Sculptures in Wood

We’ve visited Harriet Island before, but this time, the focus is on wonderful works of art created in wood. I was enthralled when I realized what I was seeing.

How many animals can you spot in the following photos?

Sculpture 1 sm

 

Sculpture 4 sm Sculpture 3 sm Sculpture 6 sm Sculpture 5 smI think the artistry is amazing!

Have a great weekend, everyone! See you Monday.

 

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Sculptures in Wood

  1. Karen says:

    Wow! That’s it there are no words to describe something so beautiful and done with such talent. So yeah a very awe inspired WOW!

  2. A.M.B. says:

    I am really bad at this game, but when I do finally see the animal, I think it’s amazing. Until then, it looks like a nice piece of wood to me. Sigh. I’m just too literal!

    • Did you see the turtle? He’s hiding in a shadow but he’s there. šŸ™‚

      • A.M.B. says:

        Yeah, I saw him! Eventually, I’m able to see it, but it takes me forever. I was that kid who said, “It’s just a cloud,” when everyone else was able to see fluffy bunnies and teddy bears in the sky. I’m far too grounded in realism for my own good! It’s no surprise I ended up being a lawyer.

        • You have to practice using the other side of your brain. How you do that, I’m not sure.

          Many years ago, when people were passing around squiggles on paper that would coalesce into words or photos if you squinted at them just right, I saw them in reverse. Instead of elevated above the squiggles, I saw them sunk, but I did see them.

  3. Eagle,fish,wolf,whale,bird,rabbit,turtle,otter and crane???

  4. Allison says:

    These are amazing. I have an elephant head carved like this but it is small enough to sit in your hand, one of my favorite souvenirs .

  5. Judy says:

    Awesome, you really come up with the most interesting and beatiful pics, thank you Theo. I counted ten animals. But I can’t tell if that’s a squirrel above the wolf or a mouse. I’m getting old, I need glasses ….

  6. I thought the piece of wood behind the eagle looks the head of a blue whale? Or it could just be my imagination…..:)

  7. copperteal39 says:

    Beautiful! I found 9 animals but the crane/heron looks like it’s body is the head of something else and I suspect there are more to be found. I have a piece of wood that is carved with three lizards in it. The other day one of the cats knocked it over and I exclaimed “Be careful with those lizards.” Husband: “Lizards?” We’ve had it for about 10 years and he had never noticed the lizards. Just thought his wife was being odd about that curvy piece of wood…

  8. Could it be a possum over the wolf? They have those rat-like tails. Do you have possums?

  9. Elin Gregory says:

    These are wonderful. Terrific use of the wood grain to suggest fur and feather.. I think my favourite is the hare.

  10. dani says:

    stunning work there i think i spotted them all Wow!

Leave a Reply

