Wednesday Photo Roundup

Time is short this morning, so I’m posting a few pics,Β taken here and there.

I like the contrast between sunny red flowers with the dark background. It really made the red pop.

Flowers 8.13 sm

A houseboat traveling on the Mississippi. I can almost imagine it’s Cooper and Gray on board, rather than the nice older gentleman in the picture.

Floating down the river 8.13 sm

I was sitting out on the stoop one evening, enjoying a glass of wine, when I decided to grab the camera and try for another moon shot. These are difficult because the moon is so reflective. It came out pretty well though.

Moon 8.13 sm

And here’s Suki. I caught her dozing on the deck at my boss’s house the week we were house sitting. I missed the really great shot: she had her head turned up to the sun, eyes closed, basking in the warmth. But the instant I turned on the camera, she turned and looked at me. She really has to learn how to pose.

Suki on the Deck sm

Original title of this post was “Friday Photo Roundup.” As someone pointed out, it’s not Friday yet. Somewhere along the way, I lost two days. This is what happens when one doesn’t have to go to a job and every day is a working day of some sort. πŸ˜‰

So… see you Friday, and then I can wish you a good holiday weekend all over again.

 

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography, RL and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Wednesday Photo Roundup

  1. Your shot of the moon is really great. They are so hard to do well. As for Suki, one trick you might try, one I learned from professional pet photographers, is to call “Here, kitty, kitty, kitty.” If you call the dog by name, she’ll come to you and you’ll miss the shot. But if you call “Kitty, kitty, kitty,” she’ll look up trying to find what it is you’re calling. It works in theory, anyway. And it looks so peaceful on the river. Our rivers are so low due to the extremely high temperatures and lack of snow fall this past winter. Friends went canoeing on the Clark Fork last weekend and had to paddle hard just to move downstream.

    • I’ve been on a river at such times. When you hear the canoe scrape bottom, your stomach flips. Heh. Never quite got stuck though, so that was a good thing.

      To get Suki to look at me is simple. I just click my tongue on the roof of my mouth and her head swivels. I have lots of pics of her looking at me or near enough. I’m after the less expected ones now, but she’s usually too alert to catch unawares!

  2. Ka says:

    But it’s not Friday?

  3. Theo, I think Suki HAS learned to pose…which is why she’s hidden her face!! Someone else who’s camera shy, yay!! The moon shot is awesome, the flowers (hemerocallis) are fab and yes, sighs, I can just imagine Gray and Coop on that houseboat as well. Hope your little hot spell has cooled somewhat, and made life more bearable. x

  4. Helle says:

    Suukiiii πŸ™‚

  5. A.M.B. says:

    Great pictures! For one hopeful second, I almost believed it was Friday! At the same time, though, I have way too much work to finish before the end of the week. So, I’m glad I have a few more days. Enjoy the rest of your week, and I hope you have a great holiday weekend!

  6. Judy says:

    You totally had me convinced it was Friday …. I was driving around so much these past few days and had so many things on my “has to be done before weekend” list I lost track of the actual day, too. πŸ˜‰

  7. Karen says:

    I love the flowers the colours are beautiful and yes Suki has totally learned how to pose at my house we call this the ‘sparky pose’. Your picture of the houseboat is just too perfectly timed, I just (as in less than an hour ago) finished reading ‘The Lightening Struck Tower’ I absolutely loved all 3 books, but this last one was so amazing, you had me in tears over Wade/Wendy, I was crying like a baby. Mostly because to a degree I understand what he was going through my son is transgender and while my husband and I would move heaven and earth to keep him happy it was heartbreaking sometimes to not be able to do more to make life easier for him. But he is amazing and I look at him and frequently want to cry, not because he’s who he is, but because I know there are so many young boys & girls out there going through what he went through trying to find their place in this world without at least having the acceptance of parents who love, support and are proud of them for having the courage to be who they were meant to be. As much as I enjoyed Cooper & Gray, it was Wade who won my heart and will probably live there for a very long time. So I just wanted to thank you for creating Wade for giving him such a special place in this book.

    • Aw, thanks, and you’re welcome. Wade didn’t start out being a big part of the story, but she took on a life of her own and I gave her free rein. She’s one of my favorites, too.

      My next adult book features a trans woman named Sky. I hope you will enjoy her as much as Wendy. πŸ™‚

  8. Love looking at your photos. Suki is a little love. Did you find owner of the bicycle?

  9. dani says:

    love the pictures as usual πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

