Hodgepodge Monday

I had a productive weekend, writing three thousand words on the WIP. That was Sunday. On Friday and Saturday, I struggled, and why? Because of the blasted sex scene.

These days, when that type of scene is required in a story (they often aren’t, but on rare occasions, they must be included to reveal character or plot development), I must do it in a way that is fresh and different or it does not work for me.

Show of hands: how many of you skip/skim blow by blow, Tab A/Tab B sex scenes? *counts hands* Yup, me, too. Soooooooo boring, right?

It took me a while to come up with something different that still relayed the information I needed to give to the reader. I think I succeeded, but it slowed me down bad.Β 

Moving on, it’s Monday and the start of another week. Weather-wise, it’s been wonderful where I live. Sunny day after sunny day, though the temps are predicted to climb into the 90s this week. I don’t mind. This will likely be our last blast of heat before we begin the inexorable mercury slide into fall.

No photos from me today because I’m feeling lazy and also have editing to do. How about a few things from the internet that are either funny, thought-provoking, or just plain beautiful (that would be the pics of guys; heh).

This first one is making the rounds right now, and I’m dismayed by its message. I grew up reading books. Who doesn’t read books? They are a wonderful workout for the mindΒ and they teach you things.

1175412_10151908068117868_39869287_n

 

#4 = plummeting elevator feeling in my stomach. But worse than all these fears is a computer that won’t boot. This happened to me a couple times recently when Windows installed an update that killed my computers (yes, it happened on the laptop and the desktop!). Now I back up to an external drive every Monday morning without fail. I might lose some work, but I’ll never lose it all.

 

13 - 1

 

Just ’cause it’s funny. πŸ™‚

 

1094781_545207575553289_1082842619_n

 

13 - 1

 

NO IDEA what’s going on here, but I feel SO sorry for this model!

 

6a00d8341bf82953ef01901edcc3d4970b-400wi

 

And finally, because we all need the pretty….

2fc0b71e0a05ae0b672ce6af6f6c4627

 

Enjoy your week!

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in internet, publishing, RL and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Hodgepodge Monday

  1. valjo44ie says:

    Re:4 but usually you can reset your password (most of the time) it’s when “they” ask you those security questions. What was the name of your first pet when you were a child? Where did your parents first meet? You give the answers and “they” tell you that the answers are incorrect! I had that this weekend and then got a message telling me I had to go to a “brick and mortar” location before I could get back online with a new password! What???? Where????
    As for reading, I wonder how they came up with those numbers? Very scary and sad. I know people who never read for pleasure, which I find inconceivable, but do read for work.( My mom used to punish me by sending me out to play instead of to my room because I would always have a stack of books to read….talk about evil!) There were always books in my house, my whole family always read. To me, it’s one of the great pleasures of life.

  2. As someone who has read since the days of the Weekly Reader Children’s Book Club, someone who earned a PhD in French Literature just because he loved to read, someone who on average now reads 3-4 books a week, I, too, am dismayed by your first graphic. And yet the love of my life never picks up a book. What can I say?

    • I’d say love conquered all, because I can’t imagine living with AJ if he didn’t read. Reading requires periods of quiet, and those that don’t read sometimes don’t get that.

      Books! I love books. I still have way too many I lug around with me, but they’re all favorites for one reason or another, and I lie and tell myself I will “one day” sit down and re-read them.

  3. Karen says:

    Wipes drool from chin…can’t lie my fav is the last one. However somebody please tell me that poor model got paid extra ’cause damn that contraption in his mouth just looks painful.
    It makes me sad the number of kids coming out of the school systems who either can’t read or even if they can their reading comprehension is so pathetically lacking because no one ever taught them the actually interpret what they are reading and get more than a possible superficial meaning out of it. I taught my kid how to read before he even started school, he loved books and we read all the time, when he was in grade 4 they did province wide testing for basic skills in math, English and geography. He scored well in everything, so well in reading that his teacher had to send a request to the ministry of education for an interpretation of what his reading level was because they hadn’t anticipated anyone scoring that highly. What they told me was that his reading skills were are the equivalent level of someone who could read & comprehend the Harvard Journal. I won’t even lie I was so proud of him, I cried but it’s cool they were happy tears. I just couldn’t imagine a life without books that would make me cry, tears of the unhappy variety. Good luck with those edits.

    • If only more parents were as proactive as you!

      • Karen says:

        Maybe they would be if teachers encouraged them to be, I actually had a teacher and much to my shame an actual relative (second cousin or some such thing) tell me I had no right to teach my child how to read, I looked at her smiled said I felt I was lucky that she had not right to tell me how to raise my child. My sister who was a VP in one of the Elementary Schools where she lives wanted to strangle her, because she believes as I do that it’s the obligation of parents as much or more so than teachers to ensure their children get the best education possible. Yep, you found another one of my passions, well two actually reading & children. Teach a child to read and you have given them unlimited opportunities and independence and what parent worth having doesn’t want that for their child.

  4. dani says:

    some funny things there and gosh the last mmmmmm pretty πŸ˜‰
    x

Leave a Reply

