Explosion of Green

Today, we visit the Urban Wilderness Union. It’s a regular point of interest on my walks with Suki.

UWU 3 sm

 

As the sign says, they’re preserving the native plants of St Paul. I think they just don’t want to mow. 😉

Every inch of the property, which consists of a standard lot, house, and garage, has been allowed to run wild. I rather like the look of it! This is the sidewalk around back. The house you see a little bit of is the one on the property. The front sidewalk looks much the same.

UWU 1 sm

 

This is the back porch. The light is always on, yet I’ve never seen a human being in the “gardens.” I can’t even tell if anyone lives here.

 

UWU 4 sm

 

However, someone built this.

UWU 2 sm

 

There’s another little tower on the other side of the driveway. Maybe they only come out at night? Hm… may have to pay an after-hours visit sometime. I’d like to see the house lit up anyway. It’s got nice architecture.

And finally, a pic I took of a hidden stairs on one of our walks. You don’t know it’s there if you don’t stick your head past the bushes. Once upon a time, it led somewhere. Now? No idea.

Hidden Stairs Isabel sm

 

Unless I bring a ladder, there’s no way to get up in that space, as it’s several feet above street level and the retaining wall is built of stone that is lovely but not easily climbable. I think this will have to remain a mystery, and why not? If I don’t know what’s at the top, I can put anything I like there!

 

 

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography, RL and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Explosion of Green

  1. Karen says:

    It looks to so nice and woodsy, it’s nice until the bugs come out or if you have a small dog you loose them in the lawn and they decide it’s time to play hide and seek.

    • No bugs during the day, or not so you’d notice anyway. At night, the mosquitoes would be dreadful, which is why I’ve put off an after-hours visit to the place. But I could maybe stand it long enough to get a few pics.

      • Karen says:

        Insect repellent is your friend.

        • I know, but I have this weird idea: everything you put on your skin goes into your skin and consequently, into your organs. I’d like to cut down on the probability of catching cancer until I’m very old.

      • Karen says:

        There are organic insect repellent’s that some may not work quite as well but they don’t contain any carcinogenic ingredients either and some are very probably every bit as effective. Personally I find that most repellents have a limited effect. Long sleeves & pants help and the evenings are getting cooler that is also a big help. Good luck with your mission.

  2. Judy says:

    Our garden doesn’t look that enchanting when I allow the plantlife to grow wild, what a shame, I could save so much time otherwise. 😉

    • It looked like crap in the spring, but now, it’s kind of nice. Still, there are a lot of weeds in with the “native plants.” I’m surprised neighbors haven’t raised a fuss. Grass or stone paths through the plants would have given it a better sense of legitimacy and looked very nice.

  3. Christine Johnson says:

    It looks so inviting! Right now everything here in my area of California is hot, dry, and brown. I have no idea what it’s like to live somewhere that is green in the summertime. Actually, the only time we have green around here is in spring, and that only lasts for a couple of months at best. You’re so very fortunate to have such lovely, verdant places to explore. I am enjoying the photos so very much!

    • I kind of take it for granted, having lived in green areas for most of my life. But after spending 1.5 years in Florida, I realize how wonderful it is. This year particularly it’s very very green. We had a lot of rain early in the summer.

  4. dani says:

    beautiful pictures as Always Theo !

Leave a Reply

