Old MacDonald had a farm…

Last Sunday, I needed a break, so I looked at google maps for a bit, and then went off to discover new things. (Speaking of google maps, have you seen the latest iteration? It’s incredible!)

I found Dodge Nature Center. Three hundred and twenty-two acres of land ofering long walks on nice trails through thick woods, several lakes, a garden, fields, windmills, and animals. I felt like I was in Wisconsin, while all around me, the city went on: traffic, people, the usual stuff.

Dodge 1 7.28.13 sm.

I enjoy being in St Paul, but sometimes, the noise and crush of people get to me. For instance, someone in the neighborhood thinks it’s cool to give a loud sharp whistle. It’s always unexpected and makes me jump. No reason, he just does it. And then he does it again. I want to stomp on his instep. There’s already plenty of racket in the area; why add to it?

Finding a place like this only minutes from where I live was wonderful. I plan to spend a lot of time there over the next few weeks. Below is a field just off one of the entrances. No livestock in it, at present, but maybe one day soon. Behind the trees in the middle is another lake; I didn’t see an easy trail to it, and the ticks are still plentiful, so I resisted. On the left behind the fence is a garden. The local kids show up during the day to weed and learn about vegetables. Dodge Nature Center is a teaching facility on weekdays. On weekends, guests are encouraged to roam as long as they are respectful.

Dodge 6 field 7.28.13 sm

If you read the website, you’ll know they have a very long boardwalk that crosses a lake or two. The cattails grow tall on either side, and I was chased by dragonflies as I walked along. Here and there are benches and more open areas, so you can sit and enjoy the views.

Dodge 5 boardwalk 7.28.13 sm

The water was really green with algae last weekend. Didn’t seem to bother the Canada geese.

Dodge 4 geese water 7.28.13 sm

In the farm area are burros, chickens, goats, and according to the website, raptors. I have to go back so I can see them! I saw two barns; this is one of them.

Dodge 3 Barn Cow 7.28.13 sm

I spotted an Old English rooster. Those suckers can be scary. They have long spurs, and I’ve been attacked by one before. Very protective of their flock. However, I like the look of this handsome fellow. I believe it’s a White-Faced Black Spanish rooster.

Dodge 2 Rooster 7.28.13 sm

Perhaps I can return this weekend, although Saturday is already booked with work for my boss at the apartment building, and Sunday, I WRITE.

It’s August already. 😦 Summer is running out!

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography, RL and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Old MacDonald had a farm…

  1. Karen says:

    Love the pictures gorgeous as always. I especially like the barn. It looks well cared for and the fieldstone base is wonderful.
    I hope you get lots of writing done on Sunday especially if it’s on your latest WIP and it nets us another peek at what’s going on (how’s that for a subtle hint, lol…not.) Don’t forget to squeeze in some fun and relaxation while you’re at it.

  2. Dani says:

    looks beautiful on your pictures as usual hope you are aible to spend some more time there!
    xx

  3. Allison says:

    All your nature shots lately have really made me want to go hiking somewhere. Maybe, if I can find the time, this weekend will work out! Thank you, as always, for sharing your photography with us.

  4. Elin Gregory says:

    I think even the most dedicated city dweller needs a bit of green from time to time and I know from your photos that you appreciate it more than most. I’m glad you’ve found a nice open spot close to you.

    • There are bits of green everywhere in St Paul, but this one stands out because there’s so much in one place. I walked for half an hour without seeing a soul. That’s a wonderful thing in a metro area. 🙂

  5. W. Lotus says:

    I need to find a place like this to take T. I recently discovered she gets her spiritual energy by being out in nature as much as possible. She’d love a place like that.

  6. A.M.B. says:

    Great pictures! It’s so hard to believe it’s already summer and that now we’re almost a full week into it. I’ve been so busy with work this summer that I feel like I wasted the season.

    • Our summer started late and seems to be ending early. Today it is chilly and wet. The evenings last week required one to wear a jacket when sitting outside. It was still July then!

Leave a Reply

