Gray and Cooper Flash Fic and PHOTOS

To access the fiction short, which introduces a new character to Gray and Cooper’s world, go here. Everyone should be able to see it, and those who follow me on Facebook already have.

Mid-week, I dropped everything and drove eighty miles north to visit my friend from Florida, who is here only a short time before returning home. Fall has begun up there already!

First of Fall Grantsburg 9.27.13 sm

These blazing red trees are on his property, but it’s so heavily wooded, we had to drive out to the road to get the shot.

On the way home, Suki and I took the scenic route, going through Stillwater. Just north of that river town is a wayside rest, and there is a path that takes you across a short bridge and down a short flight of stairs to the water.

The sun was blazing, as it was high noon, but there was a brisk breeze to keep me cool as we tramped around. I got there in time to see a paddleboat on the St Croix make its turn; apparently, this is as far downriver as it can go right now. What luck, eh? You can see a bit of color on the opposite shore, but it will be much better in a couple of weeks. We need a hard frost to coax those fall colors out.

Empress Making the Turn 9.27.13 sm

Empress Paddleboat 9.27.13 sm.

Suki met a couple of kids on the beach and ran around with them a while. She had a terrific time. You will meet them in the next post.

Suki on beach 9.27.13 sm

Left of the beach as you face the river was a wonderful walking trail.

Walking Trail 9.27 sm

And along the trail, around the curve, is a cave; we accessed it from the beach. I love caves, don’t you? This one has been blocked off at the back to prevent people from getting hurt or lost (I’ll show it to you next time), but the view from the entrance is pretty good.

St Croix Cave Wayside 9.27.13 sm

I stopped here on impulse. I am so glad I did. ๐Ÿ™‚

Have a great weekend. I will be finishing a freelance edit and then jumping into final revisions forย Transgression.

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography, RL and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Gray and Cooper Flash Fic and PHOTOS

  1. Allison says:

    The first shot of the paddleboat made me feel like I’d stepped back in time. And, of course, I love the Suki shot, what a grin! It looks like an amazing place to explore.

    I found out that Amtrack has a special viewing train out here at this time of year that goes up into Canada for the changing of the leaves. I’m dying to check it out, I can only imagine the beautiful shots I could get.

  2. Judy says:

    What a red! And doesn’t the trail look as if it leads to some long forgotten land full of adventures?

  3. valjo44 says:

    I really, really love your short stories but now I realize that no matter how short they are there is a beginning, middle and an end all in one story, but this flash fiction? It’s just mean…….there is only a beginning :(! When do we get the middle and end?
    ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Karen says:

    I always love your pictures but I have to say these are all especially beautiful and the tree, wow! nobody does colour like mother nature.
    Ok so I was just over on your facebook page reading the latest on Gray & Cooper and I was wondering has anybody ever told you, you’re a tease, lol. That was not nice I was totally getting into the reading and done. Oh well I enjoyed what there was and definitely look forward to more. Have an excellent weekend.

  5. A.M.B. says:

    I’m looking forward to reading the flash fiction! Thanks! The pictures are lovely.

Leave a Reply

