It’s Coming Soon!

Blue River is on Dreamspinner’s Coming Soon page and available for pre-order for those of you who just can’t wait! 🙂

Note: this is a second edition. First edition was published through MRL Press over two years ago. I got my rights back, and I expanded this version to almost double the original length; it also tells Quinn’s side of the encounter with Ethan.

Transgression update: I am *this close* to finishing the first draft. I love this part of the book. All the loose ends are getting tied up and writing seems to accelerate the closer I get to typing “the end.” This is different from my other stories, as you know, and I really hope it finds its audience. I’m pretty sure there is one out there for it, but only time will tell.

And then I turn again to the YA novel while I contemplate my next adult release. I am contemplating–drum roll–a return to Gray and Cooper’s ‘verse (role-playing shorthand for ‘universe’).

Yes! There’s been enough of a break that I’m excited to get back to their story, and this morning, while I lay in bed half-asleep, the plot started forming in my head. I have the vaguest possible idea in mind, but as I get closer to writing it, it will become clearer.

I get my best ideas while half asleep. AJ is deeply envious of that ability. In fact, most of Transgression was written from ideas I got while dozing in bed in the morning. I suspect my mind is less guarded at that time, and I’m relaxed enough to listen to what it has to say.

Where do you get your best ideas?

For some, it’s in the car. For others, it’s on long walks down a country road. For still others, it might be sitting on the toilet with nothing to read 🙂

Speaking of reading, I’m into two new books right now, and re-reading a third. All are interesting, and they are as unlike as can be imagined. One is an earlier m/m story by JC Price called The Starving Years. I’m not quite sure where it’s going yet, but AJ said I’d like it, and I trust his opinion. Price is one of the best writers in the m/m genre (though the editing could be better).

Another is The Sacrifice Game by Brian D’Amato. This is the second book in a trilogy, which I didn’t know until I started reading it. I picked the hardcover up on remainder at a grocery store. If the author did his job well, I won’t need to read that first one, because the Kindle copy is $10.99, which I will not pay for any ebook. However, the paperback is an affordable $6.99, so I may get that from Amazon. As best I can tell this early in the story (page 20), it is about a man of Maya descent who is capable of ending humans on the planet. Pffft! Just like that. Already I’m intrigued. His style is modern and flowing, which I like.

The third book is Artemis Fowl by Eoin ColferThis is a series, and it’s about a twelve-year-old boy who’s a criminal genius. It’s interesting enough to keep my attention, and I may eventually sample a few of the others.

Have a great weekend! I plan to finish my draft and start the edit. The weather is sunny and warm. I hope summer hangs on a while. 🙂

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in publishing, RL. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to It’s Coming Soon!

  1. cindyls1969 says:

    Never stops being exciting, does it?

    • No, and that’s odd. I have a pattern of diving into something headfirst, obsessing about it for a few months, maybe even a year or two, and then dropping it for something else.

      Writing may be the only obsession with which I’ve had a lifelong affair.

  2. Judy says:

    YEAH for being almost done with Transgression – and a triple YEAH for more Gray and Cooper. Yes, I know, it’s gonna be a while – but this is such good news, I was hoping to meet them again and you just made me very happy. *hug*

  3. Allison says:

    Pre-ordered as I had asked you about it before when it wasn’t available. Very much looking forward to returning to Gray and Cooper’s story!

    I used to get my best ideas/work things out on my drives to and from work as I had a long commute for many years. I actually miss that part of driving but I don’t miss the time that I’ve gotten back nor the less frequent visits to gas stations. 😉

    • I used to have a long commute, too, but I admit I mostly wasted my time enjoying the scenery or daydreaming. I get my best ideas during that ten extra minutes I spend in bed in the morning.

  4. bevsutherland2306 says:

    Yay!! More Gray & Coop, woohoo, can’t wait!! Have pre-ordered Blue River, AND Transgression and a YA book to look forward to as well…you’re really spoiling me Theo. I’m pleased to see that someone else enjoys Artemis Fowl, my son loved that series and so did I. ♥

  5. valjo44 says:

    Lately I’ve been getting my best ideas from these really excellent photos! Slightly obsessed with them actually :)!

  6. valjo44 says:

    After reading today’s blog I really don’t think you have to worry about wasted days, even half asleep you’re working…..I’m really glad I found your blog, your books and you photos 🙂

  7. valjo44 says:

    “r” can’t spell today.

  8. Karen says:

    It’s on my wish list over at Dreamspinner waiting to be purchased from my October book budget, it will be a welcome addition to my book collection something to keep me going until Transgressions is released.

Leave a Reply

