The Long Weekend… and some photos

I wrote the entire weekend, and as it was one of those occasions when it was like pulling teeth, I had to struggle despite knowing exactly what I needed to write. But triumph I did! Sunday evening, I typed “The End” and went to bed to read. The first draft of Transgression is complete.

Yesterday, realizing one of our computer stations was too close to the living room radiator, I took the day off to swap it with a bookcase in the bedroom. Sounds easy, doesn’t it? Ten minutes, right?

It took me three hours. I had to change the way the cords were plugged in, so as not to overload one outlet and blow a fuse. They were also tangled, because I was moving the desk without stripping everything off it. But I got everything back together before AJ arrived from work, at which point, I started drinking scotch. If you follow me on FB, you know I got a little drunk, and we had a blast in one thread. 🙂 AJ loves it when I drunk tweet, which this was the equivalent of. And no hangover this morning, either. Excellent!

On to photos! I’ve been sitting on these for a couple weeks, but they’re still worth posting. I took this one the morning after a nice rain. I like how it makes the leaves sparkle. Photographer’s trick: if you want to add instant drama, employ a spray bottle on plants before shooting. Works every time. However, in this instance, Mother Nature did it for me. I like the contrast between purple and green.

Rainy Trees 9.13 sm

Ever since writing the Precog series, I notice houseboats everywhere I go. The Mississippi at St Paul is loaded with ’em. Here’s the first shot of a boat called The Patti-O. It does, in fact, look very much like Gray and Cooper’s old 1973 Gibson, even to the canopy above the forward nav area. The close up, which shows they were enjoying the river on someone’s birthday, follows the first shot.

Speaking of this first photo, the bridge is not a drawbridge, but someone in the control tower can open and close it by swinging it hard to the right so tall-masted ships can pass through. The picture is taken from a favorite road along the river, which only recently was opened after much construction. They’re still dicking around, but it’s going to be gorgeous when they’re finished. I just wish it was ten miles longer.

PattiO Distance 9.13 sm

The PattiO 1 9.13 sm

Farther west on that same road, I got a shot of a parked oar boat. It’s been sitting here for weeks, and I keep wondering why. Are they waiting for something? No idea, but if you ever get to MN, drive the Great River Road to see the locks in operation. I write about them in the first Precog book, Three of Swords. It’s an amazing system, and keeps river traffic flowing no matter how low the water is.

Oar Boat on Mississippi 9.13 sm

Time to begin editing Transgression.  See you Friday.

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography, publishing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The Long Weekend… and some photos

  1. valjo44 says:

    I was missing the photos…

  2. Judy says:

    You’re done! Ah! Time for me to start biting my fingernails. But don’t remind me of moving things around … just did that ….. Had a ton of fun reading mentioned FB thread, and learned a valuable lesson : no reading right after taking a sip of morning coffee. 😉

  3. Karen says:

    Kudos on finishing the first draft of Transgression.
    I am totally going to have to follow you on FB, I had friends who thought it was highly amusing to get me drunk when I was younger, it’s amazing the filters you loose between mind and mouth after a couple of drinks.
    I remember the part in the Precog series about the locks, we have them up around Ottawa in the Rideau Canal, the Trent-Severn Waterway & the St. Lawrence Seaway it’s fascinating to watch, I’m not sure if ours work the same but still fascinating.

  4. Beautiful photos as always Theo, and yes, if it had taken me 3 hours to do an imagined 10 minute job, I’d have had a little too much to drink as well, although I have to say scotch is NOT my drink of choice….give me a nice bottle of Western Australian white, and I’m there!! We have a great system of locks on our canals over here in the UK, some of the canals have ‘flights’ of over 25 locks, so lots of muscle power required….not easy when you’ve been having a little drink on board your narrow boat *grins*. Very pleased to hear about Transgressions too, congrats. ♡`

  5. A.M.B. says:

    Congratulations on finishing the first draft of Transgression! It must have felt great to type “The End.” Great photos, as usual. I love green/purple as a combination (actually, in fifth grade, my entire wardrobe was green and purple! Ha!).

    • Purple and green are great colors. 🙂

      There is nothing like typing “the end.” I can’t wait to get there, but it also makes me feel sad because I’ve concluded another part of my life. I’m now deep into the first edit, after which it goes to betas.

Leave a Reply

