Winter Doldrums Already a Factor

The cold continues. Temps hover around zero during the day, drop into the minus teens or twenties at night.

The weather was a big topic at the New Year’s party; everyone admitted they were already fed up with it. Two extreme cycles of cold in one month. Ugh. One guest said he was driving south the next day, seeking warmth. Lucky him! How nice to be able to escape this shit.

Poor Suki. She shivers the instant we go out the door, even though I wrap her in my coat until we reach her “potty” area.

I would have been very uncomfortable if not for portable heaters and electric throws. We have an electric blanket on the bed; it’s one of four blankets. Yes, we do need that many, and the last couple of nights, we’ve left the heat on, set to high. Remember when I put plastic on the windows a few weeks ago? In the bedroom, there is ICE on the window side of the plastic. Unbelievable! Never seen that before.

A couple weeks ago, we enjoyed two days of nice weather. Temps were between 35 and 45, and Suki and I walked the neighborhood. I brought my camera and got the following pictures.

Spotted this snowman on top of a nearby house. Doesn’t he look cheery?

Roof Snowman 12.28.13 sm

The steps in the park, leading up to a higher area. Doing these makes you aware how in shape you are. Or not. πŸ™‚Β Year End Park 12.28.13 sm

Steps of another kind. Some of you will remember me posting a pic of “hidden stairs.” These are those stairs revealed, thanks to winter. I put this photo through various filters to bring out color and depth.Β Isabel Hill 12.28.13 sm

The sun was shining, illuminating the stone wall and iron fence. Suki can be spotted on the left side, sniffing at something or other. She likes to sniff. πŸ™‚Β The Hill 12.28.13 sm

And who says there is no wildlife in St Paul? We had turned for home when I spotted this rabbit, who had obviously seen us, as well. He froze. I took his picture.Β St Pau Rabbit 12.28.13 sm

I hope your new year is off to a great start!

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography, RL and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Winter Doldrums Already a Factor

  1. Lindsaysf says:

    I treated myself to a heated mattress pad. Ahhhhhh, luxury! Even better than an electric blanket for my situation. Also I just bought a 10,000 lumen light panel that wakes me up with gradually increasing light and birdcalls. Admittedly in New Mexico we get lots of sun. And our recent weather has been relatively mild. Still, my naturopath suggested more. Something about my pineal glan.

  2. Allison says:

    My poor Beau insisted on going out this morning. He got all the way to the back of the yard and then insisted on twirling for about 3 minutes before he’d poop. He couldn’t make it back to the house after that, I had to go get him. I wish he’d let me put boots or something on him but the one time we tried he became a bucking bronco, amusing but not very helpful. We aren’t even close to approaching your temperatures though.

    The colors in the stone wall are beautiful! Plus, you know, Suki, so bonus! πŸ™‚

  3. valjo44 says:

    It was 68 here yesterday….turned the heat off and my fans on :/ I was ready to go BACK to Oregon and the snow! LOL, bet you’re rolling your eyes cuz I’m complaining it’s too hot (but it’s winter, I’m not supposed to be sweating, those are the rules!!!)
    πŸ™‚

  4. Helena Stone says:

    See, that’s the thing about winter. While it may be freezing cold where you are it does make for beautiful pictures. Here in Ireland on the other hand it’s a lot less cold (I was going to say warmer, but that would be untrue). We’ll be approaching freezing temps tonight (about 30 degrees for you I’m reliably told, I’ll never get my head around fahrenheit) but day after day is grey. In house lights are never off and it’s either raining or drizzling with low hanging cloud. It can get quite depressing after a few months.

    Anyway, I loved those pictures and do not envy you those temperatures (although I wouldn’t say no to one or two days with sunshine).

  5. Handy tip, you know aluminium foil? If you hang that on the space between your radiator and the wall it apparently reflect the heat back out into the room.

  6. Reblogged this on kirstyoftardis and commented:
    Reblogging him cause he’s all sorts of lovely.

  7. A.M.B. says:

    Happy New Year! It’s very cold here, too, though not quite as cold as it is where you are. About two weeks ago, it was 70 degrees and now it’s in the 10s (or will be by Tuesday; we might be in the 20s right now). The snowy pictures are lovely. It’s easy to forget how beautiful winter really is.

Leave a Reply

