On the Waterfront

Dreamspinner sent Blue River to me for first edits, so I spent two days doing that before sending it back. I’m anxious to see what kind of cover they come up with. They have it scheduled for an October release.

At this point, it’s going to be a race to see which one comes out first, that release or my as-yet-unnamed WIP.

I’ve been visiting the river this week, and I got a few nice photos. This first location is near the downtown St Paul airport. If you follow the access road around back, you get a terrific view of the water.

On the River 7.23.13 sm

Notice the heron under the trees? I did, too, and zoomed in to get this shot.

Heron Under Trees 7.23.13 sm

Those pics are from a couple nights ago. The following two are from Thursday evening. We’d gone out to dinner with my building boss and his wife, and afterward, I was restless, so I got on the scooter and returned to my favorite river road, which follows the water rather closely for about a mile.

First thing I saw was this loooooooooong canoe. I guess they were practicing synchronized rowing, but when I took the shot, they were sitting there listening to the person standing. Please note the woman toward the back of the boat. It looks to me like she’s licking the oar. What do you think? Yes? The next question is WHY?

Maybe it’s some outlandish ritual I’m unfamiliar with. Maybe licking an oar brings you luck. Or maybe she was really hungry.

Licking the Oar 7.25.13 sm

I noticed one of the paddle boats coming along, so I positioned myself to get the best possible picture of it. See the woman in red taking my photo while I was taking hers? In fact, everyone on that side of the boat was watching me. 🙂 I suppose there wasn’t much else to look at except trees and more trees. There was a turtle in the water next to me though. He looked interesting.

Jonathan Paddleford 7.25.13 sm

That’s it for this week! See you Monday.

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography, publishing, RL, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to On the Waterfront

  1. Linda says:

    Your pictures as usual are beautiful. It gives me a chance to experience a place I’ve never been, and I certainly love the outdoors. I am originally from Missouri so we have beautiful outdoor scenery. Now, I’m in Texas, South Texas to be exact and the scenery is certainly different, very scrubby. Yours remind me of home, thank you for sharing them.

    • You’re welcome! That’s one of the best things about shared photos; they let you glimpse another place or remember where you’ve been. I would love to see photos from Florida and North Carolina. Also mountains. I love the mountains!

      I hope to be able to take another trip to see mountains soon. I miss them.

      • You and A.J. are more than welcome at our place in beautiful northwestern Montana. I love playing “native guide” and taking visitors to such places as Glacier National Park, Flathead Lake, and Tibet. (Yes, you can drive to Tibet from our home.)

        • Sounds terrific! I was in Montana once when I was a kid. I can’t even remember who my parents were visiting, but I recall a tame hawk and a sky that went on forever.

  2. Christine J. says:

    Lovely photos, as always! I, like Linda, appreciate the opportunity to see pictures from an area of the country I have never visited. Though I live in California and have the chance to view a variety of vistas, I am intrigued by so many other regions and the unique beauty they offer. If you like mountain photos, I have some I took last August in the Diamond Lake/Crater Lake area of Oregon. I can forward a few via email if you’re interested.

    Also very excited to hear about the upcoming releases! Again, still cheering you on! :o)

  3. Karen says:

    I really love the first two pictures their just beautiful nature shots. Not sure what to say about the woman licking the oar and yes that’s what it looks like she’s doing and sorry but Ooooowwwwwwwwwwww gross! Really unhygienic much? I mean who knows where that oar has been so if it’s a ‘for luck thing’ well, I hope it works but personally I’m thinking a four leaf clover would be better, lol! Have an excellent weekend!

  4. Isa says:

    Love the pics. I think the people in the boat are learning to row. I’m not sure why you would lick the oar, maybe to get some spit on it so you have a better grip? If that is the case I would have spit into my hand before I licked the oar.

    Can’t wait for the books. I have them on my to buy list.

  5. Dani says:

    feel myself looking forward to reading your blog and looking at what beautiful pictures you shot this time 🙂
    looking forward to your new books also 🙂
    hugs Dani

  6. Allison says:

    I can’t imagine licking an oar I owned, if I owned one, but to lick one that random strangers use? So nasty.

    Yay! 2 books coming so soon! Very much looking forward to them both!

  7. I was curious about the woman licking her oar so I went online put “spit” and “oar” in my search engine and found a site that explained the whole spit/oar thing and Isa was right, its to get a better grip…..but nothing about licking….maybe when she was a kid her mom told its not nice to spit, hence the licking?!
    Love the picture with the crane

  8. diannegray says:

    Thanks for taking me on this lovely tour with you, Theo. I’m not sure if the woman is licking the oar, I think she may be sniffing it (but I’m not sure what’s worse!)

  9. Lindsaysf says:

    Glorious!

  10. W. Lotus says:

    I haven’t seen a genuine paddleboat in forever. We have a fake one here in NYC; the paddle just hangs there. I prefer the real thing.

    That heron is beautiful, especially in that light. My camera is jealous of your camera.

Leave a Reply

