sorts of shifting & transformations going on in your life & work! Exciting! Who knows? You may even come visit!

  4. Beautiful cover. If you ever decide to stop writing (God forbid) you could always do cover pictures. I also have all three, but would love having this just for the cover picture.

  5. Allison says:

    Don’t enter me into the contest because I just went and bought it for the cover alone (since I already own the books). I agree that you would be amazing at doing covers but I’d never want to see that take precedent over your writing (nor I suspect would you).

    I could go on about that cover, not only is it beautiful but the entire thing, the dark edges, the depth of the green, and then the slightly glowing words just capture the books perfectly. It draws me in like crazy!

    Although I don’t read very many shifter stories I am looking forward to your take on them. Well, I mean really, I’ll read anything you write so I don’t know if that’s a surprise. 😉

    • What a terrific compliment! Thanks. 🙂 I agree the green glow adds a wonderfully malicious tone to what is essentially a peaceful river picture. Perfect for the books!

      • Allison says:

        I honestly can’t stop looking at it. I keep scrolling back up to stare some more. I’m going to have to make it a background so I can keep looking at it. Really outdid yourself this time.

  6. LOVE the cover and will put this on my TBR. I am glad that you have stepped back and decided to do something just for yourself and because you can, not because you have to. I look forward to the shifter book because, hey it is from you 🙂

  7. Oh I am so in! I will buy them regardless (But don’t let that sway you from picking my name *wink wink*) I love the cover by the way, very beautiful!

    • Thanks. This photo had the right “feel” for the book. A little dark, but still there is sunshine. I still remember scrambling to get to the side of the road, positioned at a break in the trees, before the houseboat disappeared from sight. Close one!

  8. nordicgirl_2013 says:

    I must (shamefacedly) admit I haven’t read these books before, but as I only started reading ebooks in late 2012 there are thousands of books I know I want and need to read but haven’t gotten around to yet. I love the stories by you I’ve read so far, and will read Precog in Peril too, whether I buy it or happen to win it in the draw.

    I agree with all those before me that the cover photo is absolutely stunning! You had the presence of mind and artists’ eye to capture that singular moment in time which can never be replicated.

  9. kmac64 says:

    I don’t know if you have noticed, I’m sure you have, but your words are lighter. I don’t know if that is the right way to even phrase it, but what I mean is you can detect joy coming back. Your stress level is decreasing and you can tell. I know you still have stress, we all do. I’m not sure if it’s possible to be completely free of it, however, there is all-consuming stress and stress that is manageable. I can tell you are getting a handle on yours and I could not be happier for you. I am thrilled you are writing a shifter book. As soon as I saw your cover, I just knew :). I use to really like them, in fact have quite a few, but they began to get old or too out there. I have no doubt, you will give it everything you have, to make it as perfect and enjoyable as possible. So far, its seems I am the only one, who does not have the Precog in Peril books. (As far as this post anyway) Sorry, not sure how that happened, but I will rectify that today. I love your writing style, so it won’t hurt my feelings any, to add to my collection with more of your works.
    Looks like Old Man Winter is going to stick around a little while longer. For here, snow forecasted till next Tuesday. Temps in the negatives that I am afraid is sending my gas bill thru the roof. Every time I turn my heat up, I feel guilty, thinking you are freezing 🙂 lol. Have a good week-end, spring will be here before you know it. 🙂

    • I hadn’t noticed, but I definitely feel happier this week despite the dreaded return of the polar vortex. 🙂 Wait to see if you win before buying it. Either way, thanks for your support!

  10. shelley says:

    Sweeet! I’m not vereh lucky so I went ahead and bought it. Can’t wait to read 🙂

    Good luck with the shifter… I’ve never read one where shifters were the main focus, but I guess I will now. Glad you’re enjoying writing again.

  11. Jaycee Edward says:

    Kmac64 is right. You seem lighter in spirit. You even posted on FB that it was -17 and you didn’t even bitch about it. LOL! Just have one question…scootering?

  12. LindaJ says:

    Hi Theo.. Everyone’s right.. Gorgeous cover!! I can’t wait for your shifter story. 😊 you are already one of my “must own all books” lol so I don’t need to win them tho if I do it will be a great gift! I’m glad you are stepping back and taking some breathing time. We all need to do that sometimes. Every day is one day closer to spring and you’ll be back on your scooter taking beautiful pics! Take care of you and Suki. 😊

  13. Karen H. says:

    Shifters? Oh this could be fun, I admit I’m not a shifter fan, but I am a Theo Fenraven fan and I’ve read books outside of my box before just to have a change and been wonderfully surprised so I’m looking forward to this whenever it happens. Definitely have fun writing it because in my mind that just translates into a better story for me to read. Don’t put me in for the book draw, simply because I have already bought, read and loved your Precog in Peril series and don’t want to take that opportunity away from someone else. I do believe that Kmac64 is right your blog words seem to make me feel like there was a smile on you face while you were writing and smiles are good, very good. Have a good weekend.

  14. valjo44 says:

    Maybe I shouldn’t admit this but I love shifter books, so I I’m glad you’ve decided to do something you swore never to do 🙂 and write one. (Sounds like you’re already having fun doing so).
    I’m not sure how you managed to make an innocent looking houseboat so sinister but you did. I really like the new cover, I think it suits the stories.

  15. valjo44 says:

    I do have a question :). The last part of the Will Crawford trilogy?

  16. Carole Marshall says:

    I’m excited to read this story & would love to be randomly chosen cause how cool is that but even if not I will purchase. Plan on reading through your entire library & anything new that comes because you are really talented, a really creative author & seem like a really amazing person also.

  17. Helena Stone says:

    Adore that cover, it’s gorgeous and a reason to enter your competition in and off itself. And, since buying books is out of the question until this time next week I’d be only too delighted to be entered in your draw 🙂
    I’m glad you’re writing for fun. It should be fun and I personally think readers notice it when an author is churning out books because (s)he feel (s)he should. When the joy goes out of the writing it tends to disappear from the reading as well. Have fun while safe in the knowledge that I (and lots of others by the looks of it) will be ready to dive into your shifter story when it is available.

  18. dani says:

    Hugs to you . curious for this book series. and shifter Yes sir !! Dani

  19. Judy says:

    Such a terrifc cover …. man, I gotta re-visit Gray and Cooper (as soon as life stops interfering). Glad to hear you’re under less pressure and having fun writing. That’s gonna be my first shifter story, didn’t get around to try one out yet. I’m really looking forward to meet Will again (*squee*), let me guess : you’ll have fun making us wait between the chapters like last time, huh? 😉

  20. CaryLory says:

    Oh yeah— love your books and am glad I waited until you revised the content to buy this trilogy. Your books are so unique and terrific stories to re-read again and again.
    Please put me in for your drawing — thanks Cary

  21. suze294 says:

    I loved Gray and Cooper, so excited to see them together esepecially with one of your great photos. And potentially another book – great news! I’m sure now your brain has less hassle going round and round, the words will start flowing – do like the idea of a shifter story to clear out the system! They are not a big favourite of mine but do read them occasionally and will definitely get yours

  22. Ka says:

    I LOVED these books, really really good… And requested more 😕:) xx

  23. Lee Todd says:

    this sounds great! would love to win 🙂

  24. Shannon Dee says:

    Definitely going on my TBR Kindle list!

  25. Claire McGuire says:

    Hi Theo. I just heard about your Precog in Peril series and I have to tell you that they really sound like my kinda books. I love murder mysteries and paranormal, so the two together just makes my day. And paranormal also includes shifters, vampires, ghosts etc. So the one you’re working on now is right up there in the plus column too. You’re a new author to me as well and I’m always happy to discover one that people rave so highly about.

  26. Crissy M says:

    I’ve been meaning to buy this series. I’ve wanted it since Mel reviewed the entire series…and keep forgetting to get it..so this time win, lose, or buy this series will be mine 🙂

  27. Lori S says:

    I love the new cover, and I think it is great that you are putting the stories together in one book. I used a gift card to get the stories as well as Transgression last month as a Christmas present for myself. I enjoyed them immensely. You write beautifully. I am looking forward to your new stories when they are ready. Thank you for the pleasure provided by your words and photos.

  28. Lisa G says:

    I came to your site lured by the giveaway but have spent the last few hours reading back posts and checking out your gorgeous photography. Amazing pictures, really. Anyways, I have not read this series but know I will enjoy it as much as I’ve enjoyed your blogs. It’s always fun to find a new author with a backlist to read. I hope 2014 will be a great year for you – new adventures, new stories to tell and more pictures to take – oh and Suki is adorable 🙂

  29. Petra says:

    Hi there,
    what a beautiful cover full of Mississippi summer feeling…I think. Because living in Germany I will never know about it!
    But I would really like to read these books so please count me in!

Leave a Reply

