The Bike Fairy

AJ came home from work and said, “There’s a bike on our sidewalk. Know anything about it?”

“Nope.” I was busy editing and didn’t look up.

“Fen… a bike. Someone left a bike out there.” Suki danced around him, and he bent down to pet her.

“Probably visiting someone in the building, and he put it there to keep it safe.”

“Safe, huh? No lock.”

That made me look up. No one left a bike anywhere in St Paul unless they locked it up. I opened the door and looked out. Yup, there it was, right off the street on our sidewalk, jammed against our railing so it went in the space between handlebar and brake. That was all that was keeping it up; they hadn’t even used the kickstand. Closer examination revealed itΒ had no kickstand. It was a blue ten-speed with knobby tires, not cheap, and a little beat up, like it had enjoyed some good times.Β 

I came back inside. I figured the owner would return for it shortly. “It’ll be gone by sunset. What do you want for dinner?”

* * *

Middle of the night, I was awake, as always. Instead of fretting about it, I’d gotten in the habit of letting Suki out so I could sleep in in the morning.

To my amazement, the bike was still there, just off the street. I wheeled it closer to our stairs and door; when the owner came to get it, he’d find it, and it would be safer from prying eyes and itchy fingers.

AJ usually gets ready for work without waking me, but this morning, he whispered in my ear, “Bike’s still there. What do you think of that?”

“Did you lose a tooth last night? Maybe the bike fairy left it for you.”

“He’d have put it under my pillow,” he said dryly, and left.

* * *

I didn’t wake up properly until after eight, at which time, I immediately checked on the bike. Still jammed against the railing.

I wasn’t sure what to make of it. Who would ride a bike somewhere and leave it? I mean, how would he get home? The bike fairy idea was looking more and more possible.

Thinking the miracle of it not being stolen had been pushed far enough, I wheeled it around the building and put it in the basement. I’d decide what to do about it later. In the meantime, it would be secure there.

***

I love a good mystery, don’t you? The building owner reminded me one of our tenants had her bike stolen a few weeks ago. Maybe the thief had regrets and decided to return it. I’ll check with her later. If it’s not hers, next stop will be calling the police.

Took this pic a while ago. I was visiting the Willow River State Park, and this blue heron was fishing at its base; the water flowed over the dam, and he waited at the bottom for the fish that inevitably showed up. Smart. πŸ™‚

Blue Heron on Dam 5.18.09 sm

Have a great weekend!

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in free read, photography, RL and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to The Bike Fairy

  1. Allison says:

    I don’t think I’ve ever seen a picture of a blue heron before! What beautiful coloring. I don’t think of them as pretty birds but that one definitely is.

    Good luck with the bike fairy mystery, you’ll have to keep us updated. πŸ™‚

    Have a good weekend!

  2. akblkgold says:

    Just admit your a kind hearted person helping the bike fairy find the bike’s owner! Love you guys and have a fun filled weekend!

  3. dani says:

    You are a decent guy theo πŸ™‚ Hope the owner will be very happy to know it has been found by someone like you (two)
    Beautiful picture
    have a great weekend hugs

  4. I talked to the tenant whose bike was stolen, asking her to describe it. She said purple and white.

    Nope, this isn’t her bike. Tomorrow, I’ll probably talk to the police, see if they have a record if it being stolen. If no one claims it, it’s mine and AJ’s. πŸ™‚ And maybe we will share with the tenant who lost hers. Seems only fair.

  5. Karen says:

    Sad thing is the bike probably is stolen, someone probably took it to get from point A to point B, unfortunately it happens a lot more than it should. Not sure whatever happened to the concept of respecting other peoples possessions. Good luck solving your mystery.
    Your photo of the Blue Heron is gorgeous we have them around here but I only ever get to see them as they fly overhead and miss out on their beautiful colouring. Thanks for sharing.

    • I have several photos of blue herons, but this one is a favorite because of the water bubbles and fizz, and I was fairly close to him, up on top of the damn, shooting down. He knew I was there but didn’t leave.

  6. Ka says:

    Whatever happened to the bike?

    • It’s in the basement. I haven’t used it yet, haven’t found the owner. I’m considering donating it to the tenant who had hers stolen. I almost exclusively ride the scooter, but it is a nice bike. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

