Chasing the Storm

Yesterday, forecasters predicted thunderstorms after 1pm. It didn’t wait that long. Fortunately, I noticed the clouds moving in and grabbed the camera for some lightning fast picture taking.

St Paul has a lot of accessible viewing points, especially on my side of the river. I zoomed around from one to the other on the scooter, taking photos as I went. Even when the camera warned me the battery was running down, I didn’t quit. This first pic is the last one I managed to take. Remember, clicking gets you full size.

Storm 4 9.19.13 sm

 

Storm 2 9.19.13 sm

 

I really love this next shot. It shows the city, the river, the marina with all the houseboats (yay, Gray and Cooper! though theirs is parked in Red Wing, MN), some of Harriet Island, and the Wabasha Bridge. Tell me that isn’t a gorgeous view! Can’t wait until fall. Fall is terrific here.

Storm 3 9.19.13 sm

 

Here you see the storm rolling into the city from the west, the black clouds devouring the white. It was exhilarating to watch!

 

Storm 1 9.19.13 sm

 

Two minutes after I got back (thanks to the camera battery finally dying), the rain began to fall in those heavy dense drops that feel like a hundred birds just shit on your head.

I just laughed, ’cause I was home, safe and sound, watching from inside my apartment. 🙂

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Chasing the Storm

  1. Judy says:

    Excellent timing, very atmospheric pictures. Perfect scenery for an apocalytic movie, especially the second and forth pic. We don’t even have clouds *pout* it’s just grey in grey in grey … two weeks in a row now. And I get soaked every darn day ….

  2. Allison says:

    I love the feeling of these shots, they capture that sense of anticipation a storm brings perfectly. I miss being able to see storms rolling in, there’s just something about it that is exciting.

    • It’s the quality of the air. The temp drops, the wind starts to howl (and it did, when I was at Harriet Island; people were running for their cars but I kept going), and it sets your blood on fire.

  3. bevsutherland2306 says:

    Theo, that 3rd picture is absolutely gorgeous!! You keep talking about your scooter…thank God you got home just in time before the ‘soak you through as soon as look at you’ rain started!!

  4. valjo44 says:

    Beautiful photos….we have an assignment in class to do either a landscape or hardscape:) how timely are these shots? On the second photo the building about a third of the way in from the left looks like its “smoking”. Do you know what that is?

  5. Sarah_Madison says:

    These are awesome pictures, Theo–truly beautiful! There’s something exhilarating about being out in a storm, isn’t there? 🙂

  6. valjo44 says:

    🙂 huge steamy hot tub!?

  7. Christine J. says:

    Great photos, as always, Fen! You’re fortunate to live in an area where you get such interesting weather. St. Paul looks like a beautiful city, too.

    • I like everything but winter, which is too long and cold. The city is pretty. Lots of interesting architecture. Being by a major river doesn’t hurt, either.

      • Christine J. says:

        As a California girl, it’s hard for me to imagine the kind of winters you all endure in the Midwest. However, you do seem to have beautiful season changes and some very lush summers. There are times I wish for that.

        • Our summers are indeed lush. I’ve traveled quite a bit, and this is one of the greenest places I’ve ever seen. However, to offset that, there are tons of mosquitoes and wood ticks every year, and both now carry diseases dangerous to humans. I don’t let it worry me–I still trudge off into the woods at the slightest provocation–but I’m now much more careful than I used to be about covering up and checking every crevice when I get back.

  8. Karen says:

    Kind of looks like the storm that’s rolling through southwestern Ontario right now, the worst of it seems to have passed through my community but it was pretty awesome to watch while it was here lightening, thunder and heavy rainfall all taking it’s turn at rearranging the sky, scary but exhilarating all the same. Love the pics was going to tell you which one I liked the best but this time they all spoke to me and drew my attention equally, so no favorites I like them all.

Leave a Reply

