Last of the Color: Photos

Just a few days ago, I was out walking Suki and noticed some glorious color on the next street. I didn’t have the camera with me, so after we got back, I let Suki inside, grabbed the Canon, and went back out. It was chilly that day. My fingers were cold. But I got the shots.

This first one was taken from the alley between two buildings. This is someone’s backyard. How cool is that? It borders on the park where Suki and I often climb a million stairs to get to the top of the hill one street over. I love how the red blazes even in dull light.

Fall Color 2 11.7.13 sm

 

This one captured my attention because of the drift of gold across the sidewalk. The stairs are the first of many in the park mentioned above.

Fall Color 1 11.7.13 sm

 

The very next day, the remaining leaves had been ripped off the tree by a stiff wind, and the lovely yellows had faded. I was lucky enough to capture the color at its height.

A couple days after that, the temperature dropped horribly. Winter is setting in.

Already, I look forward to spring.

 

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography, RL and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Last of the Color: Photos

  1. cindyls1969 says:

    It’s beautiful imagery Theo. I often wish I had the talent for catching shots like this.

  2. Allison says:

    I love the colors in the first shot, the 2 shades of red but then the blue fence posts(?) to the right draw the eye.

    But your description, “drift of gold across the sidewalk” of the second picture is just perfect. You should write or something. ;/

  3. bevsutherland2306 says:

    Lovely pics as always Fen. I think it’s time for you and AJ to fly south for the winter, snort…in fact you’re probably a couple of months too late already!! But what a wonderful idea….x

  4. Where we are in Georgia, we have a few trees that change color in the fall. I’m kind of missing it a lot after the mountains of VA/TN where I grew up. I’m even almost starting to miss snow. DH has been talking about wanting to move to Pittsburgh to be nearer his family, and… I kinda want to, too.

    • The grass is always greener for me. I like to change locations frequently to stay mentally fresh. Either that, or I get bored easily.

      • The last few moves have been military. I’m kind of done with moving, but I can’t really seem to find people I’m comfortable spending time with here. DH is a truck driver now that he’s out of the military, and I’m finding more & more that I need physical presence of friends (not that I’m not ever grateful for my online friends). Since I’m not finding them where I’m at, I’m willing to try somewhere new, and Pittsburgh seems like the kind of place I could be happy in, going by what I’ve seen of it & a friend who’s been living there for years.

        • My absolute favorite place in the country is Asheville, NC. But the politics there are destroying the state and I don’t have friends there, either. One needs a support system when one moves, as you point out. People you’re comfortable with, who have your back. I would have that in Florida.

  5. A.M.B. says:

    Beautiful! Fall is such a gorgeous season–from start to finish.

  6. You would love to photograph New Zealand. We have such beautiful scenery. Keep that cute dog warm! Mine stays undercover (duvetdoggie) until summer!

    • I would love to photograph New Zealand, but given it’s distance and the cost to get there and back, I doubt I will in this lifetime. 😦

      Last night, Suki was laying up against a pillow, and I folded a part of the blanket over her. Usually, she crawls out from under it right away. This time she didn’t. The bedroom was chilly last night; three blankets on the bed. Even AJ couldn’t keep me warm enough. 🙂

  7. Karen H says:

    Thank you for the gorgeous pictures everything is white around my place, white and fluffy. Muttley is very happy he had me standing out in a freakin’ snow storm yesterday so he could play in the snow. He’s lucky he’s so darned cute.

  8. kmac64 says:

    It’s strange that the burning bushes are still so bright and vibrant in their color. Those same shrubs have already turned dark brown here In my corner of the world.

  9. Lindsaysf says:

    Last week in NYC we toured around Central Park, exclaiming over the fading colors there. In New Mexico we don’t get the masses of varied color – and I miss them! Hmm, I need to organize the NY photos.

Leave a Reply

