It’s all about the frogs

This is what they say when they talk about how we’ve polluted and changed our environment to the point where species mutate: “Look to the frogs.” Apparently, if they’re in good shape, we aren’t doomed yet.

So I took that to heart Saturday while out at the relatives place in Wisconsin. I spotted a very cute little tree frog on the deck and took some photos.

It was twilight, and my Canon doesn’t do well in low light, so I flipped up the flash, dialed it back to almost nothing, and snapped a few.

As you can see, they are very tiny. The size of a leaf. I was maybe four feet away, using a normal lens.

Tree Frog 2 8.30.13

 

For the next one, I moved around to the other side so I could get a good look at his eyes and face. I switched to macro mode and moved to within a few inches of him. I don’t think frogs blink, or at least I didn’t observe him doing so. I was careful to move slowly so as not to freak him out.

Tree Frog 1 8.30.13

 

I love his toes, don’t you? I spotted a few more tree frogs down on the ground. However, they were moving fast and it was full dark by then.

To wrap up today’s post, here’s a sunrise, taken last week over the top of the building next door. I stepped out on the stoop and there it was. I immediately grabbed the camera and took a couple photos. I always take multiple shots; it increases the likelihood I will get a good one.

This was one of our hot days, but right after that, dew points and temps dropped. Today, it’s downright chilly out there! Great sleeping weather though.

Sunrise 8.26.13 sm

 

Enjoy the rest of your weekend. I plan to.

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography, RL and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to It’s all about the frogs

  1. suze294 says:

    I really likethe one where he’s looking at you – he’s thinking that tall non-frog thing has a square eye that makes noise and shines bright!

    • Who knows what a frog thinks? Heh. Maybe, “If I’m very still and don’t move a muscle, I won’t get eaten.”

      I just received email from someone to whom I sent these pics. He says it’s a Cope’s Gray tree frog. Sounds good to me. šŸ™‚

  2. Judy says:

    The sunrise … wow, so dreamy.

  3. Karen says:

    Loved the sunrise photo it’s beautiful. I have to admit I scrolled past the frogs really quick, not my thing, but I do agree with you about their necessity to the ecosystem and as long as they stay in their ponds I wish them a healthy and safe froggy environment.
    Ironically we’re having some pretty fall like weather up here in Canada too. Seems like summer is already trying to make it’s escape.

  4. dani says:

    Wow you captered that perfectly . Beautiful pictures as usual šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

