On Television Shows and Some Photos

As most of you know, I don’t watch much television. 1) I no longer have satellite or cable, 2) most of it seems really stupid, and 3) I don’t have the time.

But I like the distraction of watching something short while dinner’s cooking and we’re eating. It’s a little break in my work day, which starts at 6:30 or 7 and goes until bed time. ย AJ’s day starts even earlier.

I’m currently alternating between two shows: Dexter S7 and Northern Exposure. I’m getting the former from Netflix, one disc at a time, so in between DVDs, I watch the latter.

Northern Exposure debuted in 1990 and was an instant hit, as I recall. Fish-out-of-water New York City-trained doctor, Joel Fleishman, is indentured to the small Alaskan town of Cicely, which was founded by two lesbians.

Yup, LGBT was portrayed positively in a show made twenty-three years ago. Not only that, but a gay couple decide to open a B&B in a later season. We have Holling, in his 60s, shacked up with Shelly, in her late teens. Maurice is a retired astronaut who represents the Republican point of view, but lest you think he’s annoying, well… he is, but he’s also interesting. He is abnormally addicted to show tunes, which leads to some fascinating supposition by the town’s residents.

Maggie, the love interest, loses lovers in strange ways (one died on a glacier taking a nap, another melded with a falling satellite). Chris, the radio station’s only DJ, served time in prison but beautiful women are drawn to him like a moth to a flame. Marilyn, Joel’s Native Americanย receptionist (“There is no job!”), lives in mysterious ways, as does young Ed, who was abandoned at birth and adopted by everyone.

I’m enthralled by all these characters, but what really gets me is how accepting everyone is of everyone else. If this series does anything, it shows how wonderful diversity can be, and how unthreatening differences are.

Embrace what makes you distinctive, and hopefully, so will others.

__________

The evening was nice, so I went off on the scooter to check out the neighborhood. It takes a while to map a new place, but the best way to do it is on wheels, albeit slowly. A scooter lets you take your time. People expect you to move slowly.

I’m a big fan of interesting architecture. Spotted this house on Oakdale, so I went back and rolled right into the driveway to take a picture.

Huge House Oakdale 7.9.13 sm

I can’t even imagine how much upkeep on such a place would cost, especially in winter. I suspect they close part of it off to save on heat bills. I was aching to go inside and poke in all the corners, but even I am not that brazen.

Saw another interesting house, this one on Ohio, I think. It’s a funeral home. I’ve heard letting the ivy cover the house ruins the siding, but who cares when it looks this wonderful?

Funeral Home House 7.9.13 sm

 

Imagine having to trim around the windows every couple weeks so you can see out. ๐Ÿ™‚ Always loved the look of this but I’ve never lived in a place where it was feasible to do it.

I couldn’t help but swing by the river for a quick look. The sky was looking very nice, full of interesting cloud formations, so I grabbed this photo.

Mississippi River Bridge 7.9.13 sm

 

That’s a bridge over the river, Highway 149.

The road following the river is still freaking closed. Kind of pisses me off, as the summer is quickly passing. I really, really want to follow the road as far as it goes. I hope they finish construction soon.

As usual, I ignored the “road closed” barriers and traveled as far as I could, which wasn’t far enough! Flouting authority is always fun. ๐Ÿ˜‰

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in RL and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to On Television Shows and Some Photos

  1. cindyls1969 says:

    I don’t watch a lot of TV myself. I usually put the news on in the morning before my dayhome kids get here and I have a couple of shows I adore…Supernatural is my one “I am not missing this” show. The rest? I could really care less. Hubby is a TV addict so it’s on far more than I’d like. I have never watched Dexter, but did love Northern Exposure. It always made me smile.

    Absolutely adore your pics. Those houses would totally fascinate me as well. I suspect I could spend hours and hours walking that neighborhood.

    • The neighborhood is full of wonderful houses. I’ll no doubt be posting pics of them as the summer progresses. This is “old St Paul,” which means each house is singular and does not look like the one next door.

  2. ameliabishop says:

    Northern Exposure was one of my favorite shows! I still miss it…are you watching it on regular tv? I would love to see those old friends again ๐Ÿ™‚ The dialogue was fantastic on that show. Also, so much was “said without being said” about social class structure, socio-economic issues, race, gender equality, religion. They just don’t make shows like that anymore!
    I also love Dexter, but I am almost reluctant to watch since I know it is the last season. I’ll be sad when that ends! Another show I currently like is Veep on HBO (season just ended), it’s kind of like a funny version of Newsroom (which I find too serious, I much prefer the funny), it might be on netflix?
    Love the pics, but I can hardly stand the thought of that ivy house. I lived in a house partially covered in ivy once…one word about that: ANTS!

    • I have the show on DVD. Bought it some years ago and this is the first time I’m watching it again. What a pleasure!

      I’m sad about Dexter ending, too, but a new season just started. I’ll watch it when it goes to Netflix.

      … And ants? Never thought of that! Oy.

  3. Your photos, as always, are outstanding. Thanks for sharing them. And I, too, love the wonderful old houses one can find when out exploring. As for TV, Northern Exposure, in my opinion, is one of the best shows ever put on television. I would be watching it still were it still on.

  4. Dani says:

    I love your pictures Theo you are great with a camera!
    dont know the series i believe Dexter airs here on occasion but didnt watch it so far
    I like watching tv on occasion some series i like to watch or a good movie.

  5. I’d love to live in those houses, especially the brick one, as long as I didn’t have to deal with the utility bills (I’d install solar and a small windmill).
    Television has been up and down for me. You’re right. There’s not much good these days. The Killing is quality. Game of Thrones is much better than the books (in my opinion).
    The problem is that reality shows have taken over and pushed potentially good ideas off the air.

    • I’d watch Game of Thrones, but that requires spending money on satellite again, and I refuse to pay that much for one show. If you could pay only for the channels you watch/want, I’d consider it. I’ll catch it from Netflix or Amazon Prime.

      I think solar panels and a windmill would work for that house; extensive grounds are included, so they have the room for the latter.

  6. Karen says:

    I absolutely love Northern Exposure, I was sick for the better part of 6 weeks a few years back and spent many of my afternoons watching reruns of it on A&E, I was totally addicted to that show and will still watch it if I happen to stumble across any reruns of it. Have admit my kids (meaning adults aged 26) are total fiends for Dexter, just not my thing. However, I did get American Gothic for Christmas this year and I am dying to curl up and marathon it, I adore Gary Cole and it was just an interestingly bizarre series that only lasted a couple of years.

    • I’m on season 2 of NE. Elaine just broke up with Joel. Heh.

      The last disc of Dexter S7 arrives tomorrow in the mail. I will hate to see it end. Dark, yes. Gruesome, absolutely. But I love the Florida setting. Reminds me what I am missing.

      I’ve added Game of Thrones and The Killer to my queue on Christopher’s recommendation. Looking forward to it!

      • Karen says:

        Game of Thrones is excellent very much worth watching, my whole family is addicted to it we love it when the kiddles visit and we get to watch it as a family event. You should check out American Gothic when your list gets low, it was one weird and freaky show not normally my thing but for some reason I got hooked on it when it was on tv, I’m just sorry it only ran for a couple of seasons.

  7. Valerie says:

    Can’t imagine what it would take to paint that house with the ivy……!
    You would love my neighborhood…it’s called the “fabulous forties” all the houses are unique. You could wander around for years taking pictures….then there is this really amazing cemetery there if you like them…they’ve always fascinated me….

  8. Elin says:

    Super photos.
    I don’t watch much TV either, but I do enjoy giggling at Warehouse 13 and their sly references to history.
    Do you think The Killing could be a US remake of the Danish TV series? That was absolutely stunning even with subtitles.

    • I don’t know anything about The Killing, but I added it to my queue because Christopher recommended it. Game of Thrones is up first, so I won’t see that one for a while.

      And I have a few movies ahead of Game of Thrones. ;/

      It’s nice knowing there is good stuff ahead for my evening break. ๐Ÿ™‚ It’s the only time I watch TV anymore, and I’m fine with that! The quiet is very nice.

      I know someone who has the television on all the time. He only turns it off at night if he remembers to! Ugh, can’t stand that constant racket in the background. I prefer hearing nothing, or birds. Yes, birds are nice to hear.

  9. A.M.B. says:

    Northern Exposure is my favorite show of all time! I watch marathons of it every couple of years. It’s quirky and inclusive and celebrates a wide range of non-traditional relationships. I remember feeling very sad to learn that some of the actors in that show (particularly the woman who plays Maggie) are people who see the world very differently from how I see it (as I wrote in my post today, it’s hard to separate a person’s abhorrent views from their work). It’s all part of embracing diversity, I guess, and it’s still a great show.

    I love the pictures in this post, particularly the house/funeral home covered in ivy.

    • I learned years later that the actress playing Maggie is a right-leaning person, but I only vaguely remember it and I’m not gonna look her up again. I want to remember her as the wonderful character she played rather than the real person with whom I don’t agree.

      I guess they call it acting for a reason. ;/

      All the characters ended up annoying me at one time or another, just like family and friends do. Heh. But overall, I love them… just like family/friends.

      • A.M.B. says:

        Yes, it’s better not to look her up! I tend to have a high tolerance for different viewpoints–I love being challenged–but some of what I heard from her in 2008 and 2012 was just too much for me. She has every right to hold those views, but I have a right to disagree with her and ignore her.

        • I have a high tolerance for different viewpoints too… until you say something that negates someone else’s rights. Then I get kind of snarky. ๐Ÿ™‚

          I’m into season 2, now, but the last Dexter S7 disc arrived today, so I’m taking a break to finish up with that before returning to NE.

Leave a Reply

