And how was your weekend?

Heck of a weekend.

Saturday, I worked. The weather was beautiful, but I was inside on a computer, reconciling bank accounts, from 10:30 a.m. until 9:30 p.m.. My boss and I broke for an hour at dinner, but otherwise, it was nose to the grindstone (which needn’t have happened, but he put some things off for months, and this was required catch-up).  Suki was bored. My camera didn’t get used even once. 

Sunday, I’d planned to write all day, but that’s not how it worked out. I started to write something about the place where Sky grew up, and then couldn’t remember if I’d mentioned it previously. So I did a “find” on the name of the possible city and came up with nothing. Maybe I’d described it as a small town? Searched on that with similar results. I could have sworn–!

Heaving a sigh (yes, I do that occasionally; it’s not just a figure of speech), I decided I’d gone too long without taking notes, so I opened Evernote (great free program for those of us who have no time to learn something like Liquid Binder, which I own and would probably love and fully intend to figure out one day) and started jotting down eye and hair color, place of birth, notable characteristics, etc.

Then I started highlighting what happens in every chapter, because if I say this thing in chapter three, I’d better not negate it in chapter eleven (I found I had done exactly that, which is why I decided chapter notes were necessary).

I wrote about 800 words yesterday. I started at ten a.m., took a break or two, got as far as the mentioned chapter eleven, and quit for the day around six, brain fried.

Anyone who thinks writing is easy hasn’t done it over the long haul. I remember a day not too long ago–early this year, as it happens–when I woke up one Friday, my mind on fire, and wrote 4500 words by the time I went to bed. It flowed like a river and it was all good.

But mostly, it’s days like yesterday, when I begin with a firm commitment and end up writing 800 measly words.

Already, I’m hoping next weekend is better. Already I’m planning another marathon writing episode, and hoping I’ll hit the zone and write write write until my head is empty and the voices are quiet.

Adding insult to injury, I woke up this morning from a nasty little dream wherein someone representing a teacher asked me and another student to write a little something about something (it was a dream; who remembers?). The teacher praised the other student’s output, quoting wonderful turns of phrase and added bits of detail, and then he turned his sights on me. Reading aloud a sentence I’d been particularly proud of, he said, “This is ponderous,” in a tone of voice that left me shattered, knowing I’d failed.

If you think writing is easy, you’re either a drunk, self-deluded, or truly gifted, because for me, it’s often like pulling teeth, getting those words down on virtual paper.

And oh look! It’s Monday again, and I must go to work to earn my daily bread. Have a good one, y’all. *trudges off to shower and dress and face another long week*

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in publishing, RL and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to And how was your weekend?

  1. Karen says:

    It’s moments like this that make you treasure the good ones, everything has a purpose. Hopefully next weekend will be awesome and all the better for you after having been subjected to the weekend that didn’t quite work out. I know as a reader the fact that an author pays attention to detail is a huge bonus, I’ve read books where one fact negates or contradicts something else in the book and it’s confusing not to mention extremely distracting when you’re trying to carry on with reading the story and your brain keeps stuttering along screaming “no…wait…that’s not right…what just happened?” Hopefully the week will go by quickly and your awesome weekend will be upon you before you know it.

    • Thanks! And yeah, the details have to be right, otherwise it drives readers nuts. I know. I’ve read books like that. “Oh, wait, you said this a few pages back, and now it’s that. As you said, it’s confusing and tends to destroy immersion in the story.

  2. Judy says:

    Sorry to hear this *hug* Already planning another marathon? Hmmm, shouldn’t you allow yourself to relax a little? It sounds like you could use a break …. maybe sleep long, have a nice long walk with Suki, recharge a bit. I’ll keep my fingers crossed this week will be better. ❤

    • I have four jobs. No time to take much of a break. But Suki and I walk every afternoon after she eats dinner. I need to get out and remember there’s a larger world out there, and she needs to sniff every blade of grass on the route.

  3. W. Lotus says:

    I had a productive weekend mostly spent close to home. I thought we’d be going out, but that didn’t happen, and I don’t mind.

    How the hell is it already Monday, though? *dies*

  4. I guess we need both types of days…..the ones where the ideas and words just flow and others where you need to sit down and work on all the little details that if you don’t take care of end up biting you in the…….but I much prefer the days where everything just “flows”, feels like you accomplish so much more and it’s so very satisfying to see the results. Hopefully next week works out better!

  5. diannegray says:

    I love it when the writing just flows. Those days when it doesn’t are the ones where I’m best off doing the cleaning and washing 😉

Leave a Reply

