Work it, Baby. Work it.

Last Sunday night, I woke at midnight, my guts aching and on fire. I was up the rest of the night, trying to maintain the status quo (how’s that for delicate?). I didn’t fall back asleep until dawn. Exhausted, I called in sick for the first time–on a Monday, and after a holiday, no less, which is verboten. Monday is the busiest day, but I was in no shape to make calls and sound friendly.

CG showed up, I was told. That made me feel better. I don’t like letting people down. It’s one of my quirks.

She’s been there every day this week, but once I was back, she slacked off badly. Thursday, for instance, she spent an hour filing her nails and not working. Then she asked the Boss if she could call a friend in emotional distress; she spent an hour and a half in the back room with the door shut while Church Lady and I answered phones and worked.

I bitched to AJ, who said I should tell the boss how little CG is actually doing. The problem is, Boss treats CG as her daughter, cutting her far more slack than she does others in the office. Saying anything will only boomerang on me.

So AJ suggested I confront CG, telling her everyone is sick of her not doing her job, but CG would just agree she’s fucking up and has a lousy work ethic (she’s admitted it before) and how can you answer that?

So Church Lady, Bill, and I are kind of stuck with this shit. We can mutter to ourselves and each other all we like, but nothing’s gonna change.

_________

I told you the scooter came over from Wisconsin, right? I’ve been riding it to work the last couple of weeks when the weather was fine, and guess who’s riding with me?

SUKI.

Yup, I decided she had to learn, so after returning from work one day, I put her in a backpack I wore across my chest and took her for a little spin around the neighborhood. She settled right in, her little head sticking out the top of the backpack, sniffing the air, curious about what was going on.

The next morning, she went with me to work. She was calm, quiet, and quite wonderful.

She’s traveled with me every nice day since. One morning, I had to stop at the store to get something for lunch because I left home in such a hurry, I forgot mine in the fridge. I couldn’t leave her out on the scooter; someone would have grabbed her. So I took her inside with me, in the backpack. I was in and out in five minutes. No one said a word, not in the store anyway.

Outside in the parking lot, Suki got a lot of attention. Little old ladies love her. πŸ™‚ They wanted to take pictures of her on the scooter. We posed.

I continue to be amazed at how readily she took to riding, wind in her face, cars and trucks rushing by. Dogs are amazing.Β This dog is incredible. I love her. I’m humbled by her trust in me, believing without doubt I will protect her from all bad things. She didn’t even hold it against me when I accidentally stepped on her at work today. ;/

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in RL and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Work it, Baby. Work it.

  1. Allison says:

    I have the most wonderful picture in my head of her little ears flying back in the wind as she peeks out the top of the backpack. There is nothing else like the joy a dog brings into your life. Maybe there will be Suki with the scooter shots sometime in the future?

    • Since I’m the one that takes the photos, and AJ is at work when I leave and get home, I’ll have to arrange for someone to take a shot. She’s cute as the dickens, no kidding.

      Tiny dog goggles would look great on her. πŸ™‚

      • Allison says:

        I’d love to see her in the goggles! She would be too cute, well okay, more cute than she already is!

      • Allison says:

        Ha, I’d probably make a fool of myself if you drove up next to me with her in the backpack with her goggles on. I’d be smiling like a goof and waving at her, forget you, the dog is the draw! ;0)

  2. Linda says:

    I hope we get pictures of you and Suki on the scooter.

  3. suze294 says:

    Suki definitely should get goggles – maybe a biggles hat!

  4. Valerie says:

    I think our pets, especially dogs reflect the kind if owners they have. People who treat their pets like family have pets who love and trust them and can be the kind of pet Suki is…..:) you guys lucked out with each other!

    • I guess we did. πŸ™‚ I’ve had dogs before, but she’s by far the best one.

      This is not to say she doesn’t occasionally drive me crazy, but mostly, she’s perfect.

  5. diannegray says:

    I can just imagine you and Suki on the scooter! What a great image (maybe a photo is in order). I’m glad you’re feeling better πŸ˜€

    • Oh, yeah. I was fully recovered within 24 hours. Just a glancing blow from something I ate.

      I hope to get a pic of Suki on the scooter in the next couple of days.

  6. Valerie says:

    Petstreetmall.com/doggles-eyewear…..has some incredibly cute pink rhinestone dog sunglasses if Suki is a girly girl…..LOL

  7. Dani says:

    sorry you felt sick Theo !
    would like to see the pic too πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

