I Has Been Sick

Pardon the atrocious grammar in the title, but when one is ill, one reverts to childhood. It’s a rule. I saw it somewhere.

As previously mentioned, AJ and I spent last week in Wisconsin. My last day there, I managed to get out on the scooter one last time (this would have been Friday after work). There was no sun, and depending on where I was, temperature fluctuated from okay to chilly. When I swallowed, my throat felt weird.

I knew I was getting sick, and it pissed me off. I haven’t been sick in four years. But CG dragged herself into work last Tuesday, looking like death warmed over, and hacked and spewed her germs all over the office. Inevitably, some of them gleefully managed to get inside me. As I write this on Sunday afternoon, I’m wondering if anyone else came down with it, too?

I didn’t let it stop me, though. We went out to dinner that night and got a little drunk on good Chardonnay, and then returned home Saturday morning. So far, AJ is fine. I hope he stays that way.

However, I spent yesterday with my arsenal of anti-cold remedies, and so far, it hasn’t gotten worse. My lungs and head are still clear, and in fact, although my throat still feels weird, it no longer burns when I swallow. Things are draining, but it’s not constant. I have hopes I stopped this one in its tracks because, seriously, you should have seen CG. I can’t believe she was upright or managing to work at all.

I took some photos Friday. Let’s start with a couple of landscapes.

Barns are eternally interesting to me, and I’m not even sure why. Dark places, wonderful earthy smells, and the hay mow. Who doesn’t like a good roll in the hay? Right now, Wisconsin is full of dandelions that have gone to seed. You know, those puff balls you blow on to make wishes. When you do that, you’re spreading dandelions. ;/

Distant Barn 6.6.13 sm

One of my favorite back roads–gravel, of course–goes over a stream. This is the view to the south.

Back Road Creek 6.6.13 sm

While I was at this spot, I noticed a young phoebe flying back and forth under the bridge. First, I took his picture on the south side. To bring out his eye, I used a non-destructive “lightening” technique I fully intend to document here one day. After running it through the Topaz filters, I also masked through to the original to bring light back to the area around the bird, so he’d stand out more. In fact, the entire bird is from the original photo; he was too dark after processing. If you don’t know how to mask, let me know. I’ll put together a tutorial for the blog.

Phoebe 2 6.6.13 sm

The phoebe got bored and went to the other side, where he perched above the stream.

Phoebe 6.6.13 sm

I masked on this one, too, because “spicify” is sometimes harsh on delicate things. šŸ™‚

In the first phoebe photo, I was a good thirty feet away, leaning over the bridge to get as close as I could without scaring him. In the second one, I was even farther away. Gotta say, I love the super zooms on the current crop of cameras! While it’s always preferable to get as close to your subject as possible, it’s not always possible. Better to get a shot than none at all.

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography, RL and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to I Has Been Sick

  1. And that’s exactly why we have those wonderful tele/zoom lenses, right. But in my case, as I almost always shot in Aperture priority mode, I usually forget to change to Shutter priority before trying to capture the bird–who flies before I think “Oh damn!” Great shots. Thanks for sharing. Get well soon!

    • Aperture mode is great for shooting for HDR (-2, 0, -2), but I generally leave the camera in Program mode when I’m shooting on the fly. I get better results that way.

      I’m better already. Just a bit tired this morning. Going off to work though (much as I’d rather stay home and write!).

  2. A.M.B. says:

    I hope you feel better soon! I’m impressed you haven’t been sick in four years (I feel like I’ve been sick for about four years! It’s just one cold after another). The pictures are lovely. My kids would be delighted by that field of “wishing flowers.”

  3. Lindsaysf says:

    All that green strokes something in my soul! It is dry dry dry here. No spring rains to speak of – 13 drops maybe. Fires in the mountains to the east and west. My water bill for last month is $256 because I’m desperately trying to save the 50 pinon and as many junipers on my little half acre.

    • The drought is bad where you are. Here, we have none, as you can see, but the dividing line is just west of the middle of the state. It is very green here indeed, one of the best things about being here.

  4. Allison says:

    Sorry to hear about the sick.

    The picture of the stream is amazing! I feel like I’ve stepped back in time when I look at it, when the world was pristine & not all clogged up with humans.

  5. diannegray says:

    Chicken soup (always the best remedy) šŸ˜€

    I love your pictures and hope you’re feeling better (if not – I repeat – chicken soup) šŸ˜‰

  6. Dani says:

    sorry to hear you were sick /are sick beautiful pictures!

Leave a Reply

