Wednesday Re-Do

I didn’t sleep well last night. Tossed and turned for hours, mind racing a mile a minute as I thought about all my jobs, what each one required of me immediately, and how to get it all done by deadline. So today, I’m revisiting a few of my favorite photos because now that I’m up and sort of awake, I find I don’t want to think of anything at all!

Hate nights like that.Β 

First photo: Suki in the canoe during a pit stop last fall. She took to the water easily, just like she took to riding the scooter. This dog has balls bigger than mine. πŸ™‚ There is nothing she won’t do, but just like most people, there are days when she feels fragile and needs to be by my side every second, preferably curled up in my lap. We all need comforting sometimes.Β 

Suki Kayak 10.16.12 sm

 

My boss’s library, still one of my favorite roomsΒ ever. I mean, what’s not to like?

 

Library

 

This one, because of the light. I need summer but I love fall because the light is special at that time of the year.Β 

 

Fall Line 10.2.11

 

Enjoy Wednesday! I have another busy day coming up, but I’ll be back Friday with something or other. Heh.Β 

 

 

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography, RL and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Wednesday Re-Do

  1. Allison says:

    Sorry about the night, I hate those nights. I love that Suki is such a little sweetie but she acts like she’s a hunting dog half the time. Little dogs have such force of personality! That library…wow, I would give up most of my house to have that room.

  2. Karen says:

    I hate nights like that at our house we call it busy brain because as much as you want to sleep, you just can’t get your brain to stop working and it sucks the next day when you start to feel totally wiped out long before your day is going to end. Hopefully tonight will be better for you.

    Soooooooo….I totally want to go live in your bosses library, it’s awesome. I don’t think there’s anything I like better than being surrounded by books. I love my e-reader, but I have to admit there are times that I sneak down to the library/office space we have just so I can be near my books. I usually end up browsing through them and picking out one or two to read. It’s just comforting.

    Suki is definitely the adventurous type. I know our little guy will do just about anything as long as he gets to be with me and the hubby. He hates being left alone, but sometimes taking him with us isn’t the best option for him whether he likes it or not and I’d much rather leave him at home with his toys, comfy bed and some water than in a car in the heat, which just leads to the fact that I don’t understand why people say they love their pets and then do shit like that. If you love them do what’s best and safest for them.

    • I never leave Suki in the car when it’s hot. I don’t understand people who do that either. Poor things! It can kill them!

      I do have a trick I use to shut off my brain when it’s racing in the hamster wheel, but it didn’t work last night. Guess I was more hyper than I thought!

  3. Christine J. says:

    Ah, Theo, I can certainly relate to the “busy brain” as Karen calls it. As a light sleeper, I wake easily and have not truly slept well since my youngest daughter was born….over 20 years ago! That’s when I pick up my latest read and let my brain escape from the burden of life’s responsibilities! It doesn’t always work, either, so sometimes my day starts as early as 3:30 a.m. Ugh!

    Suki is adorable, and what a sense of adventure! How fortunate you are to have her in your life. Also, the photo of the library is stunning. Oh, to have that kind of space to devote to beloved books!

    • I normally sleep well, but some nights, the thoughts keep whirling. When I was working at home, I’d just get up and go online or read a bit. Now that I have a job and have to adhere to a schedule, I try to go back to sleep immediately. Doesn’t always work.

      Paper books are great, but I no longer have room for them. I’m almost strictly an ebook buyer now.

      • Christine J. says:

        The invention of the ebook has its saving graces and its curses. While it allows me to hoard my titles all on a “cloud,” it is also way too easy to hit the deadly “Buy Now with 1-Click” button. Yikes! Fortunately I have recently discovered how many really good free reads there are out there and am trying to take advantage of them. Hubby will be much happier with the credit card bill, too. ;o)

        • I take advantage of free reads, as well. Amazon makes this all too easy. I have books on the kindle I may not read in the next twenty years! But they sounded so good, I had to have them.

          There are also the books that sounded good and then you start reading and realize it sucks. Usually, it’s the editing that leaps at me, screaming “autonomous body parts!” or “homonym homicide!” πŸ™‚ And then I throw them in my new folder entitled “DNF.” I have three in there now. Life is too short to force my way through badly-edited drivel.

          • Christine J. says:

            Yes, my little elementary students have an excuse for the incorrect use of homophones. Adults, particularly those who consider themselves writers, do not. It’s a huge pet peeve of mine to see “homonym homicide” in any book, particularly one that has the potential to be a very good read otherwise.

            You and I appear to be kindred spirits when it comes to loading up the Kindle. Is there such a thing as a book siren? I hear an unmistakable call when I read a tempting synopsis! So many stories, so little time….

          • I will never live long enough to read everything I want to, much less re-read my favorites. I think that’s a good thing, because there is always at least one thing to look forward to each day.

          • Christine J. says:

            I completely agree. Settling down with a good book is one of my deepest pleasures, and I look forward to that special time each day when I can indulge. I hope you sleep better tonight, Theo. Sweet dreams! πŸ™‚

          • Thanks! Already, I’m looking forward to sliding beneath the sheets and cuddling up to…

            Well, you know who. πŸ™‚

  4. diannegray says:

    What an amazing library! I think of dusting when I see it, so I’d like to go there, but not own it (unless I had a maid) πŸ˜‰ Suki has become my favorite on-line dog. She just too cute! πŸ˜€

  5. Karen says:

    Ok Suki would write an awesome post, let’s face it so often dogs are smarter than us. I don’t buy strictly e-books yet but I’m working on it, I have some series that I started buying either in paperback or hardback so I’m finishing them up the same way (it bugs me if the whole series isn’t the same) and I totally agree with diannegray that library needs it’s own maid to ensure proper care and besides if you had to dust it there would be no time for reading, lol.

  6. Isa says:

    Jealous of the library. It looks like she has some room for more books though. I would love to read Suki’s post. I wonder what my cat thinks sometimes and sometimes I really don’t want to know.

    • They’re kind of spooky, aren’t they? When she stares at me, I almost see the wheels turning around in her head. Often, I suspect she’s thinking “Fen is such a jerk. All I want is food, a soft bed, and the occasional walk. The rest is superfluous. Stop playing on the computer and pay attention to me!”

      πŸ™‚

  7. Karen says:

    LMAO!!! You totally know your dog, because I’m guessing you nailed it.

  8. Karen says:

    Ok if you add in when is my next belly rub and where’s my chew toy, it pretty much covers my pup.

    • I forgot the belly rub. Suki doesn’t chew much anymore, though. Last time was when CG brought her bouncy dog into work. Suki saw Delilah had a chewie and grabbed it. Everyone thought that was hilarious. I knew better. Suki was exerting dominance; she soon lost interest in the chewie. She only took it to make a point.

  9. Karen says:

    Our current dog is a 2 yr old Sealyham Terrier, in general they like to chew, but luckily for me, he has never damaged any shoes, clothing or furniture he likes his chew toys unlike our Dalmatian who wracked up literally hundreds of dollars in all of the above (never, never let a Dal get bored you will regret it) however, she was a beautiful, loving and brave soul so all was forgiven. She saved us from a home invasion once when there was just me and our 5 year old at home, I will cherish that dog until the day I die and beyond, shoes and furniture mean nothing compared to that kind of love and bravery. She was with us for 17 years.

  10. W. Lotus says:

    OMFG, we need that library in our house.

Leave a Reply

