FREE READ: Love at First Sight, Chapter 4

Copyright 2013 Theo Fenraven

This content could include material intended only for adults. Read carefully, my friends.

***

Chapter 4

I’d pretty much decided to blow Ren off when I unexpectedly ran into him a couple weeks later at a concert. We passed each other in an aisle and did a double-take. Amused, I laughed and was pleased when he did the same.

He looked great. He had on a snug T-shirt that outlined his nicely toned arms and chest and tight jeans I had a hard time tearing my eyes away from.

“Hi,” I said, delighted to see him.

He was just about to respond when someone joined him, a handsome young man with thick blond hair and startlingly green eyes. I immediately thought: contacts. The blond slipped an arm around Ren and nuzzled his neck.

For no reason at all, or for every reason, this crushed me. My smile faded, and I took a step back. “Enjoy the concert,” I said and turned away.

“Will!” I stopped and looked back. His eyes met mine. “Don’t be a stranger.”

∞ ∞ ∞

I did a lot of thinking over the next few days about what I expected out of life. I knew what I wanted professionally—to act, produce, maybe direct someday—but what about personally? My friends were settling down. They had girlfriends, boyfriends. Many of them were in love, a couple were engaged or married. And me? I was not allowed. I was famous and gay and must not shove that in the face of fans. The world at large gossiped, speculated, wondered, but they didn’t know, and I’d carefully kept that status quo for quite a while.

I was so tired of it. It would be nice to fully be myself, to not care that cameras were always pointed at me, capturing my every move, free to walk down the street holding the hand of someone I liked. Someone I loved.

Would I ever live in such a world? Where it did not matter what orientation you were? I wished for it, dreamed of it, longed for it.

∞ ∞ ∞

I returned to the bookstore a week later, on a quiet Friday afternoon. Ren was in his usual place behind the counter. I strode over, leaned down, and said, “I need to talk to you.”

He stared at me for a moment, and then got to his feet. “Wait.” He went off into the stacks and soon, the dark-haired young woman appeared and took his place. Ren gestured, and I followed him into his living quarters.

“Sit down,” he said, but I couldn’t. Instead, I paced as he sat on the couch.

I kept thinking of what I wanted to say and changing it, so I ended up not saying anything. After a few minutes of this, Ren laughed and said, “Just spit it out. I’m listening.”

I stopped and turned to face him. “I don’t know if I can do this. Be with you the way you want. But I want to try.” When he didn’t say anything but only continued looking at me, I took two steps forward, leaned over, grasped his face between my hands, and kissed him.

It was… magic.

My insides melted and ran toward him. Dimly, I felt his hands in my hair, but I was lost in the sensation of his lips on mine. I wanted nothing more than to kiss him for the next couple of years. Yeah, it was that good. There are very few people who know how to kiss like that, so it takes your breath away and makes you never want to come up for air. Ren knew how to kiss. I was hard instantly, wanting him.

Dizzy with desire, I slid in next to him on the couch, wanting him to lie back so I could press against him. He resisted, remaining upright, and breathing heavily. I finally pulled back.

“What?”

He was not unaffected. His pupils were dilated, his perfect lips parted as he tried to catch his breath. “I don’t know if I’m ready for this.”

“What do you need from me to accomplish that?” I could not take my eyes off his mouth and remembering how it felt, how it tasted, I almost groaned. “Please, Ren. I want you.”

He touched my cheek, and I felt faint. “I want you to love me. Do you think you might do that? Not right away—I understand that—we barely know one another. But some day? After we’ve spent time together?”

I would have promised him anything at that moment, I ached for him so badly. “I will treat you with respect and spend time with you, and if I can, I will love you.”

“Fair enough.” He pulled me toward him and our mouths met again. I sank into him, and together, we fell back, side by side. Sliding my hand down his back, I cupped his ass and pulled him into me, against my erection. His muscles grew taut as he pushed back. Heat flashed through me, and I started making sounds into his open mouth.

I placed his hand in my crotch, and he stroked me through denim until I was almost coming, at which point, I hastily unzipped to give him access. The couch was awkward; I was half-hanging off the outer edge, but I didn’t want to stop long enough to get to his bed. When his fingers touched bare skin, I shuddered and thrust into his hand, begging for more.

While he worked me into a frenzy, I was also touching and stroking him until we were both gulping for air and straining toward completion. It didn’t take long. I’d waited for this moment for weeks and when it happened, it was a culmination so momentous, I almost passed out. Ren said something unintelligible against my ear and seconds later, he jerked hard against me and hot semen flowed over my hand.

We held each other until our hearts stopped pounding, and then I kissed him, very gently. “Wow.”

He sighed. “Yeah.”

“How about we move to your bedroom?”

We cleaned up in the bathroom en route before stripping off our clothes and climbing under the blankets. I immediately pulled him to me so I could explore his curves and angles. He had a great ass, and I couldn’t wait to get into it.

Divining my intent, he said, “No.”

I pulled back. “What?”

He held my eyes. “I don’t do that.”

“What, never?”

“Never. Everything else, but not that.” When I silently asked him to continue, he went on. “It hurts. It hurts a lot. Also, fucking me in the ass is demeaning. Puts me in the submissive position, and I don’t like it. And if you need another reason, that’s how diseases are passed and spread.”

“O… kay.”

“You’re good with it then?”

I slowly nodded. Frotting was catching on in the gay community for the reasons he’d listed. “If I feel an overwhelming need to penetrate, I’ll do it with a woman,” I teased.

He smiled and kissed me. Terms discussed and agreed to, we proceeded to wear each other out.

________

Chapter 5 arrives Monday. There are eight chapters in all.

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in publishing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to FREE READ: Love at First Sight, Chapter 4

  1. W. Lotus says:

    If I was Ren, I would have waited until the love happened for the sex. But I understand this is a short story. 🙂

    • LOL Yeah, not a lot of time to be modest or careful. Plus, they’re guys.

      Question: If there was no chance of pregnancy, how many women would wait to have sex?

      • W. Lotus says:

        I can’t answer for other women, but I can answer for myself. Since I tried safe, consensual, casual sex for a time and discovered it wasn’t what I wanted in my life (masturbation was far more fulfilling for pure sexual release), I would wait.

      • W. Lotus says:

        I will also add one of my two casual sexual partners wasn’t good AT ALL. 🙂 I would say that is why I would wait, but I’d been sexually intimate in the past with people I was already in relationship with, and my experiences with them were far more fulfilling physically and emotionally.

  2. Allison says:

    I loved this chapter, sweet yet hot, lovely.

    I like your question about waiting to have sex. I think it’s not just fear of pregnancy that holds many women back but the fact that women that engage in non-relationship sex are often looked down on. If women want to have sex just for sex they are “sluts” and not worth respect. Even those that don’t look at them as sluts still feel sorry for them in many cases. This is something I’ve had to deal with personally but also with friends. It’s amazing how other women can and will treat someone that doesn’t conform to the standard we’re all supposed to. The internalization of that standard can cause intense guilt. I think this is changing a little bit now as women are getting better at owning their sexuality but it is definitely still an issue. And of course I’m speaking from my experiences so not everyone will agree with what I’ve said.

    • Both you and Wanda make good points, and while men may be quick to jump in the sack, driven as they are by hormones and hard-wiring, I’m sure there are many who prefer to wait until their emotions are invested.

      And yes, there is definitely a double standard in this culture when it comes to women who enjoy sex.

  3. Karen says:

    I agree with what’s already been said regarding casual sex. You mention men and hardwiring. I think women for the most part are hardwired to need some kind of emotional connection for sex to have any really meaning for them. Sex for the sake of sex in my experience tends leave a bit of a void because it leaves that emotional need unfulfilled. I’ve be married for 27 years and the thought of sex just to meet a physical need with no emotional or intellectual connection of any kind…well it’s like a good splash of ice water and just the thought leaves me cold, situation resolved.

  4. suze294 says:

    Good chapter, and I think age makes us a bit more thoughtful before jumping into bed, but youth is rash and impetuous (hand up here!)!

  5. bevsutherland2306 says:

    Loved the chapter Fen and agree with everything that’s been said on here so far. Women are very quick to judge their fellow women….I remember when I was at grammar school (your high school) and a girl I’d known since starting school when we were 5 got pregnant, she was a dreadful influence… but when we actually did the dirty ourselves, we were so proud and felt so grown up!! There was definitely some slutty behaviour (see, I’m judging again, but some of the girls definitely were)…if only we could have seen ourselves through someone else’s eyes, but everything’s always better with hindsight isn’t it?? Yes, we all go through a randy period I think, no it’s not just guys…they’re just more honest and upfront about it, it’s part of growing up and expressing ourselves, rebelling against parental control, but it doesn’t mean that some of us don’t regret it as we get older. And once love enters the equation, as you know yourself, everything changes.

    Loving this freebie I have to say, and can’t wait to see where Will and Ren will end up. Thanks my friend, and have a great weekend. ♥

    • Modern society has changed things, for the better, I think. Kids used to get married so young, and before they were out of their teens, were mothers and fathers and acting all adult without ever having any fun.

      The problem is, we as a culture have not caught up with this change yet, the one where kids wait a lot longer before settling down. Instead of teaching them about sex and STDs and how to protect themselves from them and pregnancy, we turn a blind eye, half-hoping the schools will do it for us.

      I don’t know what schools are teaching kids in sex ed these days, but birth control doesn’t go along with it (thanks to the religious right), so we still have teenage mothers and fathers, and today, that isn’t a good thing.

      We need to stop hiding our heads in the sand. Reality will not be denied. Kids are still driven by hormones, and the alleged adults in the room have to do everything they can to prepare their children to act responsibly. If that means giving them birth control and condoms at age 15, then do it! Because those kids will have sex in the back seat or on the basement couch no matter what, and wouldn’t you rather they stayed safe while they were subconsciously declaring their independence from Mom and Dad?

      • bevsutherland2306 says:

        No, I’m holding my hand up and saying that I gave my son ‘the talk’ when he was 13, and I wish my parents had done the same…when I started my periods, I thought I was bleeding to death, and sex education at school concerned frogs!! I’m happy to say son has always come to me with any questions regarding sex…and obviously I can’t speak from a male POV, but I don’t think I’ve done a bad job (pats herself on the back). All of his friends chat with me and treating them as adults when they start asking questions about sex is an absolute must!!

  6. valjo44 says:

    They teach sex education in school but there are definitely areas that need to be addressed that both parents and school seem to miss. Talking about preventing pregnancy and STD’s is a moot point if the mechanics of how to do it aren’t taught. I found this out when my son came home from school after the “sex education lecture” and was talking about condoms and I asked him if he knew how to put one on(embarrassed the hell out of both of us) and I got the blank look. I know it should be a no brainer…just roll it on, right, but we all know there’s more to it then that. That poor banana was never the same…..but he learned! Course after I showed him how to put it on he told me it wouldn’t work and when I asked him why he told, very seriously “it’s too small”! 🙂 First box of condoms at 15.

Leave a Reply

