The Trip North

Suki and I went north this weekend while AJ stayed behind to write his fool head off. He missed some fine weather, but I’m sure he didn’t mind. He got a lot done. Also, thanks to those of you who nagged him about eating. It helped. πŸ™‚

The first pic I got was of the bird below, with the berry in its mouth. I believe it is a Phoebie, and she yelled at me a lot because her nest was over the front door and I was on the deck keeping her from her babies. I was probably about thirty feet away.

Bird with Berry 7.20.13 sm

When I arrived Friday afternoon, the weather was just starting to turn from uber hot to quite comfortable. That night, cool air moved in, and we woke to wonderful temps. I was standing on the deck watching Suki sniff in the yard when a bluebird flew in and landed ten feet from me. It would have been a PERFECT SHOT except I’d left my camera inside. Cursing myself, I stared at the bluebird, who stared back at me. Neither of us moved for at least fifteen seconds, and then I decided to go for it.

The moment I turned, the bird was gone. Let this be a lesson to you! Always take the camera, even when letting out the dog to pee.

The deer flies were voracious. You could barely go outside before they were dive-bombing your head. I got bit several times walking to the car and back. Needless to say, my friend and I spent a lot of time indoors this weekend. However, I did get outside long enough to take a couple pics of flowers. Both are of lillies, which is my friend’s favorite.

Lily 1 7.20.13 sm

Red lillies 7.20.13 sm

Last but not least, a pic of Suki in the sun streaming in the open door Saturday morning. She hates posing. When she sees the camera, I have to be stern with her because otherwise, she will slink away, head and tail down. I think she doesn’t realize how cute she is.

Suki up North 7.20.13 sm

AJ wasn’t the only one writing this weekend. I got back home Saturday afternoon, and after unpacking and getting settled, I dove into my WIP, which is coming along nicely. It’s possible I will have it complete and ready to release at the end of August, but I make no promises. It’s still summer here, and I have to spend a certain amount of time outside, soaking in the heat in prep for the coming winter.

On the way home, however, I spotted a wonderful place. Come back Wednesday to see! (Sparklies, lots of sparklies!)

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography, RL and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to The Trip North

  1. Great pictures, Theo. I especially love lilies, and hope to have plenty of them gracing our new home and gardens. The birds are just so exasperating. They’ll fly right up to you when you’re not ready. I have a hummingbird that just loves to stop its flight right in front of me, but disappears when I reach for the camera. And Suki is just adorable.

    • Suki is a sweetie, for sure.

      And yeah, it’s like that game birds play with your car, where they swoop in front of it, nearly giving you a heart attack. I didn’t see that bluebird again!

      My friend has planted hundreds of lillies on his property, but he’s in the midst of relocating them to his home in Florida. Better weather down there, and the deer don’t eat so many of them.

  2. Helle says:

    Lovely photos – as usual πŸ™‚ (can’t think of a new way to say it)
    Suki is a sweetheart! Or at least she looks it…

    • She’s a very good dog. I rarely lose my temper with her, and of course, I never paddle her butt. I have given her a tap on that ass when she misbehaved as a puppy, but she learned quickly and is very obedient.

      My biggest complaint with her is when we’re on our walks and she has her nose stuck in a scent. I call and call and she totally ignores me! A couple of times, I’ve simply scooped her up and walked on. She has the grace to look embarrassed.

  3. Allison says:

    You caught Suki in that “I’m going to bolt the instant I can” pose perfectly. I can see the tension in her front paws that I always see in my pups when they don’t want to be doing what I want them to do. I imagine it is the dog version of the eyeroll kids give their parents. πŸ™‚

    Possibly August? Wow! Fingers crossed we get it that soon.

  4. Karen says:

    Glad to hear you had a good trip and that AJ remembered to eat (courtesy of the reminders he got I’m sure). Love the deep fuchsia coloured lilies, I know I have some deep purple giant bearded irises in my front garden and when they bloom the profusion of colour is amazing.

    Good to know my little furball isn’t the only one who seems to be camera shy, not sure why because Suki is definitely a little beauty. Maybe it’s a small dog thing, I know our Dal was a total camera whore, it was hard to get a picture without her in it if she saw you pull out the camera.

    I will cross my fingers for your continued progress on your WIP so that you can keep your fingers uncrossed for typing purposes. Good luck!

  5. rilkerainer says:

    Basto tan solo los ojos para descubrirte. Basto tan solo tu imagen para seguirte. BastΓ³ tan sΓ³lo un sΓ­ en el momento justo para que muriera el eres. Basto tan solo dos palabras para saber quien eres… Un saludo y gracias por estar ahΓ­. Escribir es una forma de continuar vivo en este mundo…
    Abrazos envueltos.

  6. suze294 says:

    I love lillies, love your photos as always, so a perfect post!

  7. Dani says:

    Always such a nice thing to see a notification of your new blogpost πŸ™‚
    you have a way with words You should do something with that write a book or something πŸ˜‰
    lovely pictures again πŸ™‚
    hugs dani

Leave a Reply

