Free Read: Picture This (Will Crawford #2), Chapter 3

Copyright 2013 Theo Fenraven

This story contains material only suitable for adults.

______

Chapter 3

Kaz came galloping in at that moment and jumped on Will, who laughed and gently shooed him off. “Sorry.”

“No problem. In fact, I just got a couple of really nice shots of both of you. If it happens again, let it.”

My plan was to get him down to no clothes before we went elsewhere, so I asked if he was ready to remove the pants.

“No problem.” He shed them in one fluid movement, and only his black briefs remained.

Setting down my camera, I removed my jeans. My underwear was garden-variety white. “Are you warm enough?”

“Fine.” He lay back on the hay bale, stretching out again. Here’s the difference between hay and straw: straw is harsh and scratches bare skin. Hay is soft and fragrant and feels almost good against a body. If you ever decide to screw in a haymow, make sure there really is hay up there, and you’ll have a great time. I speak from experience.

On these shoots, I maintained a distance between the subject and me in order to allow them their space. If I were right up in their face, they’d tense and stop acting natural. So there was a good ten or twelve feet between us, which felt about right. I looked at him through the lens and then moved the lights around before starting to snap again. He had a perfect body. Tall, balanced, slender but strong. The sun poured in through the open door, flowing over his smooth skin, adding a vivid golden tone to his naturally pale color. Flies buzzed outside, and out in the pasture, a horse whinnied.

I zoomed in on his face. His eyes were closed, the dark silky lashes fanning against his cheeks. I liked the beard scruff; it added interest to the planes of his face, not that he needed to add a damn thing. He was so pretty, my heart ached. I took lots of shots of just his face, moving around to get different angles. Unexpectedly, he opened his eyes and looked directly at me. My insides jumped, and I think I tripped over a bit of dust, but I continued pressing the shutter.

Sometimes, having a camera between you and the world is the perfect hiding place.

Suddenly, the raucous theme to PeeWee’s Playhouse came out over the speakers. Both of us jumped, looked at each other, and started to laugh.

“Sorry,” I apologized. “I thought I remembered to uncheck that sucker.” Kaz didn’t like it, either. He reappeared, barking and staring at the speakers, tilting his head first one way and then the other.

I figured it was a good time to take a short break. Putting down the camera and opening the backpack, I asked, “Want water?”

“Yes, thanks. I brought some but it’s in the car.” He drank half of it in one long swallow, then poured into a cupped hand so Kaz could drink. The pup refused his offering and took off again.

“There’s water available all over the place,” I explained.

“More for me then,” he said before turning to me with his eyebrows raised. “Underwear?”

“Now’s as good a time as any.”

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in free read, publishing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Free Read: Picture This (Will Crawford #2), Chapter 3

  1. bevsutherland says:

    Fen, you’re a tease!! ♥

  2. Judy says:

    NO! How can you stop there?! Why are you doing this to us? That is so mean ……

  3. valjo44 says:

    😦 definitely a tease…

  4. kmac64 says:

    Couldn’t you leave just a little more, my vision is in limbo “big sigh”

  5. valjo44 says:

    Right, but I want now and I want later,too…….:)

  6. W. Lotus says:

    “He was so pretty, my heart ached….Sometimes, having a camera between you and the world is the perfect hiding place.”

    Or a computer screen, damn it. 🙂

  7. Karen H says:

    So you subscribe to that adage of always leave them wanting more. Smart man, but yeah you are totally a tease. Hope you are having a very, very Happy Thanksgiving! with lots of yummy food and good company.

Leave a Reply

