Suki and I Take a Walk

Every day before AJ gets home, I feed Suki and take her for a walk. We have lots of different ways we can go but we generally choose our favorite, which is across Wabasha and up a street that offers a challenge, as it is one hell of a hill. By the time I reach the top, I’m breathing slightly heavier and feel like I got a good workout. The faster I walk, the better I feel.

Thursday afternoon, when we reached the top, I saw three boys taking skateboards out of the trunk of a car.

“You riding the hill?” I asked.

They grinned at me. “Yup.”

“Shit, I’m taking pictures then.” I’d noticed them skating the hill before, but this was the first time I had the camera and a few minutes to spend with them.Β 

I made Suki settle down in the grass beside the sidewalk while I stepped out into the road, positioning myself. We had to wait for a couple cars to pass, and then they started down.

This was one of the first shots I got.

Skateboarders 2 and 3 6.28.13 sm

That intersection at the bottom is scary dangerous because there’s a lot of traffic on it, especially at that time of day, and previously, a couple of the guys hadn’t stopped. I cautioned them, not wanting them to get hurt. I doubt they listened to me. They’re young. But today, they pulled over before hitting the intersection.

Suki was getting hot, laying in the sun, so we wandered down the block, around the corner onto a dead end street, then down the stairs of a small park.

Park Stairs 6.28.13 sm

This is my favorite part of the walk because it’s downhill. Heh. And because the first half is in the shade, it’s also cool.

When we reached the bottom, we were also at the bottom of the hill. The boys were still skating. I leaned against a truck parked at the side of the road and took more pictures. This one is my favorite.

Skateboarder 1 6.28.13 sm

I love the contrast between dark and light, and the lines of his body are graceful and beautiful. I used my non-destructive method of adding light to bring out some of the detail and brighten up a few of the darker areas. I love that patch of sunny leaves at the top right of the photo, and the way the light limns his shirt.

If I run into them again, I’ll offer to email copies to them.

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography, RL and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Suki and I Take a Walk

  1. Karen says:

    Excellent pictures, I bet they’d love to have copies hopefully you’ll get the chance to send them some. It’s so cool when you have your camera handy and can take random pics of people doing things they enjoy so often you get incredible shots that just can’t be posed.

    • I used to never go anywhere without the camera. Now, sometimes, I leave it at home. Often, I regret that. So I’ve determined to carry it with me again, wherever I go, because one never knows.

  2. Helle says:

    I see it isn’t raining πŸ™‚

  3. Dani says:

    nice pictures and i love to hear you talk i cannot help it πŸ™‚
    x Dani

  4. Allison says:

    I love looking at your shots; they make me want to run out and start taking my own. I don’t carry my camera with me nearly as much as I should. Thank you for sharing another one of your many talents!

    • You’re welcome. I love taking pictures almost as much as I like writing. I think the two complement each other, and the camera gets me away from the computer and outside.

  5. diannegray says:

    There’s something amazing about watching people move fast like this and getting good shots of them is a talent (that I don’t have unfortunately). These are great, Theo – well done πŸ˜€

    • Thanks! That last shot was a surprise. I was just snapping away, hoping for something good. Already, it’s one of my favorites. Don’t know if the boys will be back today, but I’ll watch for them. I really would like to offer him a copy. And get more photos. πŸ™‚

  6. W. Lotus says:

    Those are wonderful shots! The guys’ll like them, I bet.

Leave a Reply

