Weekend in the Country

My boss (the one I do property management for) and his wife went off on a mini-vacation and invited me and AJ to house-sit over the weekend. They have four cats; a couple of them are aged and need special feeding. Suki and I went out on Thursday after work; AJ joined me Friday.

Much as I wanted to lay about and be a lazy sod, I had an edit to do, so I set up on the deck and listened to the birds and the wind in the trees as I worked. The temperature was pretty much perfect, and I had to keep tearing my eyes off the surrounding woods to get anything done.

I had some serious thinking to do. Friday at work, the Boss laid into me for no reason at all. This is not the first time this has happened, and I’m not the only one who bears the brunt of her mood swings. I was *this close* to getting up and walking out. As it was, I stared at the computer monitor for a long time, doing nothing, waiting for my anger to fade. 

The Boss has a problem relaying information to her employees in a tactful, empathetic way. Instead, she snaps at us harshly. “Don’t do it that way. Do it the right way!” Meaning, “do it my way.”

My feelings are, be as anal as you like, but don’t bring it into the office in a negative way. Boss is also passive aggressive, something that drives me up the wall. If she knew how often her employees talked about her nasty attitude behind her back, she’d be hurt, but she might also start to get a clue and begin to change her behavior.

I was scheduled to work there until October 1. This weekend, after the Friday incident, I decided to quit. I wouldn’t accept verbal abuse from a lover, so why would I accept it from a boss? I wrote my letter of resignation Sunday morning, and on Monday, I’ll take it in, along with the key I got last month. And that will be that.

I have enough money saved to go a couple months without working. I’m going to take that time, enjoy the rest of the summer, finish the WIP and get it out, and then I’ll take a look around and see what’s next.

I’m sad my relationship with Boss had to end this way, but I’m also excited about what come next. 🙂

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in RL and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Weekend in the Country

  1. Look forward to your new challenge Theo, you don’t need a load of hassle from a boss that doesn’t even know how to be polite to her workers, and probably still wouldn’t even if she knew how they felt about her. Being polite costs nothing but a please and a thank you, sadly it’s something that too few people nowadays are interested in.

    • The employees suspect she’s bi-polar. I’m not sure what the problem is, but last week, I heard her in the kitchen, yelling at the dishes and banging things around in there while heaving huge sighs. She’s known for those sighs. They happen when she’s frustrated or angry, and that appears to be quite a lot.

  2. Blessings on you! Life is too short to endure abuse from anyone in your life. You’re doing the right thing.

  3. Valerie says:

    Do you ever wonder how some people even got to be a “boss” in the first place? I swear there is a change in people’s brains and personalities when they become management! So, enough money saved, be able to write more, less stress…….sounds like heaven and way more healthy.

  4. Judy says:

    This means less pressure for you, and I’m glad to hear that. Enjoy!
    (and I’ll keep my fingers crossed you’ll find a boss who appreciates you)

  5. Allison says:

    Congratulations on getting rid of one source of stress! I hope you get to enjoy the rest of the summer to the fullest extent possible. Good luck with the new adventures, whatever they may be and however they may come.

  6. W. Lotus says:

    Good for you! Now that you don’t have to expend energy dealing with her bullshit, you have more energy to find a job that involves less bullshit.

    • When she went all Jekyll on me, the anger I felt in response definitely gave me pause. Working shouldn’t piss you off, and you shouldn’t always be waiting for the other shoe to drop. It’s unhealthy.

  7. Karen says:

    Smart man, no one should be treated like that, even though she’s ‘the boss’ she still has no right. She’s probably taking her frustration on CG out on you after all you got to do the girls work most of the time she probably figures you should take her crap too.

    I’ve been both employee and boss and the one lesson I learned that I refuse to ever forget is if you want your employees to give you courtesy and respect then you need to demonstrate it towards them, it’s that old adage you get as good as you give. Simple not rocket science and yet some people just don’t get it.

    • Very true. When I first started there, the other employees warned me of Boss’s wild mood swings, but I was new. I didn’t want to make waves. I shut up and did my work.

      Over time, I saw what they meant after experiencing it first-hand. Just goes to show, you don’t know anyone until you work with them or sleep with them. 😉

  8. Helle says:

    Good for you. Life is too short to deal with tiresome people, be that bosses, family or what ever..
    So now you have time to cook for AJ every day, do his laundry etc. 🙂
    Good luck with you next project!

  9. Christine J. says:

    Everyone deserves to be respected and appreciated. Once enough employees make the same decision you have, perhaps it will become clearer to her that she needs to improve her people skills – and hopefully seek help in doing so. You’ve made a very important, very brave move, Theo. We need to do what is necessary to preserve our peace of mind and our self-respect. My best, as always, for your future endeavors, whatever you choose to do. Enjoy the rest of summer for me, as I returned to the classroom today to prepare for a new batch of little ones on Wednesday!

  10. A.M.B. says:

    It’s terrible that your boss treated you and others that way. No one should have to suffer that type of treatment in the workplace. I hope you enjoy the rest of your summer and find much better opportunities. Good luck!

    • What I don’t understand is how oblivious she can be to the effect her words have. Last Friday, she was “correcting” me from her desk while I sat at mine. Her eyes were down as she looked at something on her desk. I stared at her for a very long time, wondering about this obtuseness. She didn’t look up once, she just spewed anger.

      Yesterday, CG (Cleavage Girl, for those of you who don’t remember) left me a message while I was running errands, saying she was glad I’d quit and admiring my balls for having done so. When it comes to stuff like this, we all need balls, because you are right. No one should have to put up with this at work.

  11. dani says:

    sorry to hear about the bahaviour of your boss
    i am glad you are in the position to say goodbye and look around
    looking forward to your pictures and your stories
    enjoy the no work stress part enjoy writing strolling around and eachother x

Leave a Reply

