Friday Snippets While the Sun Beats Me Over the Head

It’s been a week of temps in the 90s, and AJ and I are ready for a cool-down. According to weather forecasts, Saturday and Sunday will be in the 70s. Quite a change!

My Florida friend is returning home Monday, so I’m going up north for one last visit while AJ stays home to write. He’s very excited about what’s happening with Queers lately, and itching to spend long, long hours at the computer. While thus engaged, he remembers to go to the bathroom but forgets to eat, so if you want to yell at him occasionally, please do so.

As for me… last night, we went out for dinner at our favorite Mexican place, and while AJ was on his phone, I was scribbling story lines for the major characters in my WIP. I don’t usually do this, but their lives are so entwined, I have to be very sure of the order of events so everything works out correctly. I’ve already warned my friend I’m doing some writing during our visit, so I expect to get farther in the story than I have all week. 

There is still plenty of room to add or change things; I couldn’t write it otherwise. I’ve said this many times, but it’s true: if I know where the story’s going, I lose all interest in it. Like the reader, I want to be surprised.

I’m finishing up an edit for one of our favorite m/m authors, T Baggins. You read her Gay for Pay a few months back and rightfully loved it. Get ready for another amazing story! It centers around a vamp.  –Yes! I know! Been there, done that, but in the hands of this incredible writer, vamps shine again, and are viciously evil, as they should be. You will love these characters, and the story will make you gasp and cringe. There’s also a death-defying romance. Follow the writer on Facebook so you know the instant it’s released.

On the last day of June, I visited Raspberry Island. We’ve been there before via photos; remember the couple dancing under the shelter? Beyond that, on the far end of the island, there was flooding. In the background is the Robert Street Bridge. In front of that bridge is the rail line. For those of you unfamiliar with the area, this is the great Mississippi River.

Raspberry Island Flooding 6.30.13 sm.

While I was there, a girl started jumping up and down in the water over the walkway. Belatedly, I wished I’d gotten video of her. She was having the best time!

Raspberry Island Flooding with Girl 6.30.13 sm

 

And finally, I went under the arch of the shelter where the couple danced and took this photo. That’s downtown St Paul in the background, and yes, the sky really was two different shades of blue! Most of the pictures I took that day with sky in them displayed this effect if I was facing west.

Under the Arch 6.30.13 sm

 

Have a great weekend! See you Monday.

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography, publishing, RL and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Friday Snippets While the Sun Beats Me Over the Head

  1. Judy says:

    Amazing pictures! *thumbs-up*
    Vampires? Really? Oh goody-goody-goody.
    Enjoy your trip …. but don’t forget the promised snippets 😉

    • Heh. You already got them.

      I see what you’re doing! You want more from the story about Zach and Sky. Okay, here’s a snippet:

      He lowered his voice so it wouldn’t carry beyond their table. “I’m bisexual.”

      When a lightning bolt didn’t immediately strike him dead, he was pleasantly surprised. He was further amazed when Sky’s expression didn’t change, though there was a brief flicker in her eyes before she rolled pasta onto her fork and ate it.

      Blood thrumming in his ears, he waited with suspended breath for her reaction. She chewed, swallowed, and sipped her wine before looking at him again. He knew that ploy. He’d used it himself. She was thinking about it, giving herself time to process before responding.

      His first impulse was to fill the awkward silence with words, but he clamped his lips shut and remained silent. He’d just say something stupid; he usually did in such situations.

      • Judy says:

        Am I that easy to figure out? *whistle* But you’re right (of course) I want more 😉
        And yes, I am that greedy.

  2. Karen says:

    Ok so I’m as greedy as Judy…maybe worse. I want it all, please write faster, but have a fun weekend too. I think I might have a book or two to occupy myself with until your current WIP in ready for public consumption. In the meantime all snippets are appreciated. Thank you!

  3. I love those images, Theo. I usually have an idea of where my stories are going, but then my characters surprise me. 🙂

  4. diannegray says:

    I love the way you like to be surprised by your own stories, Theo – that’s very much like me. Have a great time! 😀

  5. Dani says:

    lovely pictures as Always Theo 🙂
    enjoy your weekend xx

  6. Pingback: Coming Soon: the eBook and Paperback of SOULLESS | shadesofgay

  7. Allison says:

    Could you have packed anymore goodness into this post? Great shots, news about T’s book & then a snippet on top of it. You’re spoiling us!

Leave a Reply

