And So It Goes

AJ spent all weekend trying to finish Queers. He says he’s close, but he’s been saying that for a couple weeks.

I’ve begun editing it and am about seventy pages into it. It’s good, but I expected it to be. 🙂

I’m also editing for the publisher and a couple freelancers. Yes, at the same time. I didn’t plan it that way. It just happened. So I worked through the weekend and now I’m fried. 

On top of all that, the weather is horrible. Very low temps, extremely low wind chills. Everyone has hunkered down until the worst is over. I hope my car starts when I need it to. New battery, but that’s no guarantee in weather like this.

I’m writing this Sunday evening, and I admit I’ve quit work. I’m watching movies and drinking scotch and feeling no pain whatsoever. I checked the national weather:

It’s not going to be as bad as they originally predicted. A few days ago, they said -20 on Monday. It’s a little better in this forecast… if anyone can say “better” about -17. This is the weather forecast Monday morning; I updated the graphic.

weathermon

Contrary to previous experience, the apartment has been toasty warm the last couple days. I hope it continues through the next two-three days. Before now, it’s been cold as hell. We were running heaters and huddling under electric blankets and throws. Showering and such was a real pain.

Have a good week, everyone. A lot of us are in survival mode, just trying to get through it. If you are enjoying warm temps, I envy you! By the end of the year, I hope to have joined your numbers. 🙂

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in RL and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to And So It Goes

  1. bevsutherland says:

    You’re about 70 pages in…it’s good, you expected it to be…so do we, we expect it to be amazing (no pressure AJ, hehe), but I for one am not rushing you. AJ has enough on his plate trying to get it finished AND working, and YOU have more than enough on your plate with editing several books at once. Chill out some more guys (no pun intended)…running around like headless chickens and having people say ‘when’s it gonna be finished?’ must be sooo irritating!!

  2. suze294 says:

    I can’t even begin to understand the cold you’re in (poss the celsius/fahrenheit thing) but sheez, get to Florida asap!! We just get storm, sea flooding (luckily not our house), wet, not too cold though.

    • And hurricanes. Let us not forget hurricanes. 😉 But yeah, when I lived down there, the weather was pretty darn good. There’s always drawbacks no matter where one lives, but after being in the north half of the country most of my life, I’m fed up with it.

      AJ, on the other hand, hates the idea of sunny weather every day. He likes gray and clouds. *eyeroll* We go ’round and ’round on this one, but I’m determined to relocate.

      • Helena Stone says:

        I’ve got the perfect solution for the two of you: Move down south and take a three week annual holiday in Ireland. I can guarantee at least half of those three weeks will be grey and cloudy (and very likely wet), yes, even in summer. Once ever ten summers we may get more than one or two days of sunshine in a row but since we had one of those last year, he should get all the grey he wants or needs. Heck, even most if not all of the other seasons have more than average amounts of grey.

  3. Karen H. says:

    I share your pain in regards to the weather. We’ve had nothing but snow and more snow up here north of the 49th parallel, I’m so freaking sick of it. It’s not even funny. Ok I’m done grousing now. Must be fun editing several books at once, how do you keep the story lines straight? Hope your New Years was fun. I won’t ask when anything is going to be done because I have this theory that in life ‘it is what it is, it will be done when it’s done and anything worth having is worth waiting for.’ I think that pretty much covers it have a good week and hopefully for all our sakes this snow will stop soon, really soon, like yesterday soon.

    • It already stopped snowing. Now the sun is out, there are blue skies, and it is brutally cold. Absolutely nothing is moving out there except for those few people who have to be somewhere. The whole state is hunkered down, waiting this out.

      Surprisingly, I have no trouble keeping storylines separate. I do occasionally forget which author has overused which words though, and have to scoll back and check. 🙂

  4. Lindsaysf says:

    When I got up this morning it was about 10 degrees. Toasty in comparison with you.

  5. abichica says:

    Can’t wait for it to be finished… *chewing nails not so patiently waiting for it* 😀 No pressure though AJ, and as for the whether its summer where i’m at right now and the whether is amazing.. 😀 just thought id throw that in there 😉

Leave a Reply

