Sunday in the Woods with a Friend

AJ wasn’t feeling well Sunday morning, so I drove north by myself to spend the day with a friend visiting from Florida. He has a house near Grantsburg, WI. It’s on ten acres and has a creek, but we spent almost no time there. Instead, we jumped in his Explorer and drove around Crex Meadows, a huge wildlife refuge, Β and the surrounding area. I got some terrific pics.

Today, I’ll share landscapes. This is sort of in the center of where we were. Grantsburg is a huge tourist destination in summer.

Wild River Canoe and Kayak 6.17.13 sm

When you go through town, you see yellow geese painted on the roads. Follow them, and they take you to Crex Meadows. I plan to post the bird photos I shot on Wednesday.

For a while, we were lost on gravel roads. He sort of knew where we were, I sure as hell had no idea, and neither of us cared. It was sunny, hot, and there was a terrific breeze blowing. It was mostly about us being together again after such a long while and catching up on each other’s lives.

I spotted this rustic garage and asked my friend to stop. He was amenable. In fact, any time I asked him to pull over, he did. At one point, he was taking photos with his phone. πŸ™‚

Old Garage Grantsburg 6.17.13 sm

We were on one of those back roads when I spotted an eagle nest at the top of a dead tree.

Eagle's Nest 6.17.13 sm

That’s one hell of a silhouette, but I zoomed in and grabbed a closeup of the nest itself.

Eagle's Nest Closeup 6.17.13 sm

Amazing construction!

When I got home, AJ was already in bed. He had a migraine. He’s been getting them too much lately. I want him to go back to the doctor and try a different medicine. Or maybe he needs glasses. Who knows? I hate seeing him in pain though.

I’ll be back Wednesday with more photos.

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography, RL and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Sunday in the Woods with a Friend

  1. suze294 says:

    Great photo’s once again, love the rustic garage one – and you had sunshine!
    Maybe AJ’s migraines are from the release of tension from Safeword being finished and released – but you are right, get em checked.
    Looking forward to the bird photos

  2. A.M.B. says:

    Great pictures! I particularly like the eagle nest. I’m sorry to hear AJ isn’t feeling well. I used to get headaches before I started wearing glasses.

  3. Dani says:

    lovely pictures and blog again Theo
    i am sorry that Aj isnt well
    perhaps it is stressrelief from everything that happened with safeword
    the stress for the release and now all the terrific results after that
    lets hope he is feeling better soon
    hugs to both of you xx Dani

  4. Karen says:

    Hi Theo, glad you had a nice weekend with some agreeable weather, your pictures are excellent. Sorry to hear about AJ, he was suppose to be able to enjoy the nice weekend with you. I do agree with you he needs to go back to the doc and get things reassessed if his medication isn’t effectively working for him. Sorry, that’s the mom & 15 years of working in the healthcare field coming out in me. Ok, I’ve shoved mom back in the drawer. I hope AJ feels better soon.

  5. Thanks, everyone! AJ has been under stress lately, and now he’s moving directly into the next book. He can’t stop writing for long. πŸ™‚

    The weather was magnificent! So far, today has been a nice repeat except for the wind gusts. ;/ Dark clouds threaten, but maybe we can avoid more rain for a while.

  6. AJ Rose says:

    You guys are awesome with your concern. Here’s the problem. The migraines are a direct result of a pinched nerve in my neck. and more computer time exacerbates them. This constant promo and checking results and more promo of Safeword on top of my regular 8 hours at the day job aren’t helping, and I can’t use my speech-to-text software for all of it, because I’m not typing. I’m surfing.

    I asked my doctor about it, and she said physical therapy. I have 2 full time jobs. WHEN do I have time for that? Not to mention the expense (because my health insurance has a pretty steep deductible before they’ll cover 100%). So I decided my money will be better spent going to a massage therapist regularly to work out the neck problem at the source. I just haven’t had time to make an appointment.

    I don’t want to keep throwing drugs at the problem when they’re not exactly migraines.They don’t have the same cause, and migraine drugs are the only thing that even kind of works. So I’m already on the wrong stuff because it’s the only thing that works (and only kinda, like 60% of the time) and more of the same won’t help. And I refuse to entertain the idea of surgery. Not on my spine. No way. So I just deal with it and hope maybe the massages will help and try to work out better sitting positions for when I’m on the computer.

  7. Karen says:

    Add in an ergonomic assessment on your work space they can make recommendations for proper seating, desk, chair height, monitor distance, etc that can be very helpful. I don’t know what your employer situation is but even if you have one who is willing to do that you can apply the knowledge to anywhere else that you work. I had one of my employers do them (yeah, one of the benefits of working in the healthcare field) for all of the office staff and it made a world of difference for everyone but especially anyone with back, neck, wrist, even leg issues (that’s me, badly damaged in car accident years ago). Ok tucking the mother hen back in the drawer, sorry she just sneaks out on me.

    • Sitting at a computer much of the day is killing us. I know it’s adversely affected me. As I said, I believe I have a pinched leg nerve. It hurts like a mofo sometimes. No way is my employer putting out for ergonomic equipment. The damn keyboard is on the desk! I have to reach to type on it. Terrible. It should be in an under-the-desk drawer at minimum, and I know from another job other things can be done.

  8. Karen says:

    Sometimes employers are their own worst enemies, they don’t understand that the benefits of providing their employees a proper work environment are as much in their best interest as the employees and that just sucks.

  9. Karen says:

    Nothing like an anvil upside the head to give a hint, good luck. I’ll keep my fingers crossed for you & AJ. Pinched nerves hurt and that sucks.

  10. Isa says:

    Lovely pictures! Did you get to see the eagle? On my way to work one day I saw two eagles sitting in a tree. I was so surprised I had to turn around and go back and look at them. As long as I have lived in the cities I have never seen one eagle in the city and that day I saw two.

    AJ- if you haven’t called your insurance company abou pt make sure you do. I don’t think I have ever paid more than a copay for pt and that is through 3 or more insurance companies. You may be limited to the number of times you can go in a year but it would be worth looking into and calling the insurance doesn’t cost anything. Although a massage does sound really good. πŸ™‚

    • Did not see the eagle or babies. I kept hoping a head would pop up. πŸ™‚ Maybe next time!

    • AJ Rose says:

      Isa, I have a deductible to meet. Every appointment, I pay copay + 20% until I meet that deductible, which I think is $2000. I wanna try massage therapy first because it’s cheaper ($50 a pop) and feel much better. If it doesn’t work, I’ll do the pt.

  11. Elin Gregory says:

    Lovely photos. The light is so different. Here, even on a sunny day, the light is diffuse, slightly misty. You have such wonderful dramatic shadows.

    I’m sorry AJ has been migrained. I used to eat feverfew and honey sandwiches [the honey because feverfew tastes disgusting]. They used to help.

    • If you think the light here is harsh, visit Florida sometime. It’s very direct there. I always tried to take pics in the morning or late in the day to get softer light.

  12. Valerie says:

    Hi Theo just finished the three precog books I love when you can read a series one right after the other instead of waiting in between books plus you have so many more titles so I downloaded The Silence Kept. Looking forward to working through your books. Plus the photos you posted again were beautiful and I now (maybe slightly obsessively) look for that weird white alien you put in there! I also left AJ a pretty long comment about his pinched nerve and “advice” from life experiences with pain, hopefully it’s helpful and not repetitive advice. Looking forward to Wednesday photo posts.

    • Thanks for reading! So glad you’re enjoying my work. It’s the best thing an author can hear. πŸ™‚

      If you’re buying at Amazon, make sure I’m the author. I also edit, and some of my clients added me to their post in such a way it looks as if I wrote them. NOT!

      To be sure you’re getting only those I authored, check the little book cover icons on the right.

  13. Valerie says:

    Just another thought but some insurances do cover massages for medical reasons, at least in sunny California they do. He has what sounds like a repetitive work injury exacerbated by computer work. Any of his jobs use a computer (other then his writing outside of work)? I mean you might be able finesse the insurance to pay for it. He would still be paying for his massage but it also will be going towards his deductible. The two stones one bird cliche….anyway I didn’t think of that when I commented on his blog but I know you guys check each others blogs so me and MY repetitive work injury (carpal tunnel) are going to bed. Typing hurts. ( you would think that would result in shorter comments!). πŸ™‚

  14. Valerie says:

    Ok I didn’t know that…..I am downloading from Amazon but I have been picking the titles off your blogs and the comments people make about them…….so far so good. Oh and it popped into my head this morning TWO BIRDS ONE STONE! Maybe I should cliche-not especially at 2 am.

  15. diannegray says:

    These are great pics, Theo (I love the eagle’s nest).

    I really feel for AJ having a pinched nerve in his neck. I had that a few years back – it only lasted about a week but it nearly drove me insane. I think it was anti-inflammatory tablets and massages that fixed it in the end…

    • He’s getting massages, but he spends a lot of time in front of the computer, as do I. Makes it difficult to get over such things.

      Tomorrow, I post bird pics. I’m rather excited about the photos I got last Sunday, and I include one I took in Florida about twelve years ago. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

